Thread: Is Andy Reid injured?

82 Posts

Is Andy Reid injured?

He didn't even make the banch yesterday.

banch ?

maybe he was in burger king ?

214 Posts
    Hopefully the rest does Reidy good, at least Keane is getting back on form though. Spurs have bought too many players and don't know what to do with them all.

Why would he need a rest? He has hardly built up a sweat yet.

Im sure I read somewhere that Jol didn't want to sign Reid, it was the feller who went to Chelscum who basically did the deal. He hasn't produced his international form for Spurs and Jol was complaining that the service to the front two had been poor.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    He should ask for a release and sign with another team. Robbie should do the same quite frankly.

3,315 Posts
    Jol said today that any midfielder who wants to move out on loan can, but I don't think Reid should look to drop back to the Championship

2,694 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by vega007
    He should ask for a release and sign with another team.
    Let's not over react here. AFAIK this was the FIRST P'ship game since he joined that he hasn't started. 10 months, dropped for one game. So what?

Aaron Lennon has been playing well so he started ahead of Reid. No big deal.

The way I saw the Charlton game was that Spurs got a lucky goal (King) and two others that should have been saved (inclusding a lucky finish by Robbie). Charlton exposed the flatness of their defence on a number of occasions and only poor finishing & marginal offside calls kept the score down. I wasn't impressed by Spurs despite the good result. Reid won't have too long to wait before he's back.

To be fair, Naybet was the reason behind the sloppy defence that spurs had on Saturday. Dawson and Gardener have been excellent this season. Remember spurs had Kept 5 clean sheets before this match so their defence has been solid but when Naybet comes they looked a bit shay on Saturday. Reid has not been great for Spurs so far this season and Lennon has played really well when coming in, thats 2 man of the match performances in a row from him. Jol likes to play a wide man on one wing with a solid full back and a tight midfielder on the other wing with a left back that bombs on.
    In Trap we trust

I can't see Reid starting many Spurs games & bets he can expect is bench place.

kelly played well, everything went down the the left and he was playing left back so that has to be a good sign in itself!

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    The way I saw the Charlton game was that Spurs got a lucky goal (King) and two others that should have been saved (inclusding a lucky finish by Robbie)
    what was lucky about robbies finish? he shot and scored.... no mad deflection, no coming off his shin or knee... so why was it a lucky finish? all he can do is put it in the net when given the opportunity. i actually thought it was well taken and nice to see him lay the ball off early to defoe in the build-up

2,694 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne
    what was lucky about robbies finish? he shot and scored.... no mad deflection, no coming off his shin or knee... so why was it a lucky finish? all he can do is put it in the net when given the opportunity. i actually thought it was well taken and nice to see him lay the ball off early to defoe in the build-up
    I thought it was straight at the keeper who stood up & then dived out of the way. Robbie caught it well but I didn't think it was a convincing finish. I think the keeper would have been disappointed & many would have saved it. Maybe I'm being over critical but that's how I saw it.

it was straight at the keeper he could have and should have done a lot better, he went to the ground and right to early.

I thought it was straight at the keeper who stood up & then dived out of the way. Robbie caught it well but I didn't think it was a convincing finish. I think the keeper would have been disappointed & many would have saved it. Maybe I'm being over critical but that's how I saw it.

FCUK the Begrudgers.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

I thought Robbie Keanes goal was quiet good. For a change he was very decisive.

2,694 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.

FCUK the Begrudgers.
    I'm not a begrudger, far from it.

Just offering an honest / objective opinion & I thought the 'keeper should have saved it. I bet the 'keeper does too.

Much of the debate on Robbie Keane is great and well-deserved but I think debating the merits of what was clearly a good goal is pushing it. The keeper mightn't have made himself as big as he should have done but would we analyse the finish of another player as heavily? A striker is paid to score goals; if Robbie scores, he's done his job. Fair play to him and good to see before the Cyprus game.

2,694 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    would we analyse the finish of another player as heavily?
    I thought Frank Lampard's penalty wasn't very convincing but he's not Irish so I didn't comment

Fair enough! Every player is a fair subject of debate and I don't like it when some roll in with "he's our record goalscorer etc etc" when you're just trying to discuss the chap but I think criticising the goal that he's just scored is a bit tough!