Thread: Waterford Fans

64 Posts

Waterford Fans

Just to say fair play to the Waterford fans who made the trip, without doubt the biggest non Dublin away support we've seen this season. The best side won the game as any side who tries to defend a 1-0 lead when the majority of the game is still to go deserves to lose. My only gripe is that a lot of Waterford players seem to hit the ground very easy, especially the 'tubby' left back. Anyway the table doesn't lie and either does the fact that we have a tit of a manager. Well done

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy
    Just to say fair play to the Waterford fans who made the trip, without doubt the biggest non Dublin away support we've seen this season. The best side won the game as any side who tries to defend a 1-0 lead when the majority of the game is still to go deserves to lose. My only gripe is that a lot of Waterford players seem to hit the ground very easy, especially the 'tubby' left back. Anyway the table doesn't lie and either does the fact that we have a tit of a manager. Well done

It was more than Pats brought.

57 Posts
    Stop taking the focus away from the proper fans tonight.

This evening's supposed to be about the Shels fans at Tolka
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Just to say fair play to the Waterford fans who made the trip, without doubt the biggest non Dublin away support we've seen this season.
    Are ye serious?
    Jays, thats astonishing.
    Fair play.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Fair play to Waterford, the best team won etc. Respect too for the numbers you brought. Last night was a painful one for us Hoops, but I'm proud to say that we gave the Waterford team a round of applause as they came off the pitch. It wasn't easy to do that under the circumstances. Obviously, I hope you all die screaming but we built our own grave. We've no one to blame but ourselves for being in this predicament.

I can't see what the fuss is about the Waterford fans....I saw nothing out of the ordinary to earn more respect than usual..

Us clapping their team has nothing to do with their supporters...and I also would've thought Finn Harps and Derry brought at least the same amount..?
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Just to say fair play to the Waterford fans who made the trip, without doubt the biggest non Dublin away support we've seen this season.
    Fair play to Waterford and Pat Dolan, but Hoopy I think you will find the biggest non-Dublin support in Dalymount this season was the Drogs (we aren't really a **** Dublin suburb - we are from "the country")

Went along as a neutral. It was a poor game all round. Rovers are dire and will probably be joining us next season in that form.

Good Atmosphere and display from Rovers fans, lst voice in 2nd half. Waterford had a decent support, around 200 or so. Quiet for most of the game. The only songs I heard them singing was that England/Rangers dambusters song !! and OLE OLE OLE OLE. If I had of closed my eys I would of thought I was in Lansdowne or Ibrox at times

think you'll find it was O'Rea O'Rea O'Rea for our manager
    of course, everything looks bad if you remember it.- Homer Simpson
    www.sliceco.com

164 Posts
    What would a Dundalk man know about a crowd? There were 341 Blues fans apparently stuck over in the Des Kelly. From where we were we couldn't hear a thing from the Rovers fans most of the time. That song was The Great Escape as in 'we made the great escape from relegation'.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie
    From where we were we couldn't hear a thing from the Rovers fans most of the time.
    Are you takin the p!ss?? We sang loudly for nearly all of the first half and the start of the second!!! Waterford only began to sing when you scored the first goal...

In all fairness Buller, i was in the Des kelly and the lads rarely stopped singing all night,even after rovers got their only goal the lads went at it straight away and kept it up to the end.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buller
    Are you takin the p!ss?? We sang loudly for nearly all of the first half and the start of the second!!! Waterford only began to sing when you scored the first goal...
    Yes. I was taking the p*ss a bit. But to be honest, the acoustics weren't the best suited for my vocals. I knew ye were singing, but could rarely hear it. We sang all the way through. Maybe joeraki had the same problem.

If you and everyone around you is singing no matter how loud the others are you WONT hear them

Hence the constant "We completley outsang ye!" "Bullsh*t, ye were quiet. We outsang ye!" and so on threads on foot.ie.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmy-boy
    did you count the fans,

there was well over 400 blues fans if not 500.
    341 was given on the Attendance thread. I presume they were using an official figure of how many were admitted to the Des Kelly. We had estimated between 300 and 400 anyway.

Luckily the 321 supporters in the Des Kelly could not be heard in the Jodi as Rovers don't take too kindly to racist songs being sung. It was only sung once, otherwise we would have had to do something about it.

Fair play to them!
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

No doubt Waterford have started to come out in numbers recently but wasn't long ago in mid season with club going down the drain that supporters seemed to be abandoning their club...

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Savic
    Luckily the 321 supporters in the Des Kelly could not be heard in the Jodi as Rovers don't take too kindly to racist songs being sung. It was only sung once, otherwise we would have had to do something about it.
    What was this? I didn't hear anything, although I was half way down the Jodi so I wouldn't I suppose.

And would this "something" be the same something you did to the Shels fans when we were there? Were you planning to bring your hardmen around the back to assault innocent people??