Thread: Pats tonight - Setanta Cup

Pats tonight - Setanta Cup

I reckon we'd be lucky with a point if the same team as the RSC starts.

Assuming Healy and Farrelly won't be cleared, a fit JOF would do the job.
    Even for the 12 minutes the other night he ignited our attacking play.
    Kelly should start again.
    Should be a good match anyway and am v. excited about heading out to the Cross.
    Season starts here.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Season starts here.
    Dead right, cant wait for it now.

See yis down there

I don't think O'Flynn will start as I predict he will be eased back into full games. Billy Woods could start on right side of midfield.

Pats are poor travellers outside the pale & City have strong home record to get us through.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Pats are poor travellers outside the pale & City have strong home record to get us through.
    last two Cork Pats games in Turners Cross. Cork 0 Pats 1. Cork 0 Pats 0.

And we were **** then...

Can't see us winning this.
    0-0 or 0-1

Paddy Power will give you 15/2 on it being a draw in the first half and Pats winning the game.
    Last edited by Peadar; 12/03/2007 at 10:29 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    0-0 or 0-1
    Feck off with your reverse psychology. Where's the real Peadar?

Quote Originally Posted by wws View Post
    0-0 or 1-0 to Cork
    agreed

Apparently Kearney is very doubtful.....suspected broken ankle

We could be in trouble tonight

So Kearney is doubtful?
    As Osam would say, Pats have the Indian Sign over us now.

two nil tonight disaster of a result .i knew pats were stronger this year but didnt think they would do us at the cross tonight. disaster of a result

2-1 now jof just scored i posted too soon

Finished 1-3

Very poor result for us. Fair play to Pats though, they had a good team two years ago, even if they were fighting with each other on the pitch. They have picked up handy players and look to be a force this year.

Bohs came down i think second home game of the season last year and looked good aswell but the difference is Pats were putting them away.

144 Posts
    2 super strikes from Pats, City wasted some awful chances, Roy and Kearney were the main culprits, Joffy came on and showed them how its done.
    Just saw the "penalty" incident again on telly and Joe took Ndo outside the box, harsh but thats football.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

The advantage of the Setanta Cup is you afford to lose games. I would be much more disappointed if it was the league.

Yeah, 1 loss in a 6 game group is less damaging than one in a 33 game season

After last nights performance you can forget about any notion of winning league

Being new to the Setanta Sports Cup and only there by default, I'll excuse the ignorance of that post.
    When you're playing the two weakest teams from NI, you can afford to lose to your eLoI counterpart and still progress to the next phase. You'll learn that, if someone else gets kicked out of the Cup next season.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Yeah, 1 loss in a 6 game group is less damaging than one in a 33 game season
    Because finishing in the top half of the league can land you the title.

The Patzelona flag yours?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

[QUOTE=Dodge;642942]Yeah, 1 loss in a 6 game group is less damaging than one in a 33 game season
    Yes. Examples:
    - Last season 1 extra win in the league would have got you into top half of the Premier division table.
    - Drogs lost twice in the Setanta Cup group stage to us last season but still won the final.

We will probably still qualify from group but home tie possibly beyond us.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    After last nights performance you can forget about any notion of winning league
    While I was disappointed by the loss I also expected Pats to be better. Of your new signings Gary O'Neill can get ye 15+ goals & Kirby is ok but Ndo was anonymous for 90% of the game. IMO City will definitely finish in the top 4, Pats will do well to improve from 7th to 4th place in 1 season.