Thread: Semantics debate on use of the word "rape"

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord
    Sure Louis Kilcoyne became FAI president after raping Shamrock Rovers!
    Don't think that type of language is appropriate or should be used in the either context mention here. Rape is a serious crime, not something to be bandied around to amuse the foolish.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    Don't think that type of language is appropriate or should be used in the either context mention here. Rape is a serious crime, not something to be bandied around to amuse the foolish.
    In fairness, our histrionic hooped friend is employing a valid secondary meaning of the term, not necessarily drawing a comparison with the criminal act.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    In fairness, our histrionic hooped friend is employing a valid secondary meaning of the term, not necessarily drawing a comparison with the criminal act.
    I don't see that way. The language is inappropriate, full stop.

rape is pretty commonly used in the "exploitation" sense of the word.

1. The crime of forcing another person to submit to sex acts, especially sexual intercourse.
    2. The act of seizing and carrying off by force; abduction.
    3. Abusive or improper treatment; violation: a rape of justice.

Meaning #2 has been superceded by the American "kidnap" and is in far less common use that meaning #3

[Middle English, from rapen, to rape, from Old French raper, to abduct, from Latin rapere, to seize. See rep- in Indo-European Roots.]
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

It's not only appropriate but accurate too.

82 Posts
    Look up pedant in a dictionary.

He used thew word correctly as per meaning 3 above and as regards your statement that rape is serious, sure don't some people get away with murder?........

ringo, if a rovers fan described something as black you would be on here screaming it was white.

your opinion on this subject is quite frankly irrelevant.

prize for biggest chip on shoulder goes to...

listen lads its 22 men kicking a bag of wind around a field. Am i the only only one here who knows someone that has been raped? cop on, its a game.

No Ringo, you're not. But that has nothing to do with it. The use of the word is perfectly valid, and was not done with the intention of upsetting or offending anyone- if you've a problem with the post, why not report it/PM adam or another mod?

Well your a mod and you seem to think its ok, so whats the point. As regards rovers look at my posts today, & you'll find it i commented that i tought it was unfair that How Rovers were treated by the El last week. I also last week wished the 400 club the best of luck. Your the one here with a chip about Dublin City & seery, get over it. To suggest that this is about Rovers is pathetic.

Well your a mod and you seem to think its ok, so whats the point.
    I'm not the only mod, and you can always PM adam about it.

As regards rovers look at my posts today, & you'll find it i commented that i tought it was unfair that How Rovers were treated by the El last week. I also last week wished the 400 club the best of luck.
    I haven't disputed that. In fact, I haven't even mentioned it.

Your the one here with a chip about Dublin City & seery, get over it. To suggest that this is about Rovers is pathetic.
    I didn't suggest it was about Rovers at all- what posts are you reading?

I've split this bit to off-topic, it has nothing to do with the original topic. Éanna

501 Posts
    I can understand the objection, but the use of the word in that context still seems valid to me.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I'm not the only mod, and you can always PM adam about it.

I haven't disputed that. In fact, I haven't even mentioned it.

I didn't suggest it was about Rovers at all- what posts are you reading?

I've split this bit to off-topic, it has nothing to do with the original topic. Éanna
    One wonders what Billy Lords comments have to do with the the row between ollie & Roddy?

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta
    I can understand the objection, but the use of the word in that context still seems valid to me.

Agreed.

If he said "Louis Kilcoyne is a rapist" then you would have a valid objection.

As it stands I really cannot see how you could find the sentence offensive unless you are a fan of Kilcoyne's business principals or something?

I believe The Corrs raped 'Old Town'.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    I believe The Corrs raped 'Old Town'.
    I actually liked that!

74 Posts
    Ringo and Sheridan - Maybe the money you lot save on Pat Deans' wages could be spent on a dictionary and the next time the two of you and Seery are travelling to an away game you could read the bleedin' thing.

To object to the word rape in that context is way, way OTT. Next you'll be giving out if Cork fans say that they 'murdered' Rovers last Friday. They did, 3-0.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

501 Posts
    WeAreRovers, do everyone a favour and be quiet. Comments like that just make you look like a moron.

I was trying to suggest the use of over emotive language can be offending. As regards Louis Kilcoyne, I’d don’t know enough about the situation to comment. My only knowledge of the situation is from a short piece on RTE. It suggested that Rovers were loosing money & the Kilcoyne family decided to sell the ground to re-coup the money they had put into the club. I’m sure someone here can give me the full story. Was it a case of asset stripping? Why someone would want to invest in a football club as a business venture is beyond me. We all put money in , because we support the club, but your not going to get your investment back.

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta
    WeAreRovers, do everyone a favour and be quiet. Comments like that just make you look like a moron.

Which comment? Equating the use of the word 'rape' and the word 'murdered' or suggesting that the lads should buy a dictionary? Both are valid IMO and neither warrant personal abuse from the site owner.

Bit of consistency wouldn't go astray Adam.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care