Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast

Thread: Bratislava

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    I was beside the woman in San Marino who went and took down the Chelsea flag. She was on a mobile to a pub in Dublin and they were directing her from the TV footage!!
    Fair play to her.

57 Posts
    And who says barstoolers aren't useful for something
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Fair play to her.

Why for touching another persons piece or property. If its not yours dont touch it would be my view.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Why for touching another persons piece or property. If its not yours dont touch it would be my view.
    Well done Neil...you've passed another test....fidelity is very important!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Is correct.

It doesnt belong at an Ireland game. The fact that there has been two different efforts to take it down is telling.

And no I wasnt involved in either.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Talking of trains, I heard that on the famous 1225 from Bratislava to Prague on the Monday that a young 'Irish gentleman' told a nun to move from the seat he had reserved. Also heard about a group of 10 or 12 comprising of some Dublin postmen and some young Wexford lads in the same carriage who gave a local woman a terrible hard time by constantly swearing and using abusive language when she asked them to stop smoking in the carriage. Although I was on that train I didn't see these myself or don't know if these are true or just stories that have grown legs, but I would not be surprised it they were true.
    Ya them Wexford lads were right knobs. They were literally 5 metres away from the smoking part of the carriage but just puffed like chimneys in the non-smoking part just to be arseholes. And I for one was rightly ****ed off with them, seeing that there was absolutely no air on the freakin train (no windows) and the smoke going around in circles above my head eventually gave me a headache ( me being a non-smoker). And I really don't mind them having the craic but be considerate to others when doing it.
    But they were young and hopefully they'll grow up and cop on.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

awaythelads

The next train

We managed to claim our booked seats in the 1st class carriage after requesting some very reluctant well dressed Germans to move. We got off in Bruno, spent the afternoon there, then took the next train to Prague. It was empty and we had a choice of seats! Much more civilised than the noon nightmare.
    Seems like a lifetime ago now ...

Green Tribe's Birthday

Thought about starting a new thread for this but decided against it

Today, 28th September is Green Tribe's 29th birthday.

Happy Birthday
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Happy Birthday

Today, 28th September is Green Tribe's 29th birthday. :

Happy Birthday. Are you really 29 ( I thought you were more.)

Quote Originally Posted by awaythelads View Post
    We managed to claim our booked seats in the 1st class carriage after requesting some very reluctant well dressed Germans to move. We got off in Bruno, spent the afternoon there, then took the next train to Prague. It was empty and we had a choice of seats! Much more civilised than the noon nightmare.
    Seems like a lifetime ago now ...
    Ya I saw a few Irish lads getting off there.

Looked like an absolute kip though!
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Jesus you would be busy at a match if you were to go around challenging everybody so !!!!!
    Who said anything about challenging everybody? I've never had a harsh word with anyone about defacing our flag, I take a view (which also happen to be in line with government guidelines) and don't seek to impose it on anyone else. Its for each individual to decide there are no statutory obligations. I do find it ironic though that guys object to certain things on our flag and not others.

"17 The National Flag should never be
    defaced by placing slogans, logos, lettering
    or pictures of any kind on it, for example
    at sporting events."
    Last edited by Cowboy; 28/09/2007 at 5:17 PM.

awaythelads
    Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    Ya I saw a few Irish lads getting off there.

Looked like an absolute kip though!
    No! The area around the station was rough, but the town centre was really decent. http://www.awaythelads.com/CzechAway...576%20Brno.htm
    They even had a wine festival on, and we thought it polite to sample a few decent wines. http://www.awaythelads.com/CzechAway...20Festival.htm
    Brno is much smaller than Prague, but there were no busloads of tourists. I'd go back again. Nothing to do with the nice young ladies and very cheap excellent beer ...

Awww I was just having a laugh. I was trying to point out the stupidty of the people who do challenge people for things they dont like at Ireland matches. Sorry if that did not come across.
    In Trap we trust

Awww I was just having a laugh. I was trying to point out the stupidty of the people who do challenge people for things they dont like at Ireland matches. Sorry if that did not come across.

No problem, I agree with you it is a fruitless practice.

The young knobs smoking in the non smoking section of the train which had no windows open should have been shopped to the local fuzz. A few hours in a Czech prison might have sorted them out

it was also older postal guys who should be old enough to know better. I was at the other end of the carriage and me some young guys from Clare who were the complete opposite, great crew.
    Last edited by Cowboy; 29/09/2007 at 12:06 PM.

It doesnt belong at an Ireland game. The fact that there has been two different efforts to take it down is telling.

And no I wasnt involved in either.

I thought it was an Ireland flag ??

The fact that there has been two different efforts to take it down is telling.
    I agree its telling on the two people who tried to take it down

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast