Thread: why does nobody in a city of 65,000 people support limerick city?

why does nobody in a city of 65,000 people support limerick city?

in a sports mad city like limerick, why is there such a lack of support for a team of its history?
    why does it cost 45 euros for a replica jersey for limerick and 35 euros for a man u one?

You have two points here:
    1. Lack of support:
    I believe that poor PR is the reason behind this. There is very little in the way of media coverage for the team. This is mainly due to the committee lacking a PR Manager, something which they are required to have under the upcoming licencing.

2. Price of Jerseys:
    I think economics is at play here. Economies of scale dicate that the more of an item is sold, the less the cost of it's overheads, and unfortunately Man U jerseys slightly outsell Limerick jerseys.

Sure, hopefully you are coming to the games and buying jerseys. Try bringing a couple of friends to the game and hope they get hooked.

(Now to dig the old Sportsbilly books out of the attic...)
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Re: why does nobody in a city of 65,000 people support limerick city?

Originally posted by sportbilly
    why does it cost 45 euros for a replica jersey for limerick and 35 euros for a man u one?
    Forget economies of scale, new Man Yoo jersies generally cost just as much as LOI ones, are you sure you weren't looking at last seasons? Why does anybody from Limerick want a Manchester United jersey anyway more like!

As well as that a lot of outlets use Man Yoo jersies as loss leaders to attract customers.

Foot.ie!

Please tell me how to get them 35 euro Man U shirts I could re sell them for a tidy profit.

I believe the roots of the lack of support lie in the strenght of Junior soccer support and some areas of mismanagement over the last 20 years or more. the move out of the city damaged attendance. And the ''alledged'' mismanagement of a very well supported members draw put off a lot of people. The running of the club was at the discretion of one person PG who did not encourage a broad base of support.
    But there are dozens of causes which have compounded the decline, Sky sports etc a general decline in LOI and lack of cash from sponsors etc.
    The years of glory at the Markets field of the 50's and 60's are probably unattainable. But there is no logical reason why we in Limerick cannot have a viable LOI senior football team which could achieve success.
    A whole new generation of supporters who probably never heard of previous problems could be won over.
    There seems also to be a real lack of ambition in Junior soccer players in Limerick the clubs do not encourage players to go to senior level leaving us with a real fight to secure local talent. The big support teams of the past always had plenty of local heroes. This reluctance needs to be overcome
    You're ruining a grand game

Originally posted by SodacakeFC
    There seems also to be a real lack of ambition in Junior soccer players in Limerick the clubs do not encourage players to go to senior level leaving us with a real fight to secure local talent. The big support teams of the past always had plenty of local heroes. This reluctance needs to be overcome
    This is something that is crippling the emergence of local talent into LOI soccer in Limerick City.

Due to the success and good media coverage being attributed to Junior Soccer, players in Junior Soccer do not see Limerick FC as a step-up. They are quite happy to remain big fish in a small pond. Personally I think it is sad that LOI soccer has such a poor image in the city, but if local talent wish to remain "smalltime" what can you do?
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."

Originally posted by deise deserter
    but if local talent wish to remain "smalltime" what can you do?
    That's not entirely true though. Players like Ross Cosgrove (to Waterford), Paddy Purcell (originally to St.Pats) and Dennis Behan (To Cork City) have shown that Limerick players do generally want to get on, they just don't view Limerick FC as an avenue to that. Also players like Willie John Boland and John McGrath who went directly from junior football to Coventry and Aston Villa respectively. The problem lies in convincing these players that Limerick is a step up. Once the club establishes itself properly off the field and gets the stability that we've been moving towards lately hopefully that'll follow!

Unhappy

I think Willie John Boland was only 16 when he went to Coventry and that he was touted oversea's since he was about 12, LOI was never even viewed as an option. There are very few players in LOI recent history that have gone to England from LOI, in Limericks case I think Tommy Gaynor is the most successful but then he was LOI top scorer 3 times. Others who had a go are Joe Hanrahan and Tommy Lynch with not great success really.
    I think as well the slagging a player would get would be severe if he tried for Limerick and failed.

What price a Limerick city cup with Top Premier division teams and FAI junior cup winners and LCFC in a round robin tournament, I bet that would open a few eyes and draw big crowds and really get a lot of buzz in limerick.

I.E Desmond League Champs
    Premier champs
    FAI cup winner
    Limerick FC

week long Tournament one game after another 60 mins and penaltiesis it possible

It's a good idea but I think the problem with it is that we're playing summer soccer now and the junior clubs are still playing in the old system so finding dates might be a problem.

And just noticed the title of this thread... we're not called Limerick City anymore!

Smile

Maybe a one off game like the rugby charity cup

SLK "I think economics is at play here."

Jaysus, they mustn't teach too much economics up in Mary I. But that's probably just as well considering that teachers wouldn't want to know too much about economics...

Man Utd jerseys are EUR 60 - Limerick jerseys are EUR 45. When the English clubs change their jerseys they sell off the old ones - that's why the reduced jerseys are cheaper. Because all the other Man utd fans would laugh at you for wearing last seasons jersey.

The link between Limerick FC and junior clubs is an interesting one. I wonder is it similar in other cities. If a player goes up to Limerick and doesn't make it after a few months and goes back - is he looked on as a Limerick reject. Whereas if he goes to Waterford and comes back he has gained eL experience.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Originally posted by LFC in Exile
    SLK "I think economics is at play here."

Jaysus, they mustn't teach too much economics up in Mary I.
    Hey, that wasn't me at all! It was Deise Deserter!!!

Bloody Cork Economics lecturers!!!!

There are very few players in LOI recent history that have gone to England from LOI
    Colin Hawkins???

Apologies SLK - but the lack of economics in Mary I still stands i suppose.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

and

Colin Hawkins, all of carlisle united, Clive Delaney, Roy Keane, Gareth O'Connor, to name a few

Steve Staunton at a push (I know he never played for Dundalk) and Michael Reddy. Curtis Fleming as well. And the two lads Dempsey and Hunt who went to the Scottish Premier from LOI are there too. Not England I know but close enough.

Apologies SLK -
    That's ok!

but the lack of economics in Mary I still stands i suppose.
    I suppose you're right. I did do Bus.Org in me Leavin' Cert though!

Wink

Sorry Gael Carlisle doesn't really count guys have to get paid.
    Roy Keane he left nearly 20 years ago Gareth OConnor who he.

I am not being harsh but the role of honour with notable exceptions like Paul Mcgrath and Curtis Fleming and a few others who have made a living is sketchy. I suppose the gap in pay between the top of Irish soccer and the lower levels of English league is not big enough to entice our players over.

Gareth OConnor who he.
    My thoughts exactly. Who be he?