Thread: Things to do in Dublin during the day?

Things to do in Dublin during the day?

Looking for some help here please guys. Got asked a question last night at training which left me a bit stumped. One of my team mates is going to Dublin for the weekend next week with his friend and asked me about places to go during the day.

It's not really something I've ever really thought about because a weekend away for me usually involves very little culture and as much drinking as possible so I naturally suggested going to a match but his friend isn't really into football so he doesn't think he'd be interested. Other than the Guinness museum which he already knew about, I didn't really have a clue

I told him I'd check it out for him so if anybody has any suggestions I'd appreciate it

MOT

244 Posts
    VIKING Splash is supposed to be great.Its converted ww2 DUCS that go around various sights and and includes a trip into the water in ringsend I think.

tickets are about 15 euro I think ?

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    VIKING Splash is supposed to be great.Its converted ww2 DUCS that go around various sights and and includes a trip into the water in ringsend I think.

tickets are about 15 euro I think ?
    Or have a trip on the new Liffey cruise and enjoy the smell all for 11 Euro.
    MOT

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    Looking for some help here please guys. Got asked a question last night at training which left me a bit stumped. One of my team mates is going to Dublin for the weekend next week with his friend and asked me about places to go during the day.

It's not really something I've ever really thought about because a weekend away for me usually involves very little culture and as much drinking as possible so I naturally suggested going to a match but his friend isn't really into football so he doesn't think he'd be interested. Other than the Guinness museum which he already knew about, I didn't really have a clue

I told him I'd check it out for him so if anybody has any suggestions I'd appreciate it
    I'd that problem a few months ago - sent her to the guinness store, kilmainham and the bus tour - after that i was stuck so we just went on the lash for the rest of her trip
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

The zoo, botanic gardens, shopping, open top bus, ghost bus tour, viking splash tour, guinness factory, kilmainham, art galleries, museums, gaa museum and transport mseum to name a whole heap!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Pubs are open during the day too.

I always try to go to the Porterhouse in the afternoon when I'm in that dublin. Completly unrecognisable to the cattle-mart it'll have turned in to 6 hours later.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by noby
    Pubs are open during the day too.

I always try to go to the Porterhouse in the afternoon when I'm in that dublin. Completly unrecognisable to the cattle-mart it'll have turned in to 6 hours later.
    Judge Roy Beans at the bottom of Grafton Street is now a Porterhouse also.
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Quote Originally Posted by dublinharp
    Judge Roy Beans at the bottom of Grafton Street is now a Porterhouse also.
    Duly noted. Heading that direction tomorrow

Things to do in Dublin

Heroin

Kilmainham Jail is quite good
    it's only 5 quid and u get a guided tour lasts about an hour and a half
    (if ur into that kind o' thing)

You're on post number 666 be careful
    MOT

Croke park tour is ok if a bit over priced (22 quid i think)
    Did it last year enjoyed it but the museum is better
    tour guide was a real cracker!! though even if she didn't know what she was talking about half the time

22 quid!? I'd expect a match for that.

E22-a bit expensive?!

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12
    You're on post number 666 be careful
    twas the devil that made me say it !!

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    Kilmainham Jail is quite good
    it's only 5 quid and u get a guided tour lasts about an hour and a half
    (if ur into that kind o' thing)
    i am,i've been a few times,it's brilliant

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Go see the new Phil Lynott statue on Harry Street (off Grafton Street) and then go downstairs in Bruxelles for some traditional music
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Thanks lads, I suppose I'll have to ask him at the game tomorrow what he'd actually be interested in first before I tell him what's on offer!

Doubt it if he'd be into Art Museums and the Botanical Gardens! Keep the suggestions coming if ye can think of anything else

501 Posts
    Drive to Cork.