Beecher Networks - Web Development, Hosting & Domains
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Foreign languages

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    23 Posts

Foreign languages

I myself studied Irish, Spanish and German.

I'm fluent in Irish. I went to all-Irish school for 14 years. It only comes in handy when you happen to meet someone else who speaks Irish and the two of yez can yak away, feeling like outsiders. I don't recall "learning" it. We were not allowed to speak English so Irish just came to us eventually.

I studied German for six years in primary and secondary and I hated it. I found it a very difficult language to learn and something about the pronounciation puts me off the language. I still remember very basic bits but whenever I've been in Germany, I haven't used it.

I love Spanish. I studied it in secondary and I'm lucky enough to continue studying it in college. I find it a very easy language to learn and I find it very useful, even here. It's easy to learn the pronounciation and I find it very easy to speak with Spaniards or native-speakers.

So what about the rest of yez? What other languages can you speak? Which do you find theasiest to learn?

I'm eagerly awaiting osarusan's reply (hopefully).
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

International Prospect osarusan's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1,000 Posts
    Just for you Superfrank!

English - Fluent
    Irish - Basic
    German - Basic (used to be half decent, but never spoke a word since the leaving cert) (der die das - just shoot me)
    Japanese - Advanced (Speaking) Intermediate (Reading) Lower Intermediate (Writing)

Japanese is relatively easy to learn to speak, but truly brutal to learn to write.