Thread: Hancock

Hancock

Disgrace tonight. Overall, he made a lot of bad calls, pretty indiscriminately against both teams, but we had more possession so I think it just showed more on us.
    However, the goal has to rank up there with some of the ludicrous decisions last year. He called a free for a nothing challenge - called a Cork player over, then allowed derry to take the quick free. never mind that nobody had their eyes on the ball, not least the linesman, who didnt spot farren - apparently, as i was also watching what the ref would say, rather than even acknowledging he might leave the play go, apparently offside.

After stokes in our last home game I was hoping we might have a little bit less of a clown in black. Hancock however, was back to his 1999 'best'.

In this day and age, can our league do without professional referees? A lot of them cant even keep up with the fitter players of today.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

RRS

watched the match.. fairly awful ref allright. many many yellow cards.
    Question tho... is it a sponsors joke to make them have "feel the difference" written across their ar$eholes? - if so - hillarious
    didnt know mates would have an interest in the ol' EL

43 Posts
    Nothing challenge? Definite free kick. You weren't complaining about Hancock in the semi final game a few years ago at the cross when he gave a penalty in injury time for a challenge that you would deem as a nothing one by Stephen O Flynn. The only query you could have on the goal is that the ball may have been moving when McGlynn took the free kick. Anyhow, isn't the onus on your defence to keep their concentration at all times? Not Hancocks fault that dozy Dan switched off and let the quickest striker in the league get free on goal
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

It wasn't offside at all.
    The ball was rolling but thats always let go anyway.
    Ken Oman is a knacker and i'd have had no objections if some yob stumbled on to the pitch and decked him.
    What was Greg O'Halloran doing at half-time?
    City lacking the goalscoring edge again but i like the line-up that started last night. Optimistic for the future.
    As for the linesman. Couldn't keep up with the game at all and when he did, missed incidents right in front of him.
    I think refereeing standards might be going backwards again.
    Last edited by Risteard; 02/06/2007 at 11:11 AM.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

That linesman in front of us was ****e, the only time he was up to speed was at free kicks.

Neil Doyle from Dublin was a joke at the Waterford United v UCD game tonight.I wouldn't argue over the two penalties but he disallowed a goal by us when we were 2-1 down for no obvious reason.If anything it was a foul by the UCD defender who was all over Harte's back.Then he allowed the UCD keeper catch the ball well outside his box

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by trevy View Post
    Neil Doyle from Dublin was a joke at the Waterford United v UCD game tonight.I wouldn't argue over the two penalties but he disallowed a goal by us when we were 2-1 down for no obvious reason.If anything it was a foul by the UCD defender who was all over Harte's back.Then he allowed the UCD keeper catch the ball well outside his box
    Harte jumped into the defender's back when jumping for the header. It was a blatant foul. Do you think the ref made a mistake about the keeper catching the ball? The ref was 2 yards away directly in line with the edge of the box. The ball was clearly on the line.

Now I know a lot of these accusations against the ref are warranted but when refs get the dog's abuse that they do it's no wonder very few people want to become one. It's a waste of there time. Would you want to be running around for ninety minutes a week and getting abuse from fans and players anytime you make a decision, whether it's wrong or not?

They made not be right all the time but that's all we've got. The only other solution would be busing them in from another country. As for professional referees, let's focus on having a fully professional league first.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Harte jumped into the defender's back when jumping for the header. It was a blatant foul. Do you think the ref made a mistake about the keeper catching the ball? The ref was 2 yards away directly in line with the edge of the box. The ball was clearly on the line.
    u must be joking me!! the defender was all over Harte,no way was it a free out, bloody joke of a ref. The keepers feet were meters outside the area so i'd love to know how he kept his arms and the ball inside??
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    u must be joking me!! the defender was all over Harte,no way was it a free out, bloody joke of a ref. The keepers feet were meters outside the area so i'd love to know how he kept his arms and the ball inside??
    Harte clearly jumped into McNally as he jumped for the ball.

Gregg clearly held the ball inside the box despite standing outside. Try stretching your arms out and see how they are a yard away from your feet.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Harte clearly jumped into McNally as he jumped for the ball.

Gregg clearly held the ball inside the box despite standing outside. Try stretching your arms out and see how they are a yard away from your feet.
    Were u watchin it?? Harte didnt jump anywhere!
    Are Gregg's arms 2 meters long??
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

537 Posts
    hancock has never being a favourite of the town support. we have our own chant in honour of him:

theres only one **** in hancock! one **** in hancock! theres only **** in hancock!

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    Were u watchin it?? Harte didnt jump anywhere!
    Are Gregg's arms 2 meters long??
    So he headed the ball without jumping? He's a midget- no way he could have done that, or outjumped McNally for that matter. The push was obvious- get over it.

Gregg clearly kept the ball inside the box. The ref was 2 yards away from it directly in line.

You lost- get over it. You're just embarrasing yourself at this stage.

The referees in this league are by and large absolutely terrible to that there is no doubt. But in my opinion they are no where near the poor standard of linesmen in this league. Very few if any can keep up with the play. Its hilarious because if you didnt laugh you would cry at the amount of times they will flag offside just because they cant keep up with the defensive line. A certain goal was averted a couple of weeks ago for us v derry cos the linesman flagged off when mooney was at the least 5 yards on. As wella as that the referee cant see everything which means the linesmen should be calling more penalty decisions. Alot of the time the refs get the flack for a few dodgy line decisions as well which is unfair.
    Last edited by Sonic; 03/06/2007 at 6:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    It wasn't offside at all.
    I think refereeing standards might be going backwards again.
    I disagree with that, surely standards have to go forwards to be able go back?
    Football is life. The rest is mere detail...

No, ten years ago i remember seeing consistently poor refereeing decisions and I thought then that it would pay to be a sneaky cheating team or a filthy team.
    Credit where its due, Its been nothing like that before this season for the past four years.

I honestly thought we were being well served apart from Ian Stokes who regularly gets it wrong, ruins the flow of every game and seems determined to bring attention to himself.
    He's undoubtedly a poor official and i suspect most fans would agree.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Lads, i think we all know at this stage that Hancock is brutal. Its a given at this stage. Just expect it an get on with it is the best thing to do, its not like anyone can do anything about it .... they dont have to answer to anyone so its not going to change .... ever.

Try drop down a division and see the refs there,they make Hancock look like Collina

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    they make Hancock look like Collina
    How hairy can they be?