Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: The selection team

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    780 Posts

The selection team

Apologies if this is already covered in some other thread.

Delaney says the new manager will be picked by "football people", not the FAI who will ratify the decision.

Nice move by Delaney. Any criticism of the choice he can now deflect to the "football people". So who will these football people be? Brian Kerr perhaps and some Irish ex-cross channel footballer?

Any thoughts ?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

He also used the phrase "involved in professional football"

Which is basically his word for Premiership football. no way will he ask Kerr to be involved.

Pat Devlin has been retained, so you have to figure he's going to be involved. As an aside he's very friendly with Kenny Dalgliesh

Do any other F.A.'s ask for outside help in selecting a manager? You have to ask if the FAI can't choose a manager then what are they there for? I know they made a pigs ear of it the last time but the whole organisation is a laughing stock.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

the funny thing is...everyone but the FAI could see the appointment of Stan would be a car-crash
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    Do any other F.A.'s ask for outside help in selecting a manager? You have to ask if the FAI can't choose a manager then what are they there for? I know they made a pigs ear of it the last time but the whole organisation is a laughing stock.

I'm delighted they are going nowhere near the selection process...they don't have a bloody clue and at least they're kind of admitting it. The Indo were mentioning Giles' name as a possibility - I'd love it if himself and Brady were involved in finding the right man, at least you could trust their instincts and knowledge...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Giles would be a disaster. He's brilliant at analysing a game but doesn't know the names of any managers outside the EPL.

60 Posts
    Pat Devlin, holy F**k. Let me see now has he any managers on his books.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Giles would be a disaster. He's brilliant at analysing a game but doesn't know the names of any managers outside the EPL.
    True, but if there's an interview process involved at least he'd know if the guy has a decent pedigree and isn't a bluffer...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

214 Posts
    what a bunch of cowards.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

So Delaney's washing his hands of the next guy before he's even appointed.

John Giles ruled himself out of the selection panel for choosing a new Ireland manager. He said that it would compromise his media work with RTE and Newstalk and he feels that he wouldn't be able to be supportive or critical of the new manager without people claiming some sort of bias.

From interview on Newstalk this morning.
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

damned if you do damned if ye dont.

He is winning either way though, if it goes well he says well that is why we decided on the appointment of an external panel, if it goes wrong then we had nothing to do with it. I do feel sorry for him here, the 10 man committee are going to ratify and approve who actually is appointed. Its not completely outsourced.

And yes, England did the same thing last time round with external consultants reporting to a 3 man committee.

I think they are right to get football people in. It all depends on who it is now but it really is a case of damned if you do damned ifyou dont. But I suppose they deserve that response due to the way they have behaved over the years. THey have not built up credibility but at least they seem to be doing it the right way this time but we can wait and see.
    In Trap we trust

3,311 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schlooooomp View Post
    John Giles ruled himself out of the selection panel for choosing a new Ireland manager. He said that it would compromise his media work with RTE and Newstalk and he feels that he wouldn't be able to be supportive or critical of the new manager without people claiming some sort of bias.

From interview on Newstalk this morning.
    He's right too, fair play to him

Surely Stan should be included in the Selection team, as a Shining example of what we do NOT want in our new boss!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Surely Stan should be included in the Selection team, as a Shining example of what we do NOT want in our new boss!
    At the very least make a list of Stauntons various traits and characteristics and use it when judging the new man.
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

Going on whats happened in the past I can only imagine that the following people will pick the next Ireland manager:
    Bobby Robson, Pat Devlin (ah sure why not they're already on the payroll)...and a token gesture guy, so it doesn't look so pathetic.

I really hope I'm wrong, but when I hear that Devlin still has a job with the FAI what am I suppossed to believe?

214 Posts
    surely if your high up in the FAI and sit on the 10 man panel you should be a football person already? That way when big decisions like appointing a new manager comes along you can use your expertise and knowledge to appoint a new manager and thus do not have to rely on some hired hand to tell you that O'Leary and Sounness are not the right men for the job in the first place? Madness. Cowards way out. Live and die by the sword Delaney. You wanted Stan and should go when he failed.
    Last edited by shakermaker1982; 24/10/2007 at 11:27 AM.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

175 Posts
    Our only hope now is that a top class manager decides to apply for the job on his own accord.

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brine3 View Post
    Our only hope now is that a top class manager decides to apply for the job on his own accord.
    Even if that does happen, what of the chances of the FAI actually hiring them?

Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast