Thread: Leagues Apart

144 Posts

Leagues Apart

Saw Ardal O'Hanlon on Tubridy the other night.
    He has gone and done a football documentary

Its starting this Thursday April 20th

See Here
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Why bother Ardal? After all, it's not as if we all don't know about the hatred and bigotry that finds expression through football rivalries far closer to home...

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Sounds like a real thing he just chanced his arm with RTE on.
    "Eh, ye send me all around Europe watching these brilliant famous matches and eh . . . i'll do a half-hour show for ye."
    Still should be good viewing.
    Ardal O'Hanlon is great people.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Met him coming out of tolka a few years back after a Rovers shels game. Had a shels scarf on.

Yet when interviewed about this upcoming programme said he was a leeds "fan"

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Met him coming out of tolka a few years back after a Rovers shels game. Had a shels scarf on.

Yet when interviewed about this upcoming programme said he was a leeds "fan"

maybe he is a Leeds fan and was justing going down to support his local side in the EL? Isn't that what the pro EL campainers want?

Always ready to knock someone who isn't singing from the rooftops about EL............ Its not gonna grow with that kind of attitude IMO
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

3,223 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    maybe he...was just going down to support his local side in the EL?
    Bit of a difference between Shels and Monaghan United!

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Bit of a difference between Shels and Monaghan United!
    I always thought he had a Northern accent.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

3,223 Posts
    Carrickmacross. His brother's my boss. Sounds and looks exactly like him!

At least he goes to any el games. When was the last time Bono or someone other "celebrity" went to an eL game??
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Yeah, his dad is Rory from Dundalk and a former Minisiter of Health that was nicknamed Dr. Death

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    At least he goes to any el games. When was the last time Bono or someone other "celebrity" went to an eL game??
    Dermot Morgan was a regular too, must be something in the Craggy Island water.

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    maybe he is a Leeds fan and was justing going down to support his local side in the EL? Isn't that what the pro EL campainers want?

Always ready to knock someone who isn't singing from the rooftops about EL............ Its not gonna grow with that kind of attitude IMO
    Eh he's not from leeds.

In fairness to other celebrities why should they go to games if they have no interest in the sport?

BTW Bono played in a charity game in Milltown.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Eh he's not from leeds.
    yer kidding me....really?????

This topic has been done to death and Im not looking to start it up again. My point was purely, that because he didn't proclaim to be a die hard EL supporter of some description he was scoffed at.

Its an attitude that is not going to encourage the growth of EL football IMO and its an attitude that comes across a fair bit when reading these boards.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

3,223 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Donegalcelt
    Yeah, his dad is Rory from Dundalk
    I think the family was born in Dundalk 'cos there was no maternity hospital in Monaghan. Ardal'd've been born in Dundalk too, but is from Carrickmacross. As far as I know, the dad's Monaghan.

Quote Originally Posted by Donegalcelt
    Yeah, his dad is Rory from Dundalk and a former Minisiter of Health that was nicknamed Dr. Death
    i think his dad is current Ceann Comhairle of the Dail

Carrickmacross. His brother's my boss. Sounds and looks exactly like him!
    Jaysus imagine having Dougal as your boss

3,223 Posts
    I know!

Had mocks one time - myself and another lad got 58. Between us. Four exams in total! Yer man came in and ate the head off us, but all I could think of was Dougal giving out, and the only way I avoided cracking up laughing was telling myself I'd get fired if I did!

1,912 Posts
    I think the family was born in Dundalk 'cos there was no maternity hospital in Monaghan. .
    The birthplace could have been choice, could have been convenience, could have been neccessity,could have been location or could have been just passing by, but most births were done local.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    Well said Bono used to live next door to the Carlisle Grounds and never darkened the door of the place so I am told!

Quote Originally Posted by geysir
    The birthplace could have been choice, could have been convenience, could have been neccessity,could have been location or could have been just passing by, but most births were done local.
    Well Rory O'Hanlon may have been born in Dundalk but by the time Ardal would have come along it is doubtful that he would have been born there.
    Two examples... Steve Staunton , born in the late 1960's was born in DROGHEDA and former UCD and Dundalk player Ciaran Kavanagh was born, 1972, in NEWRY.. reason.....? No maternity facilities in Dundalk hospital at the time!