Thread: The Open 2007

The Open 2007

Paul McGinley 4 under and leading at the moment, Tiger well placed as you would expect but great first day for Paul.

Fair play to him but in all fairness, he's not very good. Not at all.

He'll get into reverse and end up in the middle of the pack
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

1,010 Posts
    garcia leading.........putting is going well for him.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Rory McIlroy -3. Meant to bet on him to make the cut but thought the Open was next week.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    430 Posts
    McIlroy now +2 after a round of 76, Harrington back to level par after a 73. Scores looking higher today, McGinley not out until 3.15.
    McIlroy and Harrington still in touch going into the weekend. Garcia still -6 after 14 holes of second round.
    Doubt the winning score will be much better than -6 in the end. A lot depends on the wind as ever in links golf.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

20 Posts
    Aye, I think the course may have lulled the players into a false sense of security yesterday. Carnoustie's a beast in bad weather, makes for great viewing though.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    430 Posts
    Looking at the forecast tomorrow should be the worst day, wind picking up a little and heavy rain. With 2 solid round completed I'd say Furyk, Jiminez and Westwood are in with a great chance. Westwood might bottle it, but, the other 2 will be close.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

I see that two Irish lads are creeping up the leaderboard to three under par.

C'mon the Irish boys.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I wonder if I should back them and kill off their chances completely?
    Could do with Garcia finding a bunker or three.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    I wonder if I should back them and kill off their chances completely?
    Could do with Garcia finding a bunker or three.

They are well capable of doing that themselves

It's Garcia's to loose.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

20 Posts
    Weather is poor today in Carnoustie, might make it a competitive final day.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Very interesting final day. Harrington is flying!
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Look at Harrington go!

Go on ya feckin dancer!!

1,010 Posts
    Is anybody watching on BBC?

I wish they'd stop saying "The luck of the Irish" and "Irish eyes are smiling" and all that crap.

Harrington looks solid, while Garcia is going up and down.

Its all down to Harrington & Garcia now. Got to think -10 will win it...?

Harrington -9 17th Green
    Garcia -8 off side of 16th Green (will do very well to par)

1,010 Posts
    until that..........in water off 18th

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    until that..........in water off 18th
    and again.

1,010 Posts
    Garcia needs a par to win.

Garcia in front bunker. Its not over yet.