Thread: Dublin City v Derry City prediction

Dublin City v Derry City prediction

I think this will be a 1:0 win for Dublin City with Ger McCarthy getting the goal.

Very optmistic but the Cork game will have given the lads a lot of confidance and I reckon they will leift their games again for the Derry game.

70 Posts
    With all due respect Derek, you must be mad to be expecting a 1-0 win against Derry.

38 Posts
    While a blind monkey randomly jabbing a pin into a list of possible results would probably record a higher success rate than Derek's prediction threads, I'm not sure how the act of backing one participant in a two-horse race could possibly be construed as "mad."
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    While a blind monkey randomly jabbing a pin into a list of possible results would probably record a higher success rate than Derek's prediction threads, I'm not sure how the act of backing one participant in a two-horse race could possibly be construed as "mad."
    What if one of the horses was an outstanding thoroughbred and the other was a pony with three legs?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    What if one of the horses was an outstanding thoroughbred and the other was a pony with three legs?
    Then they wouldn't be in the same race, literally or allegorically. Worse teams than City beat better teams than Derry all the time.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Sometimes, not all the time.
    Was a little impressed with your defence at the Cross so i think ye can just hold out for a scoreless draw.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

The back four will really have to be on their game alright if we want to get any sort of result. I can't decide whether it's a good or a bad thing that Deery are on such a good (and busy) run of form. Personally I don't think there'll be many goals, we'll have to improve our set pieces...One goal either way I'd say.

3,262 Posts
    With all due respect Derek, you must be mad to be expecting a 1-0 win against Derry.
    Ten minutes away from looking really silly!

70 Posts
    I knew once I made this post I had handed them the win.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Egg on your face.

70 Posts
    Hands up. I'm having my humble pie as I type. Fair play to City, good result.

He wasn't that mad after all. What sort of crowd was there I wonder?
    City Til I Die

Champions 2005

First stumble by the big 4 this season so!

70 Posts
    By the way Derek, can I have your predictions for the Euromillions tomorrow?

Quote Originally Posted by Derek
    I think this will be a 1:0 win for Dublin City with Ger McCarthy getting the goal.
    I can't believe I got the goal scorer wrong

We are not going to be whippings boys this season, another great performance for the boys in blue. I spotted a few premier managers at the game tonight and I reckon they all know now they have there work cut out if they want to beat the Dubs this season!

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    First stumble by the big 4 this season so!
    You underestimate the power of the Dubs.

Quote Originally Posted by Rebal Boy
    He wasn't that mad after all. What sort of crowd was there I wonder?
    About 250/300ish. Maybe more

Quote Originally Posted by Derek
    About 250/300ish. Maybe more
    The Daily Star said 275. Thats very poor for a Premier Division match. How does the club surive with those sort of gates????
    City Til I Die

Champions 2005

It was the same if not worse last year. I remember going to a Ramblers game against Dublin City up in Richmond park last year and we nearly out-numbered them and there was only about 50 of us. Cant understand how theyre surviving they must have good sponsorship. They do have a small group of very loyal fans though which is good to see.

Quote Originally Posted by Dj Duffer
    It was the same if not worse last year. I remember going to a Ramblers game against Dublin City up in Richmond park last year and we nearly out-numbered them and there was only about 50 of us. Cant understand how theyre surviving they must have good sponsorship. They do have a small group of very loyal fans though which is good to see.
    Theirs one thing I don't understand about Dublin. It has 1million people living there. Thats 1/4 of Ireland population. It has 6 LOI clubs and they all stuggle to get crowds at matches. Its a shame to see. I was in Dalymount for the City- Bohs game on Oct31st last. City won 2-1 and atleast 1000 of those were from Cork.
    City Til I Die

Champions 2005