Thread: Fans Protest at Kildare Game

Fans Protest at Kildare Game

Haha I get the scoop!

Today's Star had this to say about our protest in regards to Derek McCarthy's departure last night

'If Limerick had it difficult on the pitch though, the supporters also gave vent to their deep-seated feelings regarding the departure of top scorer Derek McCarthy to Waterford United with chants aimed at the management '

Good to see a national paper covering this protest, as it was to see practically the entire shed joining in with it too. Questions need to be asked of the chairman's attitude shown to some fans last night, both before and after the game, which I won't say here as I wasn't involved in either of them, I'll let the participants decide if they want to go into it. In any case, at this stage it's pretty clear that Danny has burnt his bridges with a lot of the die hard supporters of Limerick FC and it's hard to see how there is a way back from last night's ugliness, and the events of last week. This may be an opportunity for the chairman to stand up and admit he was out of line and hopefully we can look past this

I would like to apologise to all the fans at the Kildare match last night because we only printed 300 copies of 'Bring Back Carthy'. I know that a lot of ye didn't have a sheet to hold up but still voiced your support with us. So thank you.

Every Limerick fan I spoke to last night could not believe that we let Derek go on loan to a premier team, (Derek started for Waterford last night and set up their goal) especially when he declared that he wanted to stay and play for Limerick. To me thats committment, something NOC commented on in his managers address in the match programme and the reason why he was letting players go. As long as NOC is in charge I don't think Derek will be allowed to play for Limerick again, that is a shame and an indictment of NOC's poor managerial skills. May I point out that we have only one recognised striker left in Robbie for whom this is his first season in the Eircom League with the departures of CP and Derek, such is the wisdom of NOC. I have no doubt that everything that NOC does he believes to be correct, he's similiar in that respect to Clive Woodward and the Lions Tour and of course we all know how well that worked out in NZ. I think NOC should stop trying to be like Pat Dolan and get a refund back from whatever sports psychology 101 course he took because its not working.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

What did your protest involve? ie what did you do? I didn't get a chance to see the Star?

Is he any good??? Can he make a name for himself in the Premier Division???
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

carty is a quality player wit bags of skill,sometimes takes too much out of the ball b ut that said i think he'll do a great job for ye.big mistake for us to let him go

What happened after the game last night? I heard the Chairman ruffled a few feathers? Are we heading for the abyss again?
    Last edited by Bonovox; 16/07/2005 at 9:03 PM. Reason: spelling

turn up the heat

i dont know what happened with drew after the match, the protest was brilliant, best idea