Results 3,981 to 4,000 of 4563

Thread: Aiden McGeady M Ayr Utd b.1986

2,694 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    It's also clear that Scotland's lack of competitiveness helped in Aiden's decision...

He clearly says...a lack of competitiveness contributed to his decision to declare
    It's not clear at all, not from his quotes above! From that quote I'd say Scotland's lack of competitiveness vindicated his decision rather than influenced it. That's what the Euros reference was about. No regrets...

He didn't even say above that it was Scotland's ambivalance that made up his mind, whereas you say he clearly says it. Maybe he said all this in the past, I don't know.

He said the story is well known. That story, as far as I can remember, is indeed Scotland's ambivalence, I think at Schoolboy level. But that's not the point: I get narked at your occasional sophism. Whether it's intended or not in this instance I don't know but you do tend to muddle clarity and ambiguity quite a bit, and always towards the slant " it's clear he's a mercenary".

I hope you and Paul see that as a fair point, not a baying mob.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aiden McGeady
    It will be strange playing against Scotland at Celtic Park with a lot of the stadium probably booing you
    Slightly presumptuous that he'll be selected. Hopefully he'll be flying at Everton by then.

517 Posts
    http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/ai...-30090216.html

"This league is crying out for intelligent wingers like him. He is an out and out winger who can control his space, take people on and find space. He's exciting in one-versus-one situations with a very unpredictable quality," said Martinez. "That's the type of player you need in this league to exploit spaces in the wide areas and in transition periods.

"I actually think we've been fortunate to have him before the end of the season," he said. "It took a little while to get his fitness levels and physicality ready but now he's ready and I think we'll see the best of him over the next eight weeks.

2,694 Posts
    Hopefully.

Anyway, you've dodged the issue of McGeady not being clear about what you were clear he was clear about

517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Hopefully.

Anyway, you've dodged the issue of McGeady not being clear about what you were clear he was clear about
    My apologies if I am too abrasive and assertive in my opinion, Stutts. At the end of the day I am just a fan. It is wrong for me to make assumptions on behalf of other people.

2,694 Posts
    I actually don't find your style abrasive or overly assertive per se. It's the spurious making clarity from ambiguity, the above being a good example. It's only on occasion and it's no big deal in itself. Paul's the one who's really narking me today! I find your opinions interesting and based on good knowledge but on occasion you draw firm conclusions from flimsy evidence and when this gets pointed out you either persist with the argument or ignore it.

We all wish we had great domestically produced players to choose from and that any non-Irish born players can recite the Proclamation of Independence backwards, but life's not that simple. Some players are obvious p1ss takes, others like McGeady aren't. When you say he clearly said something he clearly didn't say, well, I'll point it out.

If I may speak on behalf of Tets, I don't think he was accusing you of attacking the poster, he was just rattling off one of the obvious forum rules. One of those unwritten rules, in my opinion, is respecting a fair line of argument even if you don't agree with it. I think at times you have used a disingenuous line of argument or failed to respect fair criticism of your argument. Paul thinks I should get a life for letting that irk me, but so be it.

Keep on posting, don't be afraid to post unpopular opinions and ignore Geysir's more pointed remarks, but keep your supporting arguments "honest" (for want of a better word).

Anyway, I apologise for letting this topic dominate my posts in recent days. This is about the last place left on the planet to have a proper yap about Irish football, let's keep it alive with good debate.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 13/03/2014 at 5:51 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    This is about the last place left on the planet to have a proper yap about Irish football, let's keep it alive with good debate.
    I've heard good things about YBIG. Apparently the lads at away matches are mad into it.

2,694 Posts
    They must know their stuff and always be right.

No just know that mostly on here ye are wrong :P

672 Posts
    Away matches are for schmucks. Sure how are you supposed to know what happened if you can't hear the RTE panel tell you?
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

2,694 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Away matches are for schmucks. Sure how are you supposed to know what happened if you can't hear the RTE panel tell you?
    The next post on this topic is exclusively reserved for Owls Fan....

1,813 Posts
    Now that I'm somewhat settled in this snowy wasteland; wasn't Aiden's mind made up loooooong ago...

Go to 1min 22sec
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 14/03/2014 at 2:25 AM.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

1,914 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Now that I'm somewhat settled in this snowy wasteland; wasn't Aiden's mind made up loooooong ago...

Go to 1min 22sec
    Why let first hand evidence obscure a revision of McGeady's thoughts on the matter?
    Surely that cannot beat going into hidden areas of McGeady's mind and be guided by what we imagine him to be thinking at any given moment in time, re his irish nationality?

Commiserations Bonnie on Ottawa, either you're in search of true love or missed the transportation boat to Van Diemen's Land.

517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Why let first hand evidence obscure a revision of McGeady's thoughts on the matter?
    Surely that cannot beat going into hidden areas of McGeady's mind and be guided by what we imagine him to be thinking at any given moment in time, re his irish nationality?

Commiserations Bonnie on Ottawa, either you're in search of true love or missed the transportation boat to Van Diemen's Land.
    Did I ever make assumptions about McGeady's cultural identity? I merely said that Ireland's speed in capping him at underage level and Scotland's reticence in including him in underage age groups factored in his decision.

But you keep making things up as you go along and going for the narky soundbites anyways, geysir.

Calling me fraudulent and throwing around accusatory nonsense again..
    Last edited by TheOneWhoKnocks; 14/03/2014 at 11:51 AM.

2,633 Posts
    You will grow to love Geysir. He will grow to tolerate you.

Mirallas is out for the rest of the season with a torn muscle. McEddie's chance to establish himself in the team, although Deolofeu is probably still ahead of him.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Mirallas is out for the rest of the season with a torn muscle. McEddie's chance to establish himself in the team, although Deolofeu is probably still ahead of him.
    You mean Макгиди surely?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Cd he is building his fitness would ye stop.

As you and geysir said he will more than hold his own and do well under martinez.

Patience, let him build up his fitness.

517 Posts
    He was on fire. Pity.

2,694 Posts
    Came on late for Everton v City today. Flashes of real class and one moment of total carelessness.