Thread: Borat

Talking Borat

Kazakhstan's Foreign Ministry threatened legal action on Monday against comedian Sacha Baron Cohen, who wins laughs by portraying the central Asian state as a country populated by drunks who enjoy cow-punching as a sport.

Baron Cohen, who portrays a spoof Kazakh television presenter Borat in his "Da Ali G Show", has won fame ridiculing Kazakhstan, the world's ninth largest country yet still little known to many in the West.

Baron Cohen appears to have drawn official Kazakh ire after he hosted the annual MTV Europe Music Awards show in Lisbon earlier this month as Borat, who arrived in an Air Kazakh propeller plane controlled by a one-eyed pilot clutching a vodka bottle.

"We do not rule out that Mr. Cohen is serving someone's political order designed to present Kazakhstan and its people in a derogatory way," Kazakh Foreign Ministry spokesman Yerzhan Ashykbayev told a news briefing.

"We reserve the right to any legal action to prevent new pranks of the kind." He declined to elaborate.

Cohen's earlier jokes about the Central Asian state include claims that the people would shoot a dog and then have a party, and that local wine was made from fermented horse urine.

"We view Mr. Cohen's behaviour at the MTV Europe Music Awards as utterly unacceptable, being a concoction of bad taste and ill manners which is completely incompatible with ethics and civilised behaviour," Ashykbayev said.

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/14112005/32...rat-court.html

He should do what Billy Connelly did ... make up his own country !!

They've got a point. How would Sash like it if Channel 4 had some Irish bloke doing the old Shylock routine, complete with sweatshops and moths in the wallet, or gags about gas and Auschwitz? It would make Louis Walsh look like flavour of the month.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

70 Posts
    I do think it's unfair what he is doing, he should have invented a country as A Face said. I have no idea why he chose Kaz. As the article said it is a massive country. It is full of a good few ethnic groups including around half a million German speakers (a bit of a historical oddity you might want to read about). I enjoy Borat as much as the next man but I don't know why he chose Kazakhstan.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Borat was hilarious, but especially after his show in america, I don't know how he got away with some of the stuff

Seen a bit of thr MTV stuff & was funny enough i suppose but I wouldn't like if he did to my country so it was unfair.

He picked a real country cos when he was interviewing all these people they thought it was a serious interview and that he really was a Kazakh journalist.

kazakhstan is a shambles, ruled by nursultan nazarbayev since 1991, they should sort their tin pot dictatorship out before giving out at people taking the **** out of them

Borat's new film

Any of ye see it yet? Went to it last night. I've never laughed at a film so much, it's class!.
    Last edited by sligoman; 05/11/2006 at 6:09 PM.

But you're only 14, how did you get in!!??

Heh heh, it is a class film, went to see it on Thursday... High five!!
    Although the hotel fight scene nearly made me vomit lol!!
    Last edited by sligoman; 05/11/2006 at 1:38 PM. Reason: merge...

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    Although the hotel fight scene nearly made me vomit lol!!
    That bit was the best part of the film.

Tidying up my posts thank you. Yes, it was funny in the lift!! Also the B&B where he stayed and the dinner table! heh heh.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    Tidying up my posts thank you. Yes, it was funny in the lift!!
    Do that to everyone that posts within minutes of each other.

I wondered during the film how much of it was actually staged and how much was real. The Pamela Anderson bit was obviously staged as theirs no way he'd have got out of the shop still chasing her before security got him.

Do that to everyone that posts within minutes of each other.

I wondered during the film how much of it was actually staged and how much was real. The Pamela Anderson bit was obviously staged as theirs no way he'd have got out of the shop still chasing her before security got him.
    Yeah, i think def the clip when he is with the driving instructor is staged cos it is too dangerous otherwise! Pamela Anderson def staged for security and for her to be paid for it too! I think the dinner with the 3 couples was not staged, that was hilarious.

505 Posts
    Why Borat(film)? What other Borat goes in OT atm? Who doesn't know what Borat is ffs?

Also, when making thread titles, please use correct spacing. As it was, this wouldn't have shown up in search results.

Any of ye see it yet? Went to it last night. I've never laughed at a film so much, it's class!.
    i was at it last night aswell,didnt see you there....
    good film but expected more laughs as i love Borat in his own show....

I can't stand Borat and find him annoying,just as annoying as Ali G and that camp character he plays but not half as annoying as Sasha Baron Cohen himself

love the camp guy....Bruno....legend

I think Bruno is great, he does the gay Austrian accent very well..I love Borat cos he totally rips the p1sh out of gullible yanks with no sense of humour. He got the typical Noi Yawk reaction in the tube and on the street! Class!

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post
    i was at it last night aswell,didnt see you there....
    I was at the 11:30 one?
    Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    I can't stand Borat and find him annoying,just as annoying as Ali G and that camp character he plays but not half as annoying as Sasha Baron Cohen himself
    Loved the film did ya?.