Page 66 of 114 FirstFirst ... 1656646566676876 ... LastLast
Results 1,301 to 1,320 of 2267

Thread: SPL Discussion Thread

67 Posts
    Mixu Paateleinan is new Hibs manager. Delighted he was picked, hopefully he can turn things around at ER

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...an/7180691.stm

Surprised the Police agreed to this given that it's an evening kick off.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    Surprised the Police agreed to this given that it's an evening kick off.

Wouldn't say they had much of a choice. Game had to be midweek

1,915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Boruc signed his new contract to 2011.
    That's the most important business Celtic have done. Artur is a top class goalkeeper and an intelligent lad, I'm sure the contract benefits were mutual.

I can't count the number of middling to top clubs who would immediatly improve their all round prospects with having him in their team.
    But why should he just go to Spurs for example, he has the pick of the top clubs in Europe, when the time is right.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    That's the most important business Celtic have done. Artur is a top class goalkeeper and an intelligent lad, I'm sure the contract benefits were mutual.

Good keeper, and good for celtic he signed. But Artur Boruc - "intelligent". Funniest thing heard in a long time

I know but I'd have expected some sort of official acknowledgement that they advised against it or something like that. Just find it unusual that there's no word from them. I'm looking forward to it personally because I play football on a Saturday so rarely get to see an OF game these days.

im sure theres alot of people that wont be able to travel to the ref-fixed game...alot would have been going over from ireland with it being around new years and that, would have had work booked off etc, id say there would be a few tickets available if you look hard enough

No joy so far but I do have a very good lead. Fingers crossed......

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Good keeper, and good for celtic he signed. But Artur Boruc - "intelligent". Funniest thing heard in a long time
    Proof of his intelligence. He's mastered the hill billy American accent:
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=1st20RK2SM4

Also looking for 2 tickets for this game if anybody can help?

1,915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Easily humoured or you should get out a bit more?

There are good goalkeepers and there are class goalkeepers.
    Boruc on his own has got an average Celtic team with a leaky defence for the second time into the last 16 of the CL. Without him they wouldn´t even have got past Spartak.
    He is in the top league of the best goalkeepers and would walk into the position of any top team who needed a goalkeeper.

2,712 Posts
    Boruc oozes class. His style is a bit like David Seaman at his peak, or even our own Shay, languid and totally natural. He's very good in one on ones and he must be a joy to play in front of if you're a centre back, the ease with which he takes high balls and exudes self-confidence and attitude. Sure he makes errors and I think his concentration may be a bit suspect but at his best he's top class.

His performance in Milan in last year's Champions League was brilliant, without being flash.

I watched it with a German Bayern fan and he asked "who's the keeper, he's some dude!".

I'd sooner have Boruc than the over rated Cech.

229 Posts
    I felt the same when Petrov signed a new 5 year contract. Great news for Celtic. Doesnt mean he'll be a Celtic player for much longer, just means we will get some decent cash for him when he ends up at Milan or wherever. Please god he stays though.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

celtic v rangers game is postponed

Newsroom Staff
    CELTIC’S league clash with Rangers, scheduled for Wednesday, January 23, has been postponed. It follows the cancellation of Rangers’ Scottish Cup fourth round tie against East Stirling.

That game, which was due to take place today (Sunday) at Ibrox, was called off because of a waterlogged pitch. It is now set to take place on January 23.

The Hoops match with Rangers at Celtic Park was originally scheduled for January 2, but it was called off following the tragic death of Motherwell captain and former Celt, Phil O’Donnell.

When the re-arranged date was announced as Wednesday, January 23, it was on the understanding that both Celtic and Rangers would safely negotiated their Scottish Cup fourth round ties, given that this date was pencilled in for any possible cup replays.

And while the Scottish Cup holders defeated Stirling Albion 3-0 to book their place in the fifth round of the tournament, where they will meet the winners of the Airdrie United versus Kilmarnock tie, Rangers are now set to play their fourth round match against East Stirling on January 23.

Celtic Football Club is naturally disappointed that the game with Rangers has been called off and sympathises with supporters over this postponement, which is obviously due to circumstances outwith the club’s control.

A new date for Celtic’s game against Rangers has still to be announced. Further details to follow on www.celticfc.net

74 Posts
    Van Buyten expressing an interest in a loan move to Celtic

here

sounds like he wants it and a loan would definetly suit Celtic, would be great playing along side McManus I think
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

That would be a great move by the club. He's a very good player and Celtic are crying out for a decent centre half who can play it a bit.

A loan would suit all parties initially to see if he could settle but I wouldn't have any qualms about signing him outright.

