Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Match Prediction

49 Posts

Match Prediction

i just dont know, worse case scenario bulgaria start really well start knocking it about nicely, one two's, hostile crowd. then we could be in for a long hard night. hopefully whelan and andrews put it about a bit in midfield.

looking at it you can see a draw but hopefully we will nick it.
    i'll go for a 1-0 to us with robbie knocking away a peno(fingers crossed).

245 Posts
    1-0, Robbie with the goal, and Folan involved somehow.

229 Posts
    Whelan to get one from the edge of the box. not sure if that will get us a result but hopefully a 1-0 or 1-1.........
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

26 Posts
    2-0 to Bulgaria.

622 Posts
    Република България 0 - Rep Of Ireland 1

Has to be SSL to score doesn't it?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Can't see us winning. I've predicted before that our luck will run out, we have had an awful lot of it. This could be the night.

Even with Berbatov and Petrov back I am still hopeful of a 1-1 .

Praying for a 0-1 or 1-2 but a draw under the circumstances would have to be seen as a decent result. Look at midfield and show me a leader? I don't see one.

386 Posts
    1-1 with St. Ledger scoring a late equaliser from a set piece

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Can't see us winning. I've predicted before that our luck will run out, we have had an awful lot of it. This could be the night.

Even with Berbatov and Petrov back I am still hopeful of a 1-1 .

Praying for a 0-1 or 1-2 but a draw under the circumstances would have to be seen as a decent result. Look at midfield and show me a leader? I don't see one.
    have we though? where apart from the peno decision against georgia ya, but that happens. we've had plenty of those decision go against us through the years.

368 Posts
    1-0 Ireland

Glenn Whelan to score from the halfway line in the third minute of injury time.

1-1 - I think we really are a 'draw' team and Trap just loves picking up the odd point here and there. We should finish at least 2nd and I suppose the Play-Off's is a different kettle of fish although - we'll probably get Russia or Croatia or someone.

130 Posts
    0-0

And id be very happy with that. There is always the chance that if its 0-0 late on and Bulgaria probably needing to win the game that we might be able to nick one on the break. I think Traps message will be to keep things as tight as possible at the back and dont give away anything silly early on.

49 Posts
    feck the play off's. we need a result here and beat italy at croker. hopefully ita;y will drop a few points along the way and we top the group. thats what we should be aiming for.

44 Posts
    1-0 to us....O'Shea with the winner!!!
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    have we though? where apart from the peno decision against georgia ya, but that happens. we've had plenty of those decision go against us through the years.
    To paraphase an earlier post from yourself that's bull.

We've been lucky all the way through. We were lucky to get Georgia at a neutral venue. Lucky to beat both Cyprus and Georgia at home. Lucky to draw with the Bulgarians. Lucky to grab the equaliser in the last seconds against a ten man Italy we struggled to create anything against in the previous 90 minutes.

What games were you watching? Must have been the ones were McGeady was delivering killer final balls all the way through the match.
    Last edited by youngirish; 05/06/2009 at 9:40 AM.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    To paraphase an earlier post from yourself that's bull.

We've been lucky all the way through. We were lucky to get Georgia at a neutral venue. Lucky to beat Georgia at home. Lucky to draw with the Bulgarians. Lucky to grab the equaliser in the last seconds against a ten man Italy we struggled to create anything against in the previous 90 minutes.

What games were you watching? Must have been the ones were McGeady was delivering killer final balls all the way through the match.
    we will have to disagree on this one mate. thats not luck. luck for me is hitting the post with a shot and it bouncing off the keeper and rolling in over the line.

lucky to get georgia at a neutral venue, well there was a conflict there so dont see how thats luck. ok georgia at home bit of luck but thats football. lucky to draw with bulgaria at home, were we. id say the result was fair. lucky to grab the equaliser in italy ???? eh no we werent.

55 Posts
    3-0 to Bulgaria. A walk in the park for them. Stilyan Petrov to run rings around Andrews and Whelan on his own, just like he did in Croker.

Except this time he has Martin Petrov and Dimi Berbatov as outlets.

245 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Look at midfield and show me a leader? I don't see one.
    Andrews captained MK Dons, and he looked like a leader in the match against Nigeria.

In the few matches he has played for us, he has always shown the courage to take shots on, and go into tackles hard. He has managed to establish himself as a Premier League regular relatively late in his career, even if he finished the season playing out of position.

With regards to Whelan, he started the season on the fringes of the Stoke team, and has since become a regular. Sure he broke into the team because of injury, but he stayed there because of merit.

Remember, this isn't a Stoke side that just barely avoided relegation- this is a Stoke team that comfortably established itself in mid-table.

I don't think I've seen one person call Whelan or Andrews world-class, or even top-class, and in truth, at this stage nobody would describe them as such; but both of these lads are battlers who have overcome adversity in one way or another this season, and are exactly the type of characters I'm willing to put my trust in on Saturday in a hostile away environment.

49 Posts
    i actually prefer whelan of the two of them. i think hes a decent player, good long range shot aswell.

245 Posts
    I think they're of a similar level, but as a midfield partnership I'm still not entirely convinced.

Thought Miller and Andrews complemented each other very well against Nigeria.

As I say, if we're chasing the game, I'd considering taking off Whelan for Miller.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    I think they're of a similar level, but as a midfield partnership I'm still not entirely convinced.

Thought Miller and Andrews complemented each other very well against Nigeria.

As I say, if we're chasing the game, I'd considering taking off Whelan for Miller.
    if were chasing the game bringing miller on wont make no difference.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast