Thread: Kilkenny City may be back!!

Thumbs up Kilkenny City may be back!!

Maybe we haven't heard the end of Kilkenny City! RTE radio 1 reporting that an Irish-American business man is looking to take over the club. Wants to hold talks with the FAI. Fantastic news if true. We need Kilkenny City in this league, especially n place of another Dublin Club.

I think we all agree on here that Kilkenny City don't deserve not to be playing senior football. Hopefully there is some truth in these reports. Fantastic news IMO.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Don't mean to burst your bubble but I think that could have been about Limerick...

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Don't mean to burst your bubble but I think that could have been about Limerick...
    Serious? I was just told off a friend who said he heard this on the news

its waterford united.
    watch this space.

Quote Originally Posted by joema View Post
    Serious? I was just told off a friend who said he heard this on the news
    Ya its Limerick man. Just on the news. Kill your friend

Well who ever it is, lets hope its true.

Gutted

Jaysus Fair play to him. Really hopes it works out because a city the size of Limerick should be able to sustain a fulltime team in this AIL project, never mind a first division team strugging to get gates. galway being a model, perhaps, but I wouldn't employ all of the tactics of their commercial director. Thats for another day/place.

I'm new to this board but the amount of LOI interest coming from people with obvious connections to Limerick has been very surprising. i remember watching Armstrong and others at St Mels during the late 80s. Best o' luck

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joema View Post
    Gutted
    I take it you support Kilkenny?! I'd disown your friend...

It's still very good news though. Any idea of the kind of finances that this "businessman" have? (And would be willing to spend...)

Quote Originally Posted by Buller View Post
    It's still very good news though. Any idea of the kind of finances that this "businessman" have? (And would be willing to spend...)
    Our American guy I take it??

Basically he's looking at sorting out a payment plan on our debts, appointing us a CEO and once we've proved we can run ourselves even remotely like a normal company for a year, he'll loosens the purse strings a bit.

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buller View Post
    I couldn't make it to the press conference to here the laatest but reading the piece in the Limerick Leader I don't think he is planning to pump millions into them. It seems he could be in it for other reason as there seems to be if and buts.

Here is the piece posted on the Limerick forum

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=858664&postcount=26

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    It seems he could be in it for other reason as there seems to be if and buts.
    I don't care if he's in it to smuggle weapons to the Contras tbh.

He has dug us out of an immediate and pretty deep hole. Job Done.

60 Posts
    Gutted for you Joema - delighted for Lims, don't get me wrong, but gutted for you. You friend should be forced to find a major backer for the Cats by Thursday to make up for it.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

83 Posts
    I don't care if he's in it to smuggle weapons to the Contras tbh.

He has dug us out of an immediate and pretty deep hole. Job Done.
    Agree totally LTID. It is good that senior soccer survived down here now all we need is for it to spread to the Midlands

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

hes in for some shock when he discovers limerick have only 30 fans.

Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    and that Waterford people can't count.

thats two stupid comments in one thread from you, give yourself a clap on the back!

That's why we've 150 plus in our Supporters Club alone. Good man yourself

For those of us that attended the FAI EL Fans forum in Abbotstown last Saturday, both Noel Mooney and Fran Gavin said that we should expect a 'number' of investors coming in to different clubs in the not too distant future. They're obviously strategically targeting investors and then introducing those investors to various clubs that need investment. The FAI, including John Delaney, are doing huge work on the EL behind the scenes and this has to be commended. So I wouldn't be surprised to see an investor pop up at Waterford Utd or one got for Kilkenny City in the near future either

Mortified for you
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie