Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: A Big Thank You

64 Posts

A Big Thank You

Well done to Kildare fc last night. Firstly it was great to get to the ground soaking wet (after an aborted attempt to go into a certain bar in Newbridge who had 3 bouncers on the door at 6oc!) to discover the bar was closed(of course this had absolutely nothing to do with the fact it was Rovers in town), then only certain individuals were allowed into the 'stand' when people tried to get in out've the rain, and to cap it all we had to listen to the biggest fool that ever lived over the loudspeaker. Could anyone actually make out the teams he was calling out? Did he actually read the teamsheets before crediting goals to the wrong people? All I can say is that from now on I'll get up every day thanking God I'm not from Kildare. Memo to Kildare 'people', please take a trip to you're next away game to Finn Harps to discover how to treat people with respect and courtesy

Closing the bar is a bit stupid....they would have made a killing?
    Ara ye'll have no problems like that Hoopy when yee come west to Terryland.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

No.
    At the top of the present clubhouse is a sort of tea and sandwhich room....for executives,guests,players etc.
    Closest bars are town.

Europe's Big Club.

maybe ye have a little bit of a bad reputation! Just an idea....

Afaik

All proceeds from the bar go to Newbridge Town FC, who own the ground.

I presume that Newbridge was pillaged, the locals massacred and the town razed to the ground by marauding Rovers hordes

No doubt they were tipped off by their counter-parts in Longford

As for our reputation: yes, the club that will bring the largest away following ever to visit Station Road, and we'll be back to spend our cash in August. So, who knows maybe looking after your customers just, ya know, might be a good way of doing business. Unless, of course, KCFC wish to continue to eek out an existance in the lower reaches of Divsion One for the remainder of their existance. Just a thought!

That said, they probarbly did pay too much attention for their own good to some hysterical ramblings from someone from Flancare Park about the rape and pilliage of their towns folk the last time the notorious Rovers came to town. Hopefully, they'll learn from their experience last night as 600 Rovers supporters pay them a visit, sang their hearts out, mingled with the locals in the clubhouse and, ye know, generally behaved themselves immpecably and had a good time watching a football game.
    Ireland: Discovered!

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy
    and to cap it all we had to listen to the biggest fool that ever lived over the loudspeaker. Could anyone actually make out the teams he was calling out? Did he actually read the teamsheets before crediting goals to the wrong people?
    welcome to the 1st Division!!

ye should be glad, ye won 3-0!

48 Posts
    Just a few points:

-The stand was open to both KCFC and Rovers fans on a first come - first served basis. The stand is limited to 300 people, and the club did let in as many as they could.

-The bar is the property of Newbridge Town FC, not Kildare County FC. We do not have any control over the bar and don't make a cent out of it.

-The stewarts present got on grand with the Rovers fans

-Getting into the Main Building was limited to those with slips because of the size of the crowd. Once again, Rover's fans were not singled out there.

-There was, for your information, damage done in the ground by Rover's fans.
    You don't see County fans going online going mad about that.

-The stewarding / organisation in Station Road might have shocked you because it was done properly, but you should consider the facts before moaning.

FAO manic de hoop and hoopy ... lads, have you emailed the clubs, Kildare and Newbridge ... they'll have to know about this first if you want them to change it, just an idea like.

Quote Originally Posted by Philly
    Just a few points:

-The stand was open to both KCFC and Rovers fans on a first come - first served basis. The stand is limited to 300 people, and the club did let in as many as they could.

-The bar is the property of Newbridge Town FC, not Kildare County FC. We do not have any control over the bar and don't make a cent out of it.

-The stewarts present got on grand with the Rovers fans

-Getting into the Main Building was limited to those with slips because of the size of the crowd. Once again, Rover's fans were not singled out there.

-There was, for your information, damage done in the ground by Rover's fans.
    You don't see County fans going online going mad about that.

-The stewarding / organisation in Station Road might have shocked you because it was done properly, but you should consider the facts before moaning.
    I dont think this deserves a thread, but some of those points deserve comment. There were no problems, and we all got on fine. Bonkers that than needs to even be mentioned.

We were told by stewards that Rovers fans were not being allowed into the stand regardless of slips. This is fine if you are going to segregate the rest of the ground, but when you show up that bit early to try to get a seat out of the rain.... First come first seerved my árse.

We were told by numerous people in town and at the ground that the bar was shut because of Garda orders.

If you think that stewarding was a shining example, you really are small time.

What was the damage done? Apart from to your back four?
    Last edited by A face; 02/04/2006 at 5:05 PM.

As far as I know the gardai requested that the bar remained closed. As bad as the Rovers fans felt I can assure you that the County fans were equally disappointed.
    Dont know anything about Rovers fans not being allowed in the stand as it was mostly Rovers in there. This is a pic from KCFCs website and i can see loads of rovers fans on the righthand side.
    This was a learning curve for the club and im sure lessons were learnt.
    At the end of the day safety to all spectators was paramount.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by sniffa; 02/04/2006 at 6:06 PM.

What's in the rest of the ground?

Hill? Terrace? Nothing?

Nothing......a small 300 seater stand.
    The rest is just a fence around the pitch pretty much.A nice ground but Kildare would struggle big time with away supports if they got promoted.

Europe's Big Club.

Just to warn you Rovers fans that the bar in Monaghan will be closed when you play us Friday week. Nothing to do with us tho....stupid Government rules of no pubs on Good Friday.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme
    Just to warn you Rovers fans that the bar in Monaghan will be closed when you play us Friday week. Nothing to do with us tho....stupid Government rules of no pubs on Good Friday.
    Now this sums up the small time approach of first division clubs we have played so far. To sum up:

Athlone needlessly changing their game from a saturday night to Paddy's eve therefore guaranteeing a lesser gate

Saturday night in Newbridge. No blame in my book goes to KCFC but whoever is in charge of the bar lost out big time.

Monaghan not changing their game to saturday night is the worst example. So they play the game on good friday where the bar will be closed. Beggars belief really and you say it has nothing to do with you?

HOW ABOUT CHANGING THE DATE OF THE GAME?

the league doesn't rolve around rovers and their fans

maybe these clubc are trying to do whats best for their own club

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR

Never said it did. Doing whats best? How? By losing money

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR

It also doesn't revolve around drink!!

Can people not got to a EL match without having a few

NY Hoop,

Good Friday traditionally brings in larger crowds for EL clubs, Monaghan perhaps feel that this will outweigh the fact that their bar is closed.

St Pats weekend was always a toss up between Thursday, Friday or Saturday for any club playing normally on a Friday night. GUFC and Athlone went for Thursday.

The Newbridge situation , as you say, was out of Kildares hands.

I don't feel that clubs should chop and change fixtures based on what size of crowd the opposition may bring. GUFC have opted for Friday night football, we should stick with it.

PD.
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 03/04/2006 at 12:08 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    It also doesn't revolve around drink!!

Can people not got to a EL match without having a few
    Of course not!! Only way to survive our brief stay in this division!

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast