Thread: Rovers Legends 0 Liverpool Legends 2

Thumbs up Rovers Legends 0 Liverpool Legends 2

Goals from Durnin and Walsh won the game for the Pool.

I really enjoyed this occasion. It was great to see so many ex-Rovers players, not to mention the Pool players. It was also heartening to see a good crowd too.

I think Billy Sinclair really enjoyed being in the dug-out again. He was barking out orders left, right and centre. On one occasion Gary Gillespie told him to calm down.

Fair play to the lads with the Farewell Johnny banner. All the rovers players were wearing Chadda t-shirts before the game and the singing of You'll Never Walk Alone and the 1 minute applause was a real lump in the throat moment. Well done to all involved.

It'd be nice to see this fixture as an annual thing.
    "Overwhelmed"

Was a lovely occasion. I went to the game with my brother, 2 sons and my mate and we had a ball. Didnt want to leave the Sligo Southern Hotel either, was great craic. My 10yr old got one of his old jerseys signed by the Liverpool legends and was just so chuffed.

Great nite, fair play to all at Sligo.

72 Posts
    Was there many at the game?

Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Was there many at the game?
    Yea quite a good crowd close to 3 thousand I would guess
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Yeah I heard that there had been 3000 tickets on sale and that 2800 sold. There were gates where you could pay in too but assuming that all 2800 that had tickets didnt show up I would still reckon there was bout that many or more there.

Just been talking to my brother. Him and his wife stayed in the Southern last nite and ended up in the residence bar singing the night away with the legends. He is hoarse this morning and said it was one of the best nights of his life.

Thank you Sligo Rovers for making my brothers dreams come true!

538 Posts
    I also really enjoyed the occasion... paul walsh and ian rush still has it.. molby still has the odd piece of good skin even after the extra beers... sligo rovers johnny kenny should be still playin for ye... it was great craic.. heard the reason padraig moran and keith foy is they were let go by their clubs.. would love to see padriag moran join us as for keith foy would hate to fall out with magicme after enjoyin the company of her and her crew! magicme u r welcome to ur foyser!!

Smile rov legends v liverpool legends and aftermatch

what a great day and night. fair play to those who organised it . it was run very well and im delighted for those involved and there was a lot of hard work involved. i had my camera with me and got some great photos of players at the dinner. they wer all a lovely bunch of lads and went out of their way to accomodate everybody. it just shows you what can be done with the proper approach . cant see no reason why a few of these fundraisers be carried out every season. it was a great send of for johnny chadda and a specila ocassion that will live long in my memory and to see all his family there and the presentation after the game. the night event was excellent and the auction was spot on with robbie fitz setting the bidding and of course scruffy with his choice of music. when the crowd stood up to a man to sing "you'll never walk alone" there was a lump in my throat. i was delighted for "cookie" as he had his family there and they made great efforts to sell the "t shirts". a collectors item no doubt and if anybody can still get their hands on one i would advise to do so. i thought the little football jerseyon each table was a brilliant idea. what can i say but congrats again to dermot keith geoff michael
    and all the others who gave a helping hand brilliant day and night

How did the dinner go. Did it make much money and was all tables full.How much would rovers have got for the whole event

I was dissapointed that some ledgends couldnt play or didnt turn up. did Tony Fagan play I dont know tbh I wouldnt recognise half of them.
    Coleman for Ireland

I also really enjoyed the occasion... paul walsh and ian rush still has it.. molby still has the odd piece of good skin even after the extra beers... sligo rovers johnny kenny should be still playin for ye... it was great craic.. heard the reason padraig moran and keith foy is they were let go by their clubs.. would love to see padriag moran join us as for keith foy would hate to fall out with magicme after enjoyin the company of her and her crew! magicme u r welcome to ur foyser!!
    Come to Sligo and don't even visit yer old SRIWFC buddies...you've changed Marty, I blame that Monaghan woman for tempting you away from us.

Feck off would ya! Cheeky git!

Does anybody have know approximately how much money we made altogether between the match,dinner dance and sponsership etc.?

538 Posts
    Come to Sligo and don't even visit yer old SRIWFC buddies...you've changed Marty, I blame that Monaghan woman for tempting you away from us.

jaysus man i was at the prescence of ur company last wk man! cant get around to everyone u know! i was chattin to dave goulden though afterwards!!

nice to see im much missed man!! well at least the monaghan woman was on my phone to ya!! hopefully that cheered u up a bit....

The Monaghan woman has a name you know!!!

well at least the monaghan woman was on my phone to ya!! hopefully that cheered u up a bit....
    I thought it was just you putting on a Northern accent.

538 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    The Monaghan woman has a name you know!!!

yeah magicme!!!!!!!!!

538 Posts
    I thought it was just you putting on a Northern accent.
    i can do a northern accent if i want too but it would be pretty poor!!!