Thread: Nostalgia Thread

230 Posts

Nostalgia Thread

Anyone have any of these growing up?
    Led Watch
    The Raleigh Chopper Sprint GT Below. Had the gear shifter in the middle. When you went to change gears, you'd fall off and bust your ass, unless you were good like me.
    Last edited by strangeirish; 28/09/2007 at 1:31 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Speaking of busting yourself

Space Hoppers
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

And Zig and Zag of course
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

I looked in to getting a Chopper for nostalgia reasons, but they were going for about a grand, and that was five years ago.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Airfix Model kits.

Anytime I hear Dionne Warwick singing 'Heartbreaker' I get the smell of the Humbrol paint off a newly made 1:72 scale Heinkel 111 10 year old lionel was making while she was on top of the pops.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

30 Posts
    Remember Lo-Lo Balls (que the double entendres )

(and no, that's not me in the pic )

HE MAN collectables...(i had the flask n lunchbox too!!)
    Last edited by biscuit; 23/04/2008 at 5:49 PM.

505 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish View Post
    Anyone have any of these growing up?
    I had a Grifter with the gears on the handlebars and I loved it, but I really wanted a Chopper too.

I was tickled when I saw one in the Science Museum a few years ago.

38 Posts
    Did anyone here own a Barcode Battler? I never did, but remember them being heavily promoted through Crazy Prices or someone circa 1994. It was some kind of handheld games console into which you inputted info by swiping barcodes from various products.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Commodore 64 and Fat Frogs are two of my happier moments in life, I'll find pics later

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Commodore 64 and Fat Frogs are two of my happier moments in life, I'll find pics later
    what type of fat frogs

Had a chopper for a while, feckin deathtrap it was. always wanted a vectar but never got one. a guy on my street had one so i used to " borrow" it a lot! Check this out a fully working Vectar
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBrN1sLZVik
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

111 Posts
    Classic Irish kids tv like Bosco, Fortycoats and of course the mighty Wanderley Wagon.

'Classic' RTE quiz shows:
    Where In The World, Murhpy's Micro Quiz M, Rapid Roulette, Quicksilver, Know Your Sport
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

I miss my Barbie VW Beetle car. And my McDonald's drive through that Barbie fitted into. We had to leave them and loads of other toys in Canada when we moved home coz we couldnt afford to ship 3 crate loads of toys! Lucky kids who moved into our house got a basement full of top notch stuff.

I had a lo-lo-ball Ash, loved it! Loved the old Atari games console, we had a game called Circus that I just loved.

3,255 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Did anyone here own a Barcode Battler? I never did, but remember them being heavily promoted through Crazy Prices or someone circa 1994. It was some kind of handheld games console into which you inputted info by swiping barcodes from various products.
    That vaguely rings a bell alright.

Amstrad 6128. Still have it up in my room, and have an emulator on the laptop.

I'm younger than most of ye so ye were probably too old when this came out but I got this off Santa one year. Delighted

Patsi Pops!

Closest thing these days is a lidl icepop, it's close but not close enough
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    Rapid Roulette
    Please, leave the table ...

That used to drive my auld fella mad.

This thread isn't what it used to be...

We were a spectrum household, starting with the ZX and then the Spectrum Plus. Before we went all PC and ultra modern with a 286.

Evil Knievel figure and bike. Matchbox cars, and those stunt tracks you could get (fixed off the window sill, with loop the loops and that).

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    We were a spectrum household, starting with the ZX and then the Spectrum
    Plus. Before we went all PC and ultra modern with a 286.
    We also had a ZX Spectrum 48K back in the day. Because 48K is all you'd ever
    need Moved on to a Commadore Amiga, 512K with a 512K expansion,
    and then eventually up to a 386.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast