Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: U17's qualify for the European Championships!

U17's qualify for the European Championships!

I wonder why no-one is reporting about that...

Ireland is right now playing against Germany at Terryland Park. The other opponents in the group are Portugal and Greece.

Right now, it's Ireland 0-1 Germany, 23 minutes played.

IRELAND U-17 SQUAD – UEFA ELITE PHASE QUALIFIERS
    Ger Hanley (Salthill Devon)
    Harry Lee (Charlton Athletic)
    Gavin Holohan (Cherry Orchard)
    Paudric Ormsby (Crumlin United)
    Johnny Dunleavy (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
    Mark Connolly (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
    Kallum Keane (Derby County)
    Gavin Gunning (Blackburn Rovers)
    Shaun Timmins (Birmingham City)
    Aaron Doran (Blackburn Rovers)
    Conor Clifford (Chelsea)
    Conor Hourihane (Sunderland)
    John Sullivan (Crumlin United)
    Gearoid Morrissey (Ringmahon Rangers)
    Greg Cunningham (Manchester City)
    Paul Murphy (Ipswich Town)
    Darragh Satelle (Crumlin United)
    Robert Brady (Manchester United)

The Republic of Ireland Under-17 team conceded a goal after eight minutes to Germany in their opening UEFA Elite qualifying tie this evening at Terryland Park in Galway.

Marcos Alvarez set up the chance with an enterprising run down past Mark Connolly. He picked out Felix Kroos in the middle and the shot by Germany’s top scorer took a deflection off Gavin Gunning to leave goalkeeper Ger Hanley wrong-footed.

Paul Murphy came closest to providing an equaliser for the Irish with a low shot from 20 yards that whistled wide.

IRELAND: Hanley (Salthill Devon), Dunleavy (Wolves), Timmons (Birmingham), Gunning (Blackburn), Connolly (Wolves), Morrissey (Ringmahon), Doran (Blackburn), Clifford (Chelsea), Satelle (Crumlin), Murphy (Ipswich), Cunningham (Manchester City).
    Substitutes: Robert Brady (Manchester United) for Satelle (35 mins)

GERMANY: Bussman, Becker, Alvarez, Hornschuh, Basturk, Kroos, Hartmann, Gulde, Cincotta (Fardi 31), Herman, Stiepermann.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=2980

1-1 now smithy. 20 minutes left. Germany got a player sent off just after half time I think.

http://www.livescores.net/LiveScore.do

Where in the name of jaysus does the above site get their updates?

367 Posts
    Draw between Greece and Portugal earlier today so hopefully we can push for the win as this would set us up nicely for the remaining games.

Full time. 1-1.

Sean McCaffrey’s Irish side produced a valiant second half comeback to snatch a draw against Germany at Terryland Park in their opening UEFA Elite stage qualifying tie.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=2980
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 13/03/2008 at 7:49 PM.

1,912 Posts
    Good name for a goalkeeper, Bussman.

attendance 1,800 - a decent crowd.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    was at the game, interesting formation.... 4-2-3-1 like many people think the seniors are gonna play under Trapattoni. Good performance, some excellent prospects out there

I love seeing the underage teams move away from the 4-4-2 and gain a bit more tactical knowledge at a young age.

Quote Originally Posted by smithy View Post
    I wonder why no-one is reporting about that...

Ireland is right now playing against Germany at Terryland Park. The other opponents in the group are Portugal and Greece.

Right now, it's Ireland 0-1 Germany, 23 minutes played.

IRELAND U-17 SQUAD – UEFA ELITE PHASE QUALIFIERS
    Ger Hanley (Salthill Devon)
    Harry Lee (Charlton Athletic)
    Gavin Holohan (Cherry Orchard)
    Paudric Ormsby (Crumlin United)
    Johnny Dunleavy (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
    Mark Connolly (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
    Kallum Keane (Derby County)
    Gavin Gunning (Blackburn Rovers)
    Shaun Timmins (Birmingham City)
    Aaron Doran (Blackburn Rovers)
    Conor Clifford (Chelsea)
    Conor Hourihane (Sunderland)
    John Sullivan (Crumlin United)
    Gearoid Morrissey (Ringmahon Rangers)
    Greg Cunningham (Manchester City)
    Paul Murphy (Ipswich Town)
    Darragh Satelle (Crumlin United)
    Robert Brady (Manchester United)
    Whats the story with so many Crumlin United players in it?
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

Thought it was a very enjoyable game - (some of the local wags felt it was of a much higher standard than we're used to..)

Some great players for us, but I was late for the team announcements so I can't say who you need to watch out for. Our goalscorer was one of the two locals involved so that created a good buzz around the ground.

The German lad who was sent off was very aggressive all through, but I felt the ref was over fussy and the second yellow was harsh. The German bench spent the rest of the game trying to incite the ref to send one of our lads packing, but as it wore on , we really used the extra man to good effect and had chances to win. Without the sending off, in all honesty, I wouldn't have seen us getting back into it.

We've got Portugal on Tuesday night next & I'll definitely try to be there based on what I saw last night.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

is it the top team or top two teams who qualify from this group to the finals

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    is it the top team or top two teams who qualify from this group to the finals
    top team only.

848 Posts
    Some of the players that stood out for me were Connor Clifford from Chelsea, Paul Murphy from Ipswich, Mark Connolly from Wolves and Greg Cunningham from Man City took his goal brilliantly. Think that was all their proper names anyway, was trying to match their faces to the pics in the program. Clifford worked unbelievable hard and looks very composed on the ball, can see why hes captain and is so highly rated

Cheers - what kind of midfielder is clifford? Holding, box to box, attacking?

848 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kennedmc View Post
    Cheers - what kind of midfielder is clifford? Holding, box to box, attacking?

he played as one of the 2 holding midfielders. But I would put him down as box to box player. Very strong in the tackle and can spray a pass too. Very tidy player. He ran himself into the ground so much that he had to go off in the end with cramp in both legs

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    he played as one of the 2 holding midfielders. But I would put him down as box to box player. Very strong in the tackle and can spray a pass too. Very tidy player. He ran himself into the ground so much that he had to go off in the end with cramp in both legs
    Sounds goods......
    I know there is a lot of ifs and buts but if Clifford and McCarthy both live up to their hype we could have a hell of a CM partnership in 6 years time

Aaron Doran also looks a quality player and is already a regular in B'burn reserves. Clifford protected back 4 very well and was very sharp in the tackle and tidy and the ball. Overall the team passed the ball far better then the Germans. Connolly and Gavin Gunning at the back also looked good and Cunningham played the lone striker role very well. Well done to managment too in going 3 at the back straigh after German sending off. Should have won!

74 Posts

u.17's 2-0 up

10mins to go.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Germany are 2-0 up as well with Greece down to 9 men. If it stays like this we all finish on 4 points. Goal difference as follows:

Ireland +1
    Portugal 0
    Germany 0
    Greece -1

Germany will surely know they have to go for another goal. If they get it we're split with them on goal difference and goals scored. What happens then?

I think I got that right anyway. Just a 2 minute check.

1,912 Posts
    Ft in the german game 2-0

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast