Thread: International rules

International rules

can anyone tell me if its on anything but rte as i wouldnt mind seeing it but i dont beleive it will be on any tv over here in occupied england?

setanta are showing a repeat of the game on saturday but i have not seen any mention of it being showed live
    now ye have it is right.....

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Setanta Sports:
    International Rules: Australia vs. Ireland
    Saturday, 22 October 08:00
    Current Cup holders Ireland face Australia in the opening test of the 2005 International Rules held yesterday at Subiaco Oval, Perth. Can the Aussies regain their pride and regain the trophy they lost last year at Croker?
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

One of the most pointless sports event every year.

43 Posts
    Live on rte 1 and on the afl website if you interested.

46-29 to Oz at end of 2nd quarter, men against boys to be honest. Gooch et al are being out muscled every single time. Our shooting which used to get us out of jail is woeful and it's the Aussies who look like the lads who throw over points for fun not us.

Maybe this is indicitive of how crap gaa has gone. No skill, only muscle and not even real muscle when up against these giants from down under.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

I know Kennellys injured but where are Setanta and Aisake?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Based on performance and results, Pete McGrath must be fired. Our decline in the World rankings (from 1 to 2) is unacceptable. I propose that a 3-man subcommitte is set up to headhunt someone who can get the best out of the players that we have, can make tactical adjustments when required at the highest level and is committed to managing the side.

I think they need to eliminate the tackle & bring back in the sole from foot. Ireland would have reasonable chance then.

If anyone saw it, it was one hell of an arse whooping by the Ozzies!
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Although its only played once (twice) a year, its an absolutly cracking sport!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

ya the hitting is great craic. thats awful early to be repeating it.

Can't believe that ! 100-63....aw well
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Was at the second game in Croker last year. I'm not into Gaelic at all but this was good enough craic, especially when the little dog ran onto the pitch and was on it for about 10 minutes chasing after the ball

Seen few minutes in the pub last night & irish lads can't tackle as in they don't even try to tackle. When they are close to player with ball they should be tackling him into the turf - they badly need a couple of weeks with a rugby defensive coach. Even if he offloads you'll still get your hit in.

The ozzies were more powerful intimidating and accurate in both passing and scoring. Alot of the big names in GAA and the experienced players were brutal yesterday. Ciaran McDonald, Padraig Joyce, Eoin Mulligan they were none existant.I thought Gooch did alright, considering he is a skinny little fella.
    From the start you could see Australia were better, they intimidated the lads, plenty of late (bad) tackles and they got away with them. You could see the short hand passing game suited Ireland and yet nearly every kick out went down to Joyce et all and was lost.
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    46-29 to Oz at end of 2nd quarter, men against boys to be honest. Gooch et al are being out muscled every single time. Our shooting which used to get us out of jail is woeful and it's the Aussies who look like the lads who throw over points for fun not us.
    Maybe this is indicitive of how crap gaa has gone. No skill, only muscle and not even real muscle when up against these giants from down under.
    I thought it was quite obvious that there are more skills involved with the gaelic football game (apart from the oval ball control skill.)
    I had a look at my first afl game on tg4 some weeks ago. I was surprised at the lack of real physical tackling, considering that almost anything goes. The afl players know when to offload and are good at turning their player. The game flowed as much as any football game flows. The only thing that I thought it lacked (as a game) was a crossbar. They have a goalkeeper of sorts but it is a surreal situation when there is no height limit to scoring a goal.

crap makey-uppy game. its not a real sport. dont know why people support it. its a joke

Seriously, its like a playground sport. lets kick it as far as we can and then everyrun run like mad after it. We'll all jump on whoever gets the ball and then kick it somewhere near the goal

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Seriously, its like a playground sport. lets kick it as far as we can and then everyrun run like mad after it. We'll all jump on whoever gets the ball and then kick it somewhere near the goal
    It's great isnt it!?
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Quote Originally Posted by anto eile
    crap makey-uppy game. its not a real sport. dont know why people support it. its a joke
    Agree completely. If the GAA want to be international they need to push their sport their own sport or just accept that they a regional sport.

The Aussies only put kids in the team & i'd say they irish lads been on the p!ss all week. Wheres the Herald expose?