Thread: Derry City

Derry City

Another big game on Friday, can we get anything from it? the preformances have been getting better and more importantly the results have. Go with the same team as last week if everyones fit, it really seemed to disjoint Bohs and suited us down to the ground.

Looking at this, I don't think we can get anything from it. Unless Derry have an off day, like Bohs did last week.

We have started to get into shape a bit, since Pender's been dropped, but I still feel Derry will be too strong for us.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

65 Posts
    Is Ger Rowe fully fit, how much pre-season did he miss when frozen out at Rovers?
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Team news only mentions Franco, Duggan and Emeika as being doubtful. No word of Rowe.
    Extratime.ie

65 Posts
    No i meant in General, he hasnt started like a house on fire. On another note it will be interesting to see what sort of reaction Clive Delaney will receive.

Blog

Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    No i meant in General, he hasnt started like a house on fire. On another note it will be interesting to see what sort of reaction Clive Delaney will receive.
    to be honest i hope he doesnt get any reaction. if anyone was offered a full time contract they would prob jump at it. i dont blame him for it. i just didnt like derry's last minute move for him!! Foran has done well recently so hope we can keep hold of him for longer.

i doubt there'd be any changes made to the starting team, not sure whether it'l work against derry though but we'll see... one area i think we need to exploit against derry is there pace or lack of pace at the back. hutton and delaney are prob the slowest defenders in the league and also their keeper seems very dodgy, i'd put everything in on top of him, you'l get something from it.

wonder will franco join us in the stand if he is'nt playing!!!!

i think its taking rowe a little bit longer to get into his rythem obviously because he missed pre-season but hopefully he'l score soon and come good for us.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    Is Ger Rowe fully fit, how much pre-season did he miss when frozen out at Rovers?
    I think Rowe has improved over the last couple of weeks. He had to do pre season training with Rovers reserves so was a bit behind the rest of the players at the start. He needs a goal now to kick start his season.

Quote Originally Posted by Bray Head View Post
    I think Rowe has improved over the last couple of weeks. He had to do pre season training with Rovers reserves so was a bit behind the rest of the players at the start. He needs a goal now to kick start his season.
    Agreed, he is defo getting better over the past few games, ran his @rse into the ground last week... But he actually had no pre season with Rovers what so ever so i still think he's a bit behind the lads at the mo.

If we can get Cawley playing as well as he can theres no reason why we can't get a result. He was brilliant last week v Bohs and no coincidence that it was the bast team performance of the season so far. If Cawley plays, we play simple as really
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

thats the match report

Great result. Delighted with the performance. Great performance from Daz in particular.
    Extratime.ie

Great performance, especially in the second half. Derry didn't trouble us much at all. Does anyone know how Duggan is, he had a great game. I was waiting for Delaney to pop up for a corner and get a goal for Derry before he got sent off. Do people on here still want Gormley gone?

65 Posts
    Most people didnt in the first place, good run of performances and results now. Well done lads.

Blog

Quote Originally Posted by Grey Boy View Post
    Do people on here still want Gormley gone?
    Performances have improved. He's turned things around fair play to him.

At the time I was suggesting Gormley should go, we hadn't scored, and didn't look like scoring, in four games and we had one point from 12, including a 2-0 home defeat to UCD. If we hadn't scored against Harps, it would've been the nadir.

But since then we've scored three games running and the performance tonight was the best yet. We beat Harps, a big win, and we picked up points against the big teams. Can't complain with that at all.

One thing I do want to complain about, though, was the treatment of Clive Delaney by the Bray fans. He gave his everything for the club when he played for us. He captained our side greatly and he got vital goals last season. The way he was booed and insulted tonight was a disgrace.
    Extratime.ie

65 Posts
    didnt get any text alerts tonight, presume I'll get 3 in the morning

Blog

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post

One thing I do want to complain about, though, was the treatment of Clive Delaney by the Bray fans. He gave his everything for the club when he played for us. He captained our side greatly and he got vital goals last season. The way he was booed and insulted tonight was a disgrace.
    Thats football, ye maybe he did serve as great captain but its not as if he was there for a long time and the way he exited, stabbed bray in the back. It's different when a player has been there years and was heralded a hero comes back (ie) Jason Byrne!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Quote Originally Posted by Grey Boy View Post
    .... Do people on here still want Gormley gone?
    I don't think anyone actually wanted Eddie to go.

The point was that before the Harps game, things were looking grim. Not only had we had not scored but there appeared to be no team spirit, togetherness or organisation in the those first few games. Instilling those into a team is one of the manager's main jobs and if Eddie could not do it then it needed someone who could.

I am delighted, especially for Eddie who is BW through and through. Let's hope the revival keeps rockin and rollin.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

...One thing I do want to complain about, though, was the treatment of Clive Delaney by the Bray fans. He gave his everything for the club when he played for us. He captained our side greatly and he got vital goals last season. The way he was booed and insulted tonight was a disgrace.
    I don't condone abusing players. Sure big Clive gave us everything last season and was our best player. But you have to contrast that against the disappointing way he walked out on us when he was needed.

Went down in my estimation after that. Had he give us another season especially with the three down situation it would have been different.

He had a chance to go to a bigger club and work with a manager he clearly has a good reportoire with. What player wouldn't want to take that opportunity?

He has no previous ties to our club. He was only with us for one season and in the end he's gone back to the team he came from.

The fans should be understanding instead of spiteful.
    Extratime.ie

He had a chance to go to a bigger club and work with a manager he clearly has a good reportoire with. What player wouldn't want to take that opportunity?.
    That sounds like he only wanted to stay with Bray until something better came along. As he went back to Derry makes you wonder why he left in the first place.

....He was only with us for one season and in the end he's gone back to the team he came from.
    If his intention was to only come for one season then he should have said so at the outset and gone the end of last season, not wait until 10 days before the season starts leaving us with little time or opportunity to replace him.

.....The fans should be understanding instead of spiteful.
    I don't think fans are spiteful, I'm not, but I am disappointed that he used BW , a club that treated him well.