31 Posts
    Right lads what do ye make of it all now?

I've backed the manager all the way until very recently. Bar a couple of good showings in January we have been muck since November. I was hoping it was just a dip in form but I've come to my conclusions these last few weeks. When I'm looking for reasons and excuses as to why we've ended up this way the finger of blame keeps pointing at Strachan.

The players are decent but don't appear to be playing for the manager. He has failed to motivate them at this most crucial stage of the season.

We've been papped out of two cups on our home turf and dropped far too many league points at parkhead.

All our heroic late goals are now looking like an amazing stroke of good fortune.

We have two tactics against every team we play. 1. give it to Aiden and hope he creates a bit of magic. In fairness to him he's done it all season bar the last month. 2. knock a few slow square balls across the middle/back four, eventually Caldwell, Naylor or McManus will punt it up to Jan and we hope something happens from there.

And thats it. No tactical nous whatsoever. 442, slow, ponderous, predictable, one-paced borefests every single time.

The players mightn't be great but thats the coaches fault. We have no settled midfield and no ability to break down any side and create chances.

The worst player on the park yesterday was Nakamura. I'm sorry Eirebhoy I know you love him but he has been rank for ages now. For a supposed dead ball specialist his set pieces especially corners are appalling. Two or three exceptional free kicks a season are not enough for a place in the Celtic side. Especially at Ibrox. I was at the game yesterday and when you are in such an atmosphere it is incredible to see one of your own players pussying out of tackles and contact situations like Naka does. His heart isn't in it and maybe he should go in the summer if the new manager can't coax a bit of form out of him.

At the moment the only players I'd keep are
    Boruc (will be leaving this summer IMO)
    McGeady
    Hinkel
    Samaras (only on loan and won't want to stay with us given our current set-up)

Thats an effing disgrace considering the position of power the club was in barely a year ago! With the right management the huns should have been buried for another couple of seasons. Now we're handing them a treble with a cherry on top.

Maybe a good coach can come in and make something of likes of Sno, Brown, Donati, Jan, McDonald etc I don't know.

Thoughts Celtic fans? (and neutrals)
    The dude abides....

Why does he insist on playing McDonald from the bench? He's an outstanding goalscorer.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

31 Posts
    He doesn't insist on playing McDonald from the bench. He's started in virtually every game this season. It was a brave decision to DROP McDonald yesterday, something I will give the manager credit for, as his recent form has been woeful, far from the hungry, composed, technically sound man we saw in the first half of the season. In recent months his control has been abysmal, three touches to trap the ball, and for a forward getting ball to feet it's a huge part of his game the way we play under Strachan. He is forced to come out and collect these balls as with our patient build up style of play he doesnt get the kind of service he would thrive on if we actually attacked with conviction and 'got in behind' opposition defences.

A decent, but limited player IMO who would do well in the SPL in the right set-up.

But he's now a classic example of why I want Strachan to get to ****. Had a great start to the season as a new player (Brown, Donati, Graveson, Jan etc) but something went along the way and he's now a shadow of his former self. Hope its a dip in form and the soon-to-be-away managers fault.
    The dude abides....

Quote Originally Posted by Bottle of Tonic View Post
    The worst player on the park yesterday was Nakamura. I'm sorry Eirebhoy I know you love him but he has been rank for ages now.
    I thought he was one of Celtic's better players. He actually tried very hard. Get a tape of the game and watch him because I seriously must be watching a different player. I don't want to get into a debate about it tbh as i'll cry. I just hope he leaves Celtic and proves everyone wrong elsewhere. He was quite involved on Saturday, more than most. Anyway, I won't even read this thread for a reply as it seriously puts me in a bad mood debating about Naka. More than any other player.

And feck his set pieces.

I've also given up reading Celtic forums for the past month or so. I don't know what it is but when Ireland aren't playing well it's not half as bad reading this forum than it is listening to Celtic fans.

Also, I watched the game with a non-Celtic supporting friend who knows what I think of Naka. Because of that he tries to wind me up and will make sure I know when he has done something wrong. He made a point that you just know what he's going to do when he has the ball but you just can't stop him doing it. He also said the ball was like glue to his boots. Everything he tried to do on Saturday was pretty much succesful. He didn't lose possession. He had more of the ball than most. He looked so much more determined than he has done in recent weeks. He's well earnt his place in the next Old Firm anyway. Strachan won't have been disappointed with him. I'm certain of that.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 31/03/2008 at 9:30 AM.

Page 66 of 114 FirstFirst ... 1656646566676876 ... LastLast