Page 331 of 406 FirstFirst ... 231281321329330331332333341381 ... LastLast
Results 6,601 to 6,620 of 8116

Thread: Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Bizarre article. He seems to be arguing in circles with himself. "the grounds are in bits but clubs will lose their souls without their current set-ups but the grounds are in bits but....."

178 Posts
    So the Sligo Rovers CEO just won a car in the Finn Harps mega draw.
    #greatestleagueintheworld
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

27 Posts
    Good man Colin, fancy doing another draw? I’ll give you a tenner...

348 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    So the Sligo Rovers CEO just won a car in the Finn Harps mega draw.
    #greatestleagueintheworld
    Got a good laugh outa that,fair play to him!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

44 Posts
    Who won the Quarter Of Coal, I was dying to win that. Jokes aside, Harps lads supported us in our hour of Need, hope yiz made a few bob

876 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Got a good laugh outa that,fair play to him!
    I needed that car so boooooo!

409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    I am not to sure about this piece , but I don't see it linked anywhere, so here it is. Quote about the Showgrounds 'The ground has three stands; all of which are quite dilapidated and seemingly outdated.'

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021...-loi-stadiums/
    I struggle to see how this passes off as a bit of journalism. We all know that the stadiums in the LOI aren't good enough (though I think he's been very harsh on the Sligo Showgrounds). But it's hard to work out whether this piece is for or against changing that - as he is obsessed with stadiums having soul, being receptacles for memories and not modernising.

57 Posts
    I saw the kid that wrote this on social media the other day. He posted a link of his article and said how grateful he is that RTE published it. Something along those lines. I'd say he's a secondary school student who has a relative working in RTE, that's basically how the rest of them get jobs there.
    The section behind the goals in the showgrounds is only a few years old. How is it dilapidated ffs? He'll fit right in to that newsroom after his leaving cert anyway

2,346 Posts
    Never mind the new stand in the Showgrounds. The main stand is a great facility too. It's only the gantry side/away side that's any way dilapidated. Most clubs would love to have what Sligo have there.

876 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bucket View Post
    I saw the kid that wrote this on social media the other day. He posted a link of his article and said how grateful he is that RTE published it. Something along those lines. I'd say he's a secondary school student who has a relative working in RTE, that's basically how the rest of them get jobs there.
    The section behind the goals in the showgrounds is only a few years old. How is it dilapidated ffs? He'll fit right in to that newsroom after his leaving cert anyway
    Im glad you mentioned this as I was thinking that I had been in the showgrounds just before the seating was installed in the main stand so how could it be seen as bad as its not eons ago and if it was considered dilapidated then so should I be!

538 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Never mind the new stand in the Showgrounds. The main stand is a great facility too. It's only the gantry side/away side that's any way dilapidated. Most clubs would love to have what Sligo have there.
    I havent being in Showgrounds since 2015 I reckon but I always found it one of the most welcoming grounds in the country with superb facilities. Yeah strange article. I can understand Dundalk and Harps but not Sligo Rovers.

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    I am not to sure about this piece , but I don't see it linked anywhere, so here it is. Quote about the Showgrounds 'The ground has three stands; all of which are quite dilapidated and seemingly outdated.'

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021...-loi-stadiums/
    Written by a 15 year old Watford Fan 🤔

1,081 Posts
    Surely United Park is a more legitimate target for criticism than the Showgrounds? Though I actually like the nostalgic feel of being on the away terrace in Drogheda.

57 Posts
    Hard to beat a covered terrace. It's such a pity that UEFA insist on all-seaters.

Any Sligo fans have more information about that feasibility study on rebuilding the Showgrounds that was mentioned in the article?

900 Posts
    While I'd usually nod in agreement at the perception of nepotism being rife in RTE (even though I know several people working/previously worked there who didn't have relations to get them in the door) in this case he's a 15-year old living in London who doesn't work for RTE but has also had material published in FourFourTwo. Which is impressive - I thought the article was more in line with a third-level student/graduate. Desk-based research rather than field work, but I'll forgive him that much. His LinkedIn is out there for anybody interested, but I'm chary of posting a link to a minor's page.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Surely United Park is a more legitimate target for criticism than the Showgrounds? Though I actually like the nostalgic feel of being on the away terrace in Drogheda.
    Favourite terrace in the league

178 Posts

Any Sligo fans have more information about that feasibility study on rebuilding the Showgrounds that was mentioned in the article?
    The Showgrounds is over 13 acres, I doubt any other club has that size of land holding at their disposal and its 100 percent owned by the club/ fans. It is used every day at the moment for training, camps, public car park, outdoor museum, etc. and the clubhouse even hosted a polling station in recent EU elections. That said it needs to be developed and utilised better because everything it generates go straight back into Rovers coffers. Plus the ground needs to be improved for match day experience and for the day to day facilities to run the club.

The Masterplan will be complete early summer and will be very detailed.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

57 Posts
    Thanks, didn't know the site was that big, a fantastic asset to own.

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    The Showgrounds is over 13 acres, I doubt any other club has that size of land holding at their disposal and its 100 percent owned by the club/ fans. It is used every day at the moment for training, camps, public car park, outdoor museum, etc. and the clubhouse even hosted a polling station in recent EU elections. That said it needs to be developed and utilised better because everything it generates go straight back into Rovers coffers. Plus the ground needs to be improved for match day experience and for the day to day facilities to run the club.

The Masterplan will be complete early summer and will be very detailed.
    I'd say LTFC would own a similar amount of land around the ground too.

2,346 Posts
    There's probably more between Harps new stadium and the adjacent training facilities. It's what all clubs should strive for though. Sligo have set the blueprints.