Thread: We've got Shamrock Rovers in the League Cup...

70 Posts

We've got Shamrock Rovers in the League Cup...

2nd round draw, Rovers at Belfield on 20/21 June. Better than drawing Shels though obviously we'd have wanted Kildare. It seems Shoddy is playing a strong team in the cup and we are playing u-21s so we may not be progressing any further. They'll bring as big a crowd as anyone apart from Bohs, though still small for this competition, so from a financial perspective it is a decent draw.

3,256 Posts
    Wonder if we're going to ask for the venue to be switched?

If Rovers play the team they did against Bray - more fringe first-teamers than U-21s per se - it'll be a good test for our youngsters. And having seen how bad Rovers are, if we can get at them like we did the last time (though with some penetration up front!), I wouldn't put it past us to go through.

70 Posts
    I'd like to see us put out a bit of a better team next time. Gallagher is grand and the defence. But we could do with sticking in at least one of Hurley and Dicker in the midfield and maybe someone experienced like Pat or Martin on the left with two of Byrne, Dupuy, Murphy up front. I'd say that would be good enough to give us a chance.

3,256 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    maybe someone experienced like Pat or Martin on the left
    Dunno - Derek Doyle had a good game on the left against Dublin City. Two of the goals came from the left, while he scored the third himself. Think he deserves another run. Damo and Adrian played against Dublin City, and I'd imagine they'd play again here.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Dunno - Derek Doyle had a good game on the left against Dublin City. Two of the goals came from the left, while he scored the third himself. Think he deserves another run. Damo and Adrian played against Dublin City, and I'd imagine they'd play again here.
    Sorry, forgot about Doyle. You're right. I know those lads played up front but it'll depend very much on the circumstances. I reckon it would have been Paul Byrne up front only he recently seems to have claimed a starting spot for the first team.

3,256 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I reckon it would have been Paul Byrne up front only he recently seems to have claimed a starting spot for the first team.
    He was actually in the tea room before the game with Aidan Lynch - not at first team training. Hope he isn't carrying a knock...

Oh great, I have to watch Rovers again this year. What have I done to deserve this.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

3,256 Posts
    Funnily enough, the Rovers fans are saying exactly the same about us!

Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    Oh great, I have to watch Rovers again this year. What have I done to deserve this.
    You will earn a merit badge from the World Wildlife Fund for sure. After all they are an endangered species