Thread: Cyprus away (5th September 2009) - pubs

3,256 Posts

Cyprus away (5th September 2009) - pubs

Post any info on drink, nightlife and craic in Cyprus here. I'll keep a summary of links and what have you in this post.

For other info on the game, see -

Flights
    Accommodation (hotels to campsites)
    Charter travel (incl tour operator bookings, charter buses, taxis, etc)
    The game (match tickets, kick off time, directions to the ground, etc)
    Places (towns, internal travel, reccies, etc)
    General (things to do, other chat)
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 12/06/2009 at 1:14 PM.

74 Posts
    Great Pub for those not into dance Music or craziness is the Golden Arrow Just of the square on the way down to the Harbour. Everyone knows it as Charlies after the owner Best Barman ive ever seen and a Sound Guy. He sorted our accomadation this time around.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

3,256 Posts
    What town's that in?

74 Posts
    Ayia Nappa .Larnacca is not really a resort went in there the first trip in 2005 for a night and it was dead as a doornail.Nappa has got everything for young and Old.

The Irish Bars are not great in Nappa especially Jimmys of the famous Aslan Gig for the second trip whatever that was called.

I think Larnaca will be good craic. The game is there which makes a difference this time plus Saint Tom the Hornets, Babysis and Myself and The Moscow Mules will all be there.
    In Trap we trust

74 Posts
    Fair play to ye buts an industrial town rather than a resort.

3,256 Posts
    It's still grand though. There were a few pubs on the seafront, and another couple a small bit of the way into town which were grand. Can't remember the names now, for some reason...

229 Posts
    I was in Larnaca in '05 and it was grand. Definitely quieter but we stumbled across a couple of great bars close to our apartments so still had a ball without the mayhem of Ayia Nappa.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I think Larnaca will be good craic. The game is there which makes a difference this time plus Saint Tom the Hornets, Babysis and Myself and The Moscow Mules will all be there.
    Are you forgetting somebody Neil
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    Are you forgetting somebody Neil
    Sorry Aido did not hear a confirmation that you were staying in Larnaca also. What hotel are you going to be in. Is the Bear and Bannerman et al going to be there.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Fair play to ye buts an industrial town rather than a resort.
    I hate resorts. Everybody is there purely either on holidays or they work in the tourist industry. That is why I genuinely prefer cities normally. If Larnaca has the sea and a decent hotel and a few bars we will make our own craic. I remember staying in Bologna rather than San Marino and a gang of us got a bus organised by Supersparx on here. It was one of the best trips and the amount of people who I met from this site because of it and I still keep in contact with was great. Of course I also met the legendary Dan on that trip also.
    In Trap we trust

I hate resorts. Everybody is there purely either on holidays or they work in the tourist industry. That is why I genuinely prefer cities normally. If Larnaca has the sea and a decent hotel and a few bars we will make our own craic. I remember staying in Bologna rather than San Marino and a gang of us got a bus organised by Supersparx on here. It was one of the best trips and the amount of people who I met from this site because of it and I still keep in contact with was great. Of course I also met the legendary Dan on that trip also.
    Agree, San Marino trip was all about the people rather than the place. We met and made real friends with a lot of people. Class trip.
    I've got a horse!

Sorry Aido did not hear a confirmation that you were staying in Larnaca also. What hotel are you going to be in. Is the Bear and Bannerman et al going to be there.
    Yes Neil staying in Larnaca in the Flamingo (lay off SH ) and the wombles who were in Sofia will all be in attendance
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Good stuff there is going to be a decent crowd of us in Larnaca. Looking forward to the trip.
    In Trap we trust

74 Posts
    There is a great Cypriot Bar in Ayia Nappa the Golden Arrow way better than any of the Irish Bars and far better craic.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    There is a great Cypriot Bar in Ayia Nappa the Golden Arrow way better than any of the Irish Bars and far better craic.

thats where the girls hide out tommy is it??

74 Posts
    Micky u can sleep on the floor in our Gaff come on you would love it. Toga/Toga & Moulin Rouge are your kind of Joints .