Page 144 of 258 FirstFirst ... 4494134142143144145146154194244 ... LastLast
Results 2,861 to 2,880 of 5144

Thread: James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

788 Posts
    So I'm guessing Traps comments had nothing at all to do with McCarthy then and the journos have got their story arseways - he always knew he wasn't coming?

It's impossible to tell, but Daniel McDonnell on Twitter said there's a whole lot more to the McCarthy situation that'll be in tomorrow's papers. The Indo sports articles usually go online between midnight and 2.

Wilson, it seems, did show up along with the other Stoke players today as expected but not in time to train so he was left out. Which asks the question of why he was selected to begin with when he was never going to make it in time.

672 Posts
    Maybe he was going to make it on time but they got delayed for some reason?

Or Trap played mind games with Worthington before unveiling Stephen 'Wiccy Wild Wild' Ward to good effect.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

1,915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    It's impossible to tell, but Daniel McDonnell on Twitter said there's a whole lot more to the McCarthy situation that'll be in tomorrow's papers. The Indo sports articles usually go online between midnight and 2.
    Well Dan made an ass of himself last time with the McCarthy issue, blaming Trap left right and centre.
    I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for his exclusive.

366 Posts
    The Republic's pre-match build-up had been dominated by the absence of Anthony Stokes and James McCarthy from the squad and manager Giovanni Trapattoni revealed after the game that Marc Wilson and Jonathan Walters had also failed to report to Dublin.

"We will have to decide why we call them up next time. This is their federation, the FAI. McCarthy, Wilson and Walters didn't come, they didn't bother answering," said Trapattoni.

"We have been watching these players over one month, two months.

"If they are injured that is okay but they must come to us and see our doctor. It is about respect. It shouldn't happen anywhere, not just Ireland."

Source

2,284 Posts
    According to McDonnell:

Normal procedure ahead of such international gatherings is to speak in advance about arranging flights and other logistics.

However, neither management or Abbotstown have heard a word from McCarthy, who was part of the Wigan team that avoided relegation on Sunday.
    He's still maintaining that the FAI heard nothing from McCarthy at all in the past couple of weeks, so what was Enda Brady talking about on Twitter about Wigan having informed the FAI of McCarthy's knock and scans on Sunday? What an odd situation.

Furious Trapattoni warns James McCarthy and Marc Wilson about their future with Ireland after bizarre no shows

Tomorrow's Indo headline.

1,915 Posts
    Seeing as regular driving and parking a car in Italy is an act of unrestrained anarchic fury,
    an Italian would really have to do something special to have any fury remarked.

403 Posts
    Something keeps getting lost in translation from: JM-----Martinez/Wigan----FAI-----Manuela-----Trap
    Can't understand the Marc Wilson thing at all though.
    Thought we were done with this nonsense for awhile.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

2,284 Posts
    So did Glenn Whelan come over on a separate flight from Wilson and Walters or is Whelan even with the squad at the minute?

I think I caught a glimpse of St. Ledger sitting behind Trap whilst the anthem was being played in spite of him being injured. Positive show of commitment, that.

366 Posts
    Sounds like a few players decided their season's were over and thought 'F**k it, I'm no kickin' a ball for months!'. It'd be bad enough as it was but there is a crucial qualifier nestled among these friendlies. Poor form.

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    I think I caught a glimpse of St. Ledger sitting behind Trap whilst the anthem was being played in spite of him being injured. Positive show of commitment, that.
    Sean is a graduate from the Kevin Kilbane school of commitment, no doubt.

161 Posts
    From the Irish Times http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...297716162.html. Wigan and it has to be said the player himself dicking about again. There was no injury. The FAI called Wigans bluff. Unlikely McCarthy or Wilson will get picked again while Trap is still in charge (and I really don't blame him if he chooses to ignore both). I wish there was something the FAI could do about Dave Whelan FC. I really hope they end up in the 2nd division.

366 Posts
    Fair play to the FAI for calling their bluff, well played. Nil pois to Wigan for not hobbling the work experience guy and sending his scan over instead. Hard to argue with Trap's comments either. If there's a silver lining I suppose any kind of atonement from the players would come complete with a much less likelihood of it happening again. Unless they genuinely aren't that bothered.

Shame we have to make do with a 'washed up never was' like Robbie Keane instead of these comedians.

2,657 Posts
    I have to say my disillusionment has shifted from Trap to our international football representatives. Its pretty disappointing that international football has been reduced to this.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    875 Posts
    Whats going in here ? Two young guys who sought out Ireland in the first instance and now they dont show up, could it be they didnt want to play against Northern Ireland and Scotland maybe?

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    .... could it be they didnt want to play against Northern Ireland and Scotland maybe?
    That would be my thinking too.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho
    Shame we have to make do with a 'washed up never was' like Robbie Keane.
    This the 48-goal record goalscorer for Ireland, or someone else?
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    This the 48-goal record goalscorer for Ireland, or someone else?
    Haven't you heard? It was announced earlier..

214 Posts
    Shocking stuff if true.

The Trap has every right to banish them for good. This just shows total disrespect to the manager, the other players and fans.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

85 Posts
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.