Thread: de la hoya v mayweather

de la hoya v mayweather

anyone looking forward to this? a lot of media hype, but have to say its a fight im looking forward to. cant see mayweather ever fighting calzaghe at this stage though. hope it goes the full distance.

its on sky sports one isnt it, not ppv?

3,314 Posts
    Definitely not on PPV, despite being one of the biggest buys ever in the States.

214 Posts
    massive fight and cannot wait for it. I'm rooting for ODH but Mayweather is a special fighter at his peak. Hopefully ODH can bully him and catch him with the left hook but Floyd jnr is not easy to pin down.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Really looking forward to it. 2 Genuinely class fighters. You have to have massive respect for De la Hoya continuing to be a world class fighter after the amount of world titles he's won.

I'm hoping he wins but head says Mayweather in 10

2 Genuinely class fighters.You have to have massive respect for De la Hoya continuing to be a world class fighter after the amount of world titles he's won.

hmmm, not so sure on that dodge my good friend. Certainly one class fighter, but de la hoya has lost twice to his trainer, whilst the second time he was trying to regain the title to mosley and stopped by hopkins. whatever about trinidad the others were loses that a real legend wouldnt have lost, especially being stopped by one. Having said that should still be a great fight.

shows how media and promoters spin things though, i mean mosley must feel hard done by.

He's beaten genuinely great fighers like Chavez, Gatti, Vargas and Felix Sturm. Even the likes of Ike Quartey and Castillejo were highly touoted before he beat them. He was never going to beat Hopkins at middleweight so I say fair play to him for even attempting it.

And yeah Sugar Shane is class too. Doesn't dilute de la Hoyas' achievements IMO. I can't remember him ever dodging a fight

Anyone stay up? I'm glad I did. Not a classic fight, just an excellent 12 rounds of boxing. I had de la Hoya winning 115-113 but it was certainly close. De la Hoya's class after the fight was astonishing. What a gent!

214 Posts
    I had it a draw, I stayed up and then managed to get some kip before I went to a boxing show today. Just back and am knackered!

I cannot believe the 116-112 score. It wasn't the greatest of fights but still absorbing and it flew by if I'm honest.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Anyone stay up? I'm glad I did. Not a classic fight, just an excellent 12 rounds of boxing. I had de la Hoya winning 115-113 but it was certainly close. De la Hoya's class after the fight was astonishing. What a gent!
    Dodge, did you not think that Floyd won the last four, De la Hoya's legs had gone by that stage and Floyd shots were still as crisp as ever. A good and enthralling match but not a great bout to be honest

Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock View Post
    Dodge, did you not think that Floyd won the last four, De la Hoya's legs had gone by that stage and Floyd shots were still as crisp as ever. A good and enthralling match but not a great bout to be honest
    Last 3 certainly. Probably the last 4 (can't honestly remember now, Just think de la Hoya won all the early rouns (bar one))

neither of them "went" for it, well mayweather never does, thats why he is begining to lose a bit of his popularity stateside. Good fight, but not a classic, these lads are some athletes though, i mean htey probably could have gone another 6 if they had too, mayweather especially. I was thinking after the 6th round though, it had re-match written all over it. Txtd one of the lads at home and told him so, also round the 4th i txtd him to say it would go the distance but i thought de la hoya would win for punches landed, but in the last 4 mayweather realised he had to come out and start actually fighting rather than dancing or he would not win it. which he did and has to be commended for.

Looking forward to the eventual re-match

Fell asleep and woke up in the middle of the 7th, I had Mayweather a comfortable winner but I rewatched it on Sunday and it was pretty close, still think it jas just about the right decision though.
    De La Hoya was a perfect gent and a great advert for boxing at the end, Mayweather is an arrogant tw@t but the boy can box.

Good fight...not a great fight, and there definitely won't be any re-match. De La Hoya in my book was just happy he put up a good show, wasn't disgraced and got an amazing purse for Golden Boy promotions.

Mayweather had at least three more gears in him if necessary and was easily the better fighter. How it was a split decision amazes me. For me, De La Hoya won rounds 2, 3 ,4, with mayweather wimming the first, the last 4 easily and the rest drawn. It must also be remembered that Mayweather as far from his ideal boxing weight, and that was a very significant factor.

It was a good advert for boxing and De La Hoya's grace and composure earned him a lot of new fans i'm sure, but how easy must it be to be so graceful and composed when you've just made as much money as he has.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 08/05/2007 at 12:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Txtd one of the lads at home and told him so, also round the 4th i txtd him to say it would go the distance but i thought de la hoya would win for punches landed,
    Pro boxing is totally scored differently to amateur boxing and is not determined solely on punches landed. The judges look at effectiveness of the punch, defensive quality and durability.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 08/05/2007 at 12:19 PM.

They also don't like to give draws for rounds as you did above. If its a draw the aggressor usually gets the round (rightly IMO)

Pro boxing is totally scored differently to amateur boxing and is not determined solely on punches landed. The judges look at effectiveness of the punch, defensive quality and durability.
    no i know that, but a lot of it is still on a ratio of punches landed to punches thrown especially in a drawn round ( personally think this is more an american thing that anything else, indirectly its a good indicator of who has done the more "boxing".

164 Posts
    I stayed up for it (I'm skint and it was the only thing that kept me away from pubs this weekend). It was a pity that De La Hoya ran out of steam later on. I had it level after the 9th with Mayweather winning the last three for 116-113. A lot of the middle rounds were close. I think the main difference I had with Jim Watt's scoring was that he gave the 7th (I think) to Oscar where I went the other way. A very entertaining fight, if not a classic.

I had hoped for a De La Hoya win as the most likely way to prolong both of their careers. Oscar's recent record looks very poor on the bare facts. I wondered in the build-up was he more interested in selling the fight than in winning it. I have a feeling the novelty of "spending time with my children" will wear off pretty soon for Pretty Boy. He'll be back if/when the right offer is made.

do ye reckon mayweather will go up another division then? would love to see it.that would be some record. has he set the record for fighting in most divisions? its 6 isnt it?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    do ye reckon mayweather will go up another division then? would love to see it.that would be some record. has he set the record for fighting in most divisions? its 6 isnt it?
    de la Hoya has won titles at 6 divisions. Mayweather won't go up for a few years yet. He's only fought 3/4 times at Super Welter

164 Posts
    Whatever weight they could agree to fight at, it wouldn't be beyond the realms of possibility that he could be matched with Winky Wright, Jermain Taylor, maybe Shane Mosley or even Hatton. Mayweather v Wright would definitely be huge money.