Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Munster Senior Cup 2010/2011

Quote Originally Posted by ball-hop View Post
    In fairness, I expect that all Cork teams who are hosting visitors this weekend will do the right thing. I would expect regular communications between the clubs in the lead up to the matches and if there is an expectation that pitches will not be playable, the Cork clubs will take the necessary, and correct steps.
    Carrick were about 10 minutes from Cork City today when they were told the pitch was unplayable (Munster Senior Cup). Given the road conditions this is poor form indeed. I know the Carrick lads stopped several times on route awaiting news as to the status of the game. The were told at 1pm (kick off 2pm) that the game was off, shabby indeed. Why was this game not called off on Friday like all other games in Cork, and why o why did Leeds not get their pitch inspected before Carrick travelled. Will Leeds have to travel to Carrick now. Yes the Cork club took the necessary and correct steps !!!!!

I said earlier in week it would definately be off (thinking that the MSL should call it). Leeds pitch has a history of suffering from frozen pitch as where it is situated on north side of city. The roads were a disgrace at 9am this morning so ye should have been called then. The pitch itself is not the issue, it is the danger of getting there. Poor form from either Leeds or MSL, not sure who is to blame. From all other Cork Teams, apologies to Carrick Football Club.

Quote Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
    I said earlier in week it would definately be off (thinking that the MSL should call it). Leeds pitch has a history of suffering from frozen pitch as where it is situated on north side of city. The roads were a disgrace at 9am this morning so ye should have been called then. The pitch itself is not the issue, it is the danger of getting there. Poor form from either Leeds or MSL, not sure who is to blame. From all other Cork Teams, apologies to Carrick Football Club.
    Fair play sparky.

Quote Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
    Agree completely - the time to call this one was no later than yesterday morning.
    Seems totally incorrect to have the Carrick team making the journey.
    I think the Munster Senior Cup only gives one chance to play at home.
    "The times are tough now, just getting tougher
    This old world is rough, its just getting rougher"

Hard to see why there was any urgency attempting to play this game. It's a 3rd round fixture and we haven't even played our 2nd round match yet.

I think Leeds will have to travel - our match with Rockmount was originally called off, then played in the 'Hall.
    "The times are tough now, just getting tougher
    This old world is rough, its just getting rougher"

Carrick United were treated very shabbily by Leeds last weekend. More consideration should have been given to a team and supporters travelling such a distance to a game.
    With the club, Carrick Utd., travelling again this weekend, to Broadford in Limerick, it is very hard to keep financing such journeys especially when a little bit of consideration and forward planning would have saved such unneeccessary expense last weekend.

Very Selfish from leeds. They knew if they didnt host this game on sunday that they would lose home advantage so they waited until the last minute to postpone it. I hope Carrick treat them like crap and stuff them when they visit them in a few weeks time.

Q: Why didnt Leeds book one of the All Weather pitches if they wanted the game to go ahead on Sunday, isn't Mayfield only a mile or two from their home ground ? Schoolboy teams in their National cup and teams in the FAI Junior Cup alweays seem to have an All Weather on standby,

let's just say leeds wil get a frosty reception when they come up to carrick :P

I've played against carrick away before, I can tell ya one thing, Leeds are gonna wish they were playing castleview away or even up in everton park on a cold sunday morning when they see the reception they get down there... it aint a nice place to play. Huge advantage at home for carrick..on the other hand the last time I seen the pitch it was in great shape. good setup down there.

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by j-burt View Post
    I've played against carrick away before, I can tell ya one thing, Leeds are gonna wish they were playing castleview away or even up in everton park on a cold sunday morning when they see the reception they get down there... it aint a nice place to play. Huge advantage at home for carrick..on the other hand the last time I seen the pitch it was in great shape. good setup down there.
    On the contrary, we are very obliging here. Thanks for compliment regarding pitch etc.

very obliging indeed the leeds contingent is more than welcome and hopefully they will stay for a few pints afterwards

LUCOZADE SPORT MUNSTER SENIOR CUP
    2010-2011

QUARTER FINAL DRAW

Killarney Celtic v Limerick FC
    (Kerry D.L.) (League of Ireland)

Waterford Utd v Cork City
    (League of Ireland) (League of Ireland)

College Cors or Douglas Hall v Kinsale or Avondale Utd or Castleview
    or Casement Celtic
    (MSL) (AUL) (MSL)

Leeds or Carrick Utd v Everton or Mayfield Utd
    (MSL) (Waterford D.L.) (MSL)

Dates for Games to be fixed by the MFA

SEMI-FINAL DRAW

College Cors or Douglas Hall or Casement Cel v Killarney Celtic or Limerick FC
    or Kinsale or Avondale Utd or Castleview

Waterford Utd or Cork City v Leeds or Carrick Utd or Everton or
    Mayfield Utd

DATES AND VENUES FOR SEMI-FINAL GAMES TO BE FIXED BY THE MFA

LUCOZADE SPORT MUNSTER SENIOR CUP
    2010-2011

QUARTER FINAL DRAW

Killarney Celtic v Limerick FC
    (Kerry D.L.) (League of Ireland)

Waterford Utd v Cork City
    (League of Ireland) (League of Ireland)

College Cors or Douglas Hall v Kinsale or Avondale Utd or Castleview
    or Casement Celtic
    (MSL) (AUL) (MSL)

Leeds or Carrick Utd v Everton or Mayfield Utd
    (MSL) (Waterford D.L.) (MSL)

Dates for Games to be fixed by the MFA

SEMI-FINAL DRAW

College Cors or Douglas Hall or Casement Cel v Killarney Celtic or Limerick FC
    or Kinsale or Avondale Utd or Castleview

Waterford Utd or Cork City v Leeds or Carrick Utd or Everton or
    Mayfield Utd

DATES AND VENUES FOR SEMI-FINAL GAMES TO BE FIXED BY THE MFA

Im just putting this one out there.....I think the hall can win it!!!

remember, you heard it here first.

144 Posts
    Kinsale 1-2 Avondale today AET
    Last edited by razor; 29/12/2010 at 8:16 AM.

when will killarney vs limerick be on guys ??

Munster Senior cup

Carrick v Leeds 2pm Sunday

All proceeds on the gate are being donated to charity
    please come along

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cufc champions View Post
    Munster Senior cup

Carrick v Leeds 2pm Sunday

All proceeds on the gate are being donated to charity
    please come along
    My sources tell me you were down to the bare bones for the Hibs game last week but should still have enough to beat Leeds.
    Nice touch on the match proceeds.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    My sources tell me you were down to the bare bones for the Hibs game last week but should still have enough to beat Leeds.
    Nice touch on the match proceeds.
    Yes we are missing a nice few with injuries but still will have a fairly strong team to start with, what are Leeds like, they seem to be going fairly good in 1st division.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast