Results 3,121 to 3,140 of 5144

Thread: James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I reckon McGeady will withdraw from the senior squad and McCarthy will be called up as central midfield cover, with Fahey & Lawrence being promoted up the wide-midfield roster. McGeady never had any chance of making it and this is Trap's way of giving McCarthy the Robert de Niro fingers-to-eyes gesture, while still having him in the senior squad.

How's that for scheming?
    I think this is likely to happen but one way or another he would want to show for either the U21s or the senior if called up.

Like in fairness, James is a great prospect, yes. But really is no more than that at the moment. I really want to see him do well and progress but hes hardly of such a talent right now (i.e. Roy Keane) that he would deserve special attention. Ive seen him play a few times and yes he looks good. But I havent seen anything to say he is going to be a world class player, not yet anyways. He is young and hopefully will progress, but he also needs to show respect to playing for Ireland, as do the certain others who have rather suspectly cried off in recent times.

It's funny that only a few months ago people were hammering Trap for not calling him up senior squads when he'd already withdrawn from the U21s. How times change.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    It's funny that only a few months ago people were hammering Trap for not calling him up senior squads when he'd already withdrawn from the U21s. How times change.
    The only thing that has changed for me is McCarthy's form in that time. He has been very poor in the last 6 mths and doesn't merit a place in the team for me. If he was presently in good form, I'd be back to hammering Trap for being so petulant!!

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    The mistake ye are all making is this. Ye seem to think McCarthy is bothered. I genuinely think he is on a self destruction mission. I think he has no interest in playing for Trap and is probably only too delighted to be dropped. I'd say he really couldnt care less.
    He's played for Trap on three occasions. If he had no interest in playing for us, why would he have bothered?

3,334 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    The mistake ye are all making is this. Ye seem to think McCarthy is bothered. I genuinely think he is on a self destruction mission. I think he has no interest in playing for Trap and is probably only too delighted to be dropped. I'd say he really couldnt care less.
    If he couldn't care less, he wouldn't have declared in the first place.

2,712 Posts
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2...chester-united

With Darron Gibson injured, that's surely McCarthy's call up. The slap on the wrist has been given.

622 Posts
    He has to be called up now. There is a very real possibility Whelan will get a booking on Friday, which would mean a suspension.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

386 Posts
    Dropped for today's game V QPR. No surprises there

Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Dropped for today's game V QPR. No surprises there
    Is he on the bench? If he's not it means he's injured as was reported during the week. Expect the customary withdrawl if so.
    I have a head only Snow White would love

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    Is he on the bench? If he's not it means he's injured as was reported during the week. Expect the customary withdrawl if so.
    Ya he's on the bench alrite. Still no subs on

209 Posts
    I hope he turns up for the U21s, but I'm not sure where he'll fit in exactly, especially considering that he hasn't featured in any of the warm up games.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Ya he's on the bench alrite. Still no subs on
    Yip, just saw that, forgot it was an early kick off. Well he was obviously fit. The ball is firmly in his court now to show intent and show up for the match or if he's called up to the senior squad to do likewise.

No excuses now.

Enda Brady reporting that James McCarhty has indeed joined up with the Irish u21's this morning.
    Carrick United:
    Munster Junior Cup Champions 04,10 & 15, Munster Senior Cup Champions 2011, FAI Juinor Cup Champions 2008
    12 x Waterford Premier League Champions

366 Posts
    McCarthy has no issue with manager

“There was just a mix up. I was injured in the last game of the Premier League season and that was why I didn’t come across. Things may have been said in the paper but quotes can be taken out of context, too. I’ve no issue with anyone. I love playing for Ireland. And I’m happy to be here with the under-21s. I want to win as many caps as I can for the under-21s and seniors. It is my ambition to do as well as I can.”

403 Posts
    So it's cleared up again. Until something happens in the next 8 days to make it muddled of course.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

3,334 Posts
    McCarthy dismisses talk of Trap rift ahead of U-21 qualifier campaign: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2860659.html

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    McCarthy dismisses talk of Trap rift ahead of U-21 qualifier campaign: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2860659.html
    Sometimes I wonder do the media in this country just want to create trouble in the Irish camp. Headline on the sports news on today fm this morning, Trap warns Irish players about going drinking and breaking curfew. Now if you actually read the quotes what he said was he has no problem with lads having a few beers a good few days before the match once it is done within their rules. And he was responding to a journo's question - not like Trap started the conversation and was sending out a "warning" to the players.

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Sometimes I wonder do the media in this country just want to create trouble in the Irish camp. Headline on the sports news on today fm this morning, Trap warns Irish players about going drinking and breaking curfew. Now if you actually read the quotes what he said was he has no problem with lads having a few beers a good few days before the match once it is done within their rules. And he was responding to a journo's question - not like Trap started the conversation and was sending out a "warning" to the players.
    Not so, according to 2 papers.

Irish Times:
    Trapattoni initially brought up the players’ behaviour without any prompting but the topic was revisited several times over the course of his first press conference of the week, in part because there seems to be little at this stage to be concerned about on the fitness front.

Examiner:
    But, rather more unexpected, since he volunteered the information himself, was the revelation that the manager had called a meeting of the players before the recent friendly against Croatia in which he asked them to be more responsible about their drinking habits.

Eh................"The young Scot".......you have to love the Indo

579 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    Eh................"The young Scot".......you have to love the Indo
    Well he is. i mean it doesn't make him less Irish. Aldridge is a Liverpudlian but still wouldn't debate his pride in playing for Ireland. These players are really dual nationality.

Just watch Townsend commentating on an England game ...the word 'we' is use a lot
    Folding my way into the big money!!!