Results 1,021 to 1,040 of 3381

Thread: Darron Gibson

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Seems a bit more interested today so far.
    I think thats a little unfair, hes playing in a five man midfield today and been asked to play a more attack minded role which seems to suit him. The other night he was partnering Andrews in what was largely a defensive CM role.

2,652 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    I think thats a little unfair, hes playing in a five man midfield today and been asked to play a more attack minded role which seems to suit him. The other night he was partnering Andrews in what was largely a defensive CM role.
    i was talking about the other times i have seen him for Man Utd. I have a couple of posts a page or so back.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    i was talking about the other times i have seen him for Man Utd. I have a couple of posts a page or so back.
    Fair enough. Good game so far. Plenty of Irish lads to keep the interest.

2,652 Posts
    yeah, excellent game. Doyle, Foley and Ward have all been very good so far. Wardy should have scored there though!! How he wasnt in the Irish squad is beyond me, any game ive seen he has acquitted himself very well (except when harshly sent off against Liverpool).

209 Posts
    Didn't see the game, but I see that Gibson was subbed. Was it tactical, injury or performance related?

Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Didn't see the game, but I see that Gibson was subbed. Was it tactical, injury or performance related?
    Was taken off purely because Berbatov is a lazy b0llocks. I've seen trees move more than him and as a result United had no choice but to go 4-4-2 and bring on Mame Biram Diouf.

I thought Gibson played well for the time he was on.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

130 Posts
    Gibson was ok, no more no less, certainly did as much as the likes of Carrick. United looked average overall without Rooney.

I thought he played OK but it was obvious that he'd be the first player to be sacrificed if United still hadn't scored with an hour to go. He was sort of an extra man in midfield for a lot of the game since the Wolves midfielders weren't exactly bossing things.

48 Posts
    The Guardian said this about Gibson:

A second United substitution: Mame Biram Diouf replaces Darron Gibson, so that'll be a switch to 4-4-2. Gibson played one excellent pass to Evra but he is punching hopelessly above his weight playing for Manchester United. He's not the first, and he won't be the last.
    Sounds a bit harsh to me since he is still so young and hasn't gotten much football.

130 Posts
    Unfortunately to date I feel the piece by the Guardian is right. Bar a few fantastic strikes and the odd decent game (away to Hull last year), Gibson has shown very little for united and even less so for Ireland for me to think he will be a top level player for years to come. I hope im wrong and would hope he will develop something akin to Fletcher who was written off by many.

214 Posts
    6 out of 10 performance. Carrick lite performance.

Doyle was quality. Worked like a mad man but needed a bit more help.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Was taken off purely because Berbatov is a lazy b0llocks.
    That's just a little bit too easy! Gibson was taken off becuase he was poor and United needed to score. He was no worse than most of the other United players but unfortunately he has far more to prove than them.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    6 out of 10 performance. Carrick lite performance.

Doyle was quality. Worked like a mad man but needed a bit more help.
    Carrick was Carrick-lite. Gibson was what Carrick is usually like - i.e a bit aimless but with some moments of quality.

Quote Originally Posted by Serb View Post
    The Guardian said this about Gibson:

Sounds a bit harsh to me since he is still so young and hasn't gotten much football.

Spot on..

192 Posts
    Came on for United today for the last 10 minutes or so and scored with almost his first touch. A good finish with his right foot.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

I cant wait to see how good he is when he gets a little older.
    Last edited by Crosby87; 28/03/2010 at 1:56 PM. Reason: drunk
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

568 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    Came on for United today for the last 10 minutes or so and scored with almost his first touch. A good finish with his right foot.
    Good power from a side foot shot.

I hope he stays at Utd and continues to develope. Fletcher got a lot of stick in his early days at Utd but has developed into a very good player for them.

511 Posts
    gibson reminds me of lauren robert.. does feck all but has a hell of a shot

3,332 Posts
    saw the goal last night on Match of the Day 2, what was more interesting to me was that, in the build up to the goal, he was in space and demanding the ball from Nani, which is something he needs to do more as a central midfielder.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    785 Posts
    Interesting that he was brought on for a vital game with Chelsea. Has he gone up the order?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.