Thread: Rovers cause riots in oriel

Rovers cause riots in oriel

tonight was a disaster off the pitch game meant nothing compared to what happened after it
    myself and 3 mates (1 of them was a girl) ,standing by spar then all of a suddem everyone started running
    seemed like there was loads rovers fans coming from train station that werren't at the game
    we went jumped the wall and tried to get back into oriel ,,however a lad with a baton threatened myself and the girl i was with to get out
    i then saw my other two mates to get them away safe .the four of us aged 16/17
    we then ran up carrick road as we thought there was loads of rovers fans down that town area
    to our horror, we walked on fastly and then got as far as mace on acrrick road and looked back and saw huge numbers of rovers lads all in green and white
    we then went into the lis na dara estate (to which was empty dublin buses waiting on them )
    and we then ran straight into the estate, had to hide in a back garden as we were terrifed ..house was unoccupied so we were grand we kept hearing shouts
    so we were afraid to go out .we stayed their for over 20 mins ..just so we would be safe ...
    whilst in the garden i rang the guards and they said they couldnt come for 30mins (understandable as they were all out at the riots)
    so i then hung up and waited another while
    then we went on down about 10:30 probably
    we went passed oriel okay everyone gone got as far as friary (pearce park side) and heard a shout so we ran back up garda station then the lads had to get home we went down friary(jockeys area) we then saw four lads in black they shouted and chased us we then went bk up garda station and decided right we'll go down friary(peaarse park as soon as we could) so we went on down and got as far as ice house hill and looked back and saw lads running at us
    we then made our way to a mates house and okay

but tonight was a disgrace .........we are aged 15/17 just into football...well as a lot of users on this know me i am just mad about the football and sleep live it you know ......
    but everything we had to go through was just sick
    DUNDALK FC BACK WHERE IT TRULY BELONGS IN THE PREMIER DIVISION.....A club with history,traditions,great fans....
    We Are the people's Club

Could you elaborate at all?
    Were Shams fans actually rioting?
    What exactly happened?

Quote Originally Posted by dannydundalk View Post
    .........we are aged 15/17 just into football...
    Any chance of getting into grammar?
    DCFC

sorry if it's mixed up but i was typing it quickly and that...
    well we were going out of ground basically ....with rovers fans in the ground kept behind that were at the game,when suddenly in huge numbers rovers lads came from train station to out exit stopping us from getting out with batons threatening everyone and hitting most people
    i was terrified and still am shaken as i can't believe it
    i am disgusted
    DUNDALK FC BACK WHERE IT TRULY BELONGS IN THE PREMIER DIVISION.....A club with history,traditions,great fans....
    We Are the people's Club

879 Posts
    Talk about a drama queen Danny!...punctuation would help

From Orielweb poster...

There was trouble before the game at the home enterance. It was some idiot stewards fault. 100-150 Rovers came up the road signing Rovers songs. They had no visible colours. About 20 yards from the entrance they started chanting 'Dundalk'. My father and I were coming facing them and spotted them a mile off. The stewards let them in the home gate with cops watching!! They then charged where the frisking was going on. A couple of thumps were swung.

bit clearer - i dunno why there were less Gardai than at the Bohs match as Rovers games are always more.. erm eventful both on and off the pitch. MNS will be interesting next Monday.

The accommodation for away fans in Oriel is dreadful, i have no love for Rovers support but the conditions they were expected to stand out in were horrible.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 08/04/2009 at 12:38 AM.

433 Posts
    There was something before the game and some young Rovers fan was held in the Garda station, that was it.

Peaceful night imo.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

the trouble after the game was just sick tbh
    We Are the people's Club

433 Posts
    the trouble after the game was just sick tbh

Im not having a go at you but what are you on? There was fcuk all happened after the game! All fans were moved away that was that apart from the Rovers fans who wouldn't leave without the young fella that was arrested earlier in the night!

43 Posts
    What a load of complete horse****. All Rovers fans were kept inside Oriel for 15minutes after full time then forced to wait on the road outside Oriel for another 15 minutes before the Gardai escorted us back to our cars and buses. No trouble whatsoever

drama queen? maybe i am but look dundalk lads being having batons in their facesby ...fights breaking out.all hell breaking loose
    i was chased all around my own town by dublin knackers til 11pm
    now that's not dramatic that's the truth

as i said the trouble was caused by rovers lads that came from train station after the game.....
    either they werent allowed in/were late or are banned from loi games
    all the same they were rovers
    Last edited by dahamsta; 08/04/2009 at 11:39 AM.
    We Are the people's Club

433 Posts
    I don't know what game you were at Absolutley NOTHING happened apart from the Rovers fans on the hill st bridge, that was it!

if someone else said all this you would believe them and that's the truth
    i couldn't care less, i haven't a bit of respect for you anyway
    We Are the people's Club

43 Posts
    drama queen? maybe i am but look dundalk lads being having batons in their facesby ...fights breaking out.all hell breaking loose
    i was chased all around my own town by dublin knackers til 11pm
    now that's not dramatic that's the truth
    What were you doing around there at 11pm when the game was finished at 9:40?

NO ROVERS FANS WERE ALLOWED OUT OF ORIEL BEFORE 9:55.

THE GAME WAS OVER 30 MINUTES BEFORE ANY ROVERS FAN GOT NEAR THE TRAIN STATION.

WE WERE ACCOMPANIED BY AT LEAST 15 GARDAI TO THE TRAIN STATION AND BEYOND

THERE WAS NO TROUBLE - NONE. YOU ARE A LIAR

433 Posts
    if someone else said all this you would believe them and that's the truth
    i couldn't care less, i haven't a bit of respect for you anyway
    I take it that was aimed at me? First of all there were no riots in Oriel, Nothing happened after the game from what I seen and heard (but I won't say anymore because Skstu would have a fielday) Rovers fans were moved down towards the Hill street bridge, and when I left the ground they were still inside singing. So how you met any Rovers is beyond me.
    Also I don't care if you have any respect for me! Nothing major happened, that's all.

as i said the rovers lads werent at the game and came from train station area.....
    what was i doing at 11pm? eventually getting home after being chased into an estate where two rovers buses were near to.....
    i am a lier?
    believe what you want i couldnt care less to be honest
    We Are the people's Club

433 Posts
    Why the fcuk would you start a thread sayin there was riots in Oriel?
    Fair enough you might have came across a few Rovers cnuts but ffs no need to make that big adeal out of it.

various reports they thrased local bar/restaurant windsor
    and that seem's reliable from what i was told also
    maybe not riots more rovers cause mayhem but pillowcase off now
    We Are the people's Club

433 Posts
    Would you ever **** off, nothing happened the Windsor. Your full of sh!t and this thread is pointless.

43 Posts
    as i said the rovers lads werent at the game and came from train station area.....
    what was i doing at 11pm? eventually getting home after being chased into an estate where two rovers buses were near to.....
    i am a lier?
    believe what you want i couldnt care less to be honest
    So let me get this straight - Rovers fans who didn't go to the match but instead decided to travel 60 miles from home on a wet Tuesday evening to hang around a train station in order to ambush you with batons and chase you around housing estates in Dundalk for an hour and a half in the pis*ing rain? All the while a massive Garda operation was in progress in the exact area to make sure both sets of fans were kept apart?

YES OF COURSE I BELIEVE YOU

well people said the rovers lads were one's banned from loi grounds and couldnt get in ...i am going on what i was told there
    and a lot said windsor was smashed....if it wasnt then its wrong but just saying thats what i heard
    We Are the people's Club