Thread: Limerick 2-1 Longford

Was a great win and performance, Harrington and Davey Ryan should have sealed the win with clear chances towards the end. Shane Treacy was immense, Harrington put in a very impressive shift alongside Colbert who was brilliant again. Willie Bruton was very impressive and Fogarty did well too. White impressed when he came on.

Only gripe I would have is our defending from set pieces. Longford scored from a corner set-piece and should have had 2 more, with one cleared off the line and another header hitting the crossbar. They did nothing from open play though.

As for Keith Hartnett, he's not better than Colbert or Harrington but would be a very good squad addition as he is a similar player to both in that he plays ball and picks a pass. I'm not for putting Tommy Barrett back in to midfield at all to be honest, I think himself and Paddy Purcell should be the defensive pairing. Tommy doesn't have enough football for CM, is a poor passer of the ball and offers little in creativity. And seeing that we seem to be keeping the ball on the deck now, the need for Tommy's height in midfield is negated, especially with Harrington offering it anyway. Love the way we're spreading the play, using width and the full backs, especially Treacy, going forward and over-lapping. At least we're playing a bit of ball now

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    On other topics Keith Harnett is surely worth a squad place compared to some of the dross still floating around? That said after the will he/won't he shenanigans of the last year or two with him I wouldn't be bending over backwards to accomodate him either.
    Agree there should be no bending over backwards for anybody, but IF he does want to sign up, it should be a no-brainer for the club.

Also out a fixture list back into the programme if possible.
    There was a full fixture list in the first program, 4 pages of fixtures !!

By the way the program this year is a nice step forward from last year, some good articles and a bit of humour as well. Who'd have thought, Purcell IS Superman

Noticed a few new sponsors in there as well, which reminds me, does anybody know the story why we are still wearing the green kit, and werent sponsors supposed to be "announced" before the Longford game
    LTID

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Noticed a few new sponsors in there as well, which reminds me, does anybody know the story why we are still wearing the green kit, and werent sponsors supposed to be "announced" before the Longford game
    I heard that your blue kit isn't ready yet.
    It looked a bit weird having Super Blues on the front of the program and a picture with the team in their green strip

Good sense of humour lads. Me and my friend got some abuse when we were drumming the drums sometimes

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    does anybody know the story why we are still wearing the green kit, and werent sponsors supposed to be "announced" before the Longford game
    Apparantly theres a kit launch on the 15th April, this is from a sometime reliable source so il say no more.

It was my first game of the season also and i thought L37 were very good..Very good passing by everyone. I thought the 3 new laads Treacey bruton and fogarty linked up well and Paul Danagher is good solid Defender.White did well when he came on also and the 2 lads sitting in the middle wayne and Barrett have good engines and play good football.I agree about Tommy arrett lacking Crativity but having watched him on numerous occasions ..I think the poor passer label is unjustified ..Granted he gives a few stray ones but generally keeps it simple .i thought the Keeper was excellent especially near the end when coming to catch the balls an relieve pressure.overall a very good performance and best of luck for the season.

if he kept it simple all the time he'd be a great player cos with him now playing at the back theres no room for mistakes,1 of the 1st names on the sheet for me though every week..

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Apparantly theres a kit launch on the 15th April, this is from a sometime reliable source so il say no more.
    He's a good source and in this case he is correct

Indeed, but theres someting kinda juniorish about someting I heard in a pub (which as you know is where I did) being touted as fact, you know like?

Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Good sense of humour lads. Me and my friend got some abuse when we were drumming the drums sometimes
    Bang! bang, bang, bang, bang, bang, bang...............

Indeed, but theres someting kinda juniorish about someting I heard in a pub (which as you know is where I did) being touted as fact, you know like?
    Swear ta Gawd man. Little birdie told me.

Ju know yer man Macca? was up at the Pike match last week sed its a fact, heard it off a falla in de clubhouse. swear ta Gawwd youngfella.

Ju know yer man Macca? was up at the Pike match last week sed its a fact
    Bit south of the border for you to be on your own

Spoofer sham, that's all you are SPOOFER

On other topics Keith Harnett is surely worth a squad place compared to some of the dross still floating around? That said after the will he/won't he shenanigans of the last year or two with him I wouldn't be bending over backwards to accomodate him either.
    Mr. Hartnett is more than welcome to come sit on our bench if the money is right.

I wouldn't be paying him any more than the Darren Harringtons of this world.

PS) Anybody else see Danny Drew's name pop up in the 'Kildare County to organise game against Leeds United XI for Davey Langan' story? The man is itching to sneak back into the game.
    Mr. Drew has been keeping Kildare afloat for some time apparently.........

Bit south of the border for you to be on your own

Spoofer sham, that's all you are SPOOFER
    Tis next to me uncle John-boys yard sure. No king billy spoofers round here im telling ya.

Mr. Drew has been keeping Kildare afloat for some time apparently.........
    So late night visits by decent hardworking Moyross folk to his take away are keeping them in business?

No king billy spoofers round here im telling ya.
    Swear there isn't

So late night visits by decent hardworking Moyross folk to his take away are keeping them in business?
    I prefer the delivery service. Fella pulling up in a 08 Beamer with your Sweet and Sour chicken balls under his arm

Why Kildare though? lots of horses, hmmmm not all horses are good, what happens them? hmmmmm
    From the plains of Kildare to the plates of Limerick?

Why Kildare though? lots of horses, hmmmm not all horses are good, what happens them? hmmmmm
    From the plaines of Kildare to the plates of Limerick?
    LMFAO

Seriously!!!!!!!

Think I'll stick to the oul "Pony Court" in future.

Mmm, greyhound fried rice