Thread: New Years Eve

622 Posts

New Years Eve

What does everyone do, plan to do on the night? Are their any decent gigs on etc. ?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Yeah Stone Roses Experience!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Last year i remember waiting at the bar for 45 mins at least each round, i'll tell you one thing .... i wont be doing that again, thats for sure !!

Declan O'Rourke in the Olympia and The Frames in Killarney

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC
    And I'll be in Australia at a barbie (barbeque to give it the correct term before ye feckers start thinking of Ken ) until early morning
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC
    Thats some night you have planned anto...

Myself I'll be staying in with Miss Dodge. I absolutely hate New year's eve. Such a fake night where people who don't go out all year get pished "because you hvae to, its new years eve..."

3,328 Posts
    Probably a house party, bars/clubs/gigs to be avoided, far too crowded

I've three house parties organised with my mates over the Christmas but not sure what the plan is for new years eve. Probably another party in Hamish Mansions.

Times Square NY for me, YAY.. (if the subway strike ends soon)

505 Posts
    A mate rented a house in Liscannor. Did it for the Millennium, worked out quite well because we avoided all the kissing and hugging complete strangers crap.

New Years, in general, sucks the sweat off a dead man's balls. It's just another bloody day people, get over it.

Im spending it in my local. no cover charge to get in, bar open till 2am, cheap beer, and all my family. cant stand new years eve, but this time I cant wait to see the back of this year, the sooner the better

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I absolutely hate New year's eve. Such a fake night where people who don't go out all year get pished "because you hvae to, its new years eve..."
    Totally agree – its up there with stephens night. Will probably be out every night between now and the new year bar these two nights!! It will jsut be full of d!cks around town. Cans for those 2 nights !!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Another thing i hate about New Years is paying a cover charge into a bar where i have been going all year .... i think that is a serious kick in the teeth for regulars, basically two fingers up to the punter for one of 'the biggest nights of the year' !!

I usually just spend New Years in a house with a group of friends - its a waste of time going out. Its Galway this year.
    Stephens night is the worst night of the year to go out - the pubs are packed and there's just no point. I'm going to stay in this year.

Xmas Eve is the big session at home. I love that day - everyone is in great form and we always hit the same pub in Kilkenny around 6. Usually won't have seen most people since the previous Xmas.

gigging the night before so that'll be my main new year celebration.
    As this is our 1st new year with 8 month old lionel jnr we'll be doing something at home -probably have a few friends over.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

111 Posts
    heading to my girlfriend's friends house party in Kingston, going out on the town New Years Eve is overrated, cover charges for pubs, ridiculous! one pub where im living is charging £30 just to get in!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    I've three house parties organised with my mates over the Christmas but not sure what the plan is for new years eve. Probably another party in Hamish Mansions.
    Update/correction - that list has just become five

HELP!!

Hey, BTW, if any of you Footiepersons are travelling to and from Galway over the Christmas - you pass by (Literally) my front door en route - drop in - take a few minutes of a break off your journey - if you're a passenger - have a wine or a beer - if you're driving - have a cuppa - I might even give you a slice of my birthday cake - youse can't say Ol' Hamish hasn't invited youse.

Update/correction - that list has just become five

HELP!!

Hey, BTW, if any of you Footiepersons are travelling to and from Galway over the Christmas - you pass by (Literally) my front door en route - drop in - take a few minutes of a break off your journey - if you're a passenger - have a wine or a beer - if you're driving - have a cuppa - I might even give you a slice of my birthday cake - youse can't say Ol' Hamish hasn't invited youse.

Let me know if you're dropping in in case I'm having a nap or send me a PM and I'll give youse my phone number if you're gonna call. Another few dozen in Hamish Mansons at this stage will make no difference. LOL

Happy Christmas and New year from Footyland's DOM.

youse can't say Ol' Hamish hasn't invited youse.
    Even me Hamish? .

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Even me Hamish? .
    Even you good buddy....especially if you bring any horny old aunty or female relation you might have handy. I'm no shnob, yknow LOL