Thread: Coleraine buyout

Coleraine buyout

Thought this was a good news story to bring attention to.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...sh/5032612.stm

Fair play to them, hopefully they will suceed

Will the be known as the FOC-ers?!
    Who Cares?!

Great to see fans of any team taking control of their club's future.

Good luck to them...

Don't agree with you Steve. Hope Coleraine crash and burn as a football club. They knew that them abstaining in the decisive vote in the 70s would probably lead to us ending. We came back, pity they did.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Don't agree with you Steve. Hope Coleraine crash and burn as a football club. They knew that them abstaining in the decisive vote in the 70s would probably lead to us ending. We came back, pity they did.
    I used to be bitter towards Coleraine over that as well Speranza. Whilst they will always be one of the IL teams I like least, I'm not bitter on this issue any more because :

1) It was over 30 years ago.
    2) The people involved with Coleraine now had nothing to do with that decision. The proverbial 'sins of the fathers' do not get passed onto the sons in my books.
    3) Most importantly - they did us a favour !! Thank feck we got out of the sectarian hell-hole that was the Irish League for much of the period of the Troubles ! Just think of the fun we had in the 1980's travelling around the country scooping up every available trophy in front of crowds of 10,000+, whilst the Irish League was self-imploding. Plastic bullets and grenades inside small football stadiums anyone.....?

Times move on, and so should people's thinking. Especially when Coleraine's actions actually resulted in unintended benefits for us. Thanks for forcing us to join a proper, peaceful league with decent away trips and friendly opposition fans Coleraine !!

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Thanks for forcing us to join a proper, peaceful league with decent away trips and friendly opposition fans Coleraine !!
    Less of yer squabbling, boys.

Sure you benefit from having the Irish League around. You know, with the Setanta Cup and so on increasing interest and maybe improving playing standards a bit.

Let's face it, it's not as if you'll be playing Barca (again) in the Champions' League anytime soon

We defs did benefit from our years in the wilderness...
    DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc
    We defs did benefit from our years in the wilderness...
    We didn't benefit from the wilderness - but we certainly did from the promised land we reached at the end of it all.......

Also - there's no way we would've got the crowds we did in the 80's and 90's if we hadn't had all those years without football. A lot of people (myself included) would probably not have become Derry fans had the town not been deprived of senior football for 13 years.

So once again - thanks Coleraine !!!! Proof of the proverb that that which doesn't kill yee actually makes you stronger.....

On a serious note for once lads....
    It 's important Coleraine have been saved for one reason. Omagh Town are gone and several other IL clubs are teetering on the brink of extinction too.
    If Coleraine had gone the domino effect might have been seen to take effect with creditors of other clubs moving to have them wound up.

There are 92 Professional clubs in League football in England, about 63 of them are in serious financial difficulty at present!

Well, that's true as well, but Coleraine are one of the more traditional clubs in the Irish League, so it would have been sad to see them go.

It's great to hear the fans have taken over the club, and hopefully decisions will be made for Coleraine FC by the fans of Coleraine FC for the benefit of Coleraine FC.

Great news. Any club that is taken over by its own fans should have a promising future. Can only point at what our club has gone through and the trojan work by the fans involved to ensure our survival. Hard work lies ahead but it'll be worth it.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    On a serious note for once lads....
    It 's important Coleraine have been saved for one reason. Omagh Town are gone and several other IL clubs are teetering on the brink of extinction too.
    If Coleraine had gone the domino effect might have been seen to take effect with creditors of other clubs moving to have them wound up.

There are 92 Professional clubs in League football in England, about 63 of them are in serious financial difficulty at present!
    I don't buy into the "domino effect" theory CTID. It asserts that creditors wait to see what else is happening in a sport before deciding whether or not they should reel-in their debts.

Reality doesn't reflect that - creditors care only for their own cash and the individual circumstances their own cash is in. What impact did Omagh going out of business have on the league ? Did the people who own Coleraine's ground really move to call in their debts because of what happened in Co Tyrone ??

This notion that creditors in football make their decisions largely or indeed to any extent dependent upon the financial fortunes of teams outside of their control or direct knowledge just doesn't stand. Only if an entire league was on the verge of collapse would they do so - but not before and not since the US's aborted attempt at football in the 1970's has that ever happened.

[QUOTE=CollegeTillIDie] Omagh Town are gone and several other IL clubs are teetering on the brink of extinction too.
    QUOTE]

Was wondering what clubs you were refering to. Ards is the only one under any sort of pressure in the IL I can think of.

103 Posts
    [QUOTE=Dassa]
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Omagh Town are gone and several other IL clubs are teetering on the brink of extinction too.
    QUOTE]

Was wondering what clubs you were refering to. Ards is the only one under any sort of pressure in the IL I can think of.
    Think again! Most IL clubs are under severe financial pressure. Some just have it better managed than others.

[QUOTE=Mr_Parker]
    Quote Originally Posted by Dassa

Think again! Most IL clubs are under severe financial pressure. Some just have it better managed than others.
    There's a difference between being under financial presure, and being on the verge of death.

If some do have it better managed, then that suggests that at the very least those "some" are not on the brink of extinction.