Thread: Drogheda United 0-1 Limerick FC

Drogheda United 0-1 Limerick FC

What a fantastic result in United Park this evening, Shane Guerin's 49th minute goal booking Limerick's ticket into the third round of the cup. Well done to everyone involved, lets hope this is the start of the football revolution taking place on Shannonside. THE LIMERICK, THE LIMERICK, THE LIMERICK!!!

Well done Limerick.... Brilliant result. Hope you kick them around the park too and they pick up some injuries before Bohs go there on Friday..

Oh happy days. Great result hopefully there was a camera there

Great result. Still, what necessitates the use of "the" before chants about places? "Thee Athlone!" "Theh Dun-dalk" "The Limerick"!

3,223 Posts
    It's a rhytmic lead-in tool necessitated by the meter of the chant.

"The College!!!"

Formerly skibbereen co.cork but now Oregon USA
    25 Posts
    nice one limerick
    now that there are no cork teams left i hope yee win the cup
    im sure yee could do better than waterford
    west cork district league
    west cork commandos

"The College" is ok because it is... a college. As in: "I'm off to the college" and as not in: "I'm off to the Limerick."

3,223 Posts
    Surely "I'm off to college"?

Go to bed stu.

fr joe now hand over the lease

RE

What a result indeed,well done to everybody involved.Heard them mentioning on the radio that jack lester was outstanding,if we had him and robbie we could have won it first time around.As somebody said hopefully this will be lift off and the team will get the crowds they deserve.

well done limerick . fully deserved the victory. hope ye gone on and do well in the competition

Great result. I was expecting some decent press at least, but Aertel seem to think that Brays win at Kildare was more significent, while RTE 2 news gave it lip service. Interesting to see if tv3 had a camera there for tonights show. Probably not

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Great result. I was expecting some decent press at least, but Aertel seem to think that Brays win at Kildare was more significent, while RTE 2 news gave it lip service. Interesting to see if tv3 had a camera there for tonights show. Probably not
    there was a tv3 van outside the ground so i'm a presuming there was a camera. not much to see by way of highlights though i'm sure you wont mind too much

Taken from www.irishfootballonline.com

Drogheda United, last season's FAI Cup winners, have been dumped out of the FAI Cup at United Park by First division leaders Limerick FC.
    Shane Guerin fired past Dan Connor five minutes after half-time for the only goal of the game.

After a relatively tame weekend of games which saw draws as the nearest thing to shock results, few expected Limerick would be able to match the defending FAI Cup winners and current Setanta Cup holders Drogheda.

However, Limerick did have Drogheda under pressure in the first half as they forced a string of corners. At the other end Noel Mooney was again in top form and was off his line early to deny Declan O'Brien.

Mooney's opposite number Dan Connor had to be alert to grab the ball on the line as Brian Buckley headed at goal. Connor again saved from John Lester and Colm Heffernan set-pieces.

Jason Gavin headed over from a good position as the cup holders continued to stumble. The deadlock was finally broken just four minutes into the second period and it was again Limerick pressure which prompted the goal.

Stephen Bradley lost the ball to Paul Rose and he played in Guerin who made no mistake when one-on-one with Connor, coolly finishing past the former under-21 international keeper.

Much like Friday's game, Drogheda enjoyed long periods of possession but couldn't make it count and their frustration showed when O'Brien was booked after flicking Keith Fahey's cross into the net with his hand.

Anther Fahey cross had Limerick under pressure but more heroics from Mooney clawed the ball away to safety.

Limerick ran out winners as Drogheda ran out of ideas and now both of last year's FAI Cup finalists are out of the competition while Limerick's performances in both games against Drogheda will mark them as one of the teams to avoid in the third round draw.

Drogheda United : Connor, Webb, Shelley, Gavin, Gartland, Robinson (Keddy 54), Fahey, Bradley, Keegan (Whelan 63), Barrett (Fitzpatrick 54), O'Brien.
    Limerick FC: Mooney, Molan, Buckley, Wolfe, Purcell, Barrett, Heffernan, Lester (Kiely 89), Guerin, Rose (Kelleher 90), Waters.

Well done lads.........Up the blues
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

57 Posts
    Great performance and even more so that we played the better football for an hour. It was abit like the alamo for the last 20-30 minutes but we looked very solid and in truth Noel mooney didn't have a difficult save to make.

John Lester's return from suspension was a boost.

Great night and fair play to the Drogheda fans who were gracious in defeat.

the result was no fluke we really were the best team on the night, all over the pitch.most enjoyable game i was at in years, we were few in number but everyone heard us and team showed great appreciation afterwards.

John Lester...superstar. Well done Limerick but gutted for the drogs.

Well done Limerick!

A fantastic result. After the home drawn game I sensed we could do it. But this really is a great boost.

The big problem now is this bloody world cup break. After the game on Friday away to Mons the league takes a three week break. Maybe we could schedule the Galway and Rovers games in there.

Still, if you'd told me we'd get to the break (hopefully) top of the league, in the QF of the League Cup and in the 4th round of teh FAI after knocking out the holders and league leaders - away!. Well I'd have asked you to let me sleep on. Fair play to all involved. It is great that the fans are in great voice too - the atmosphere at the home Drogs game was brilliant.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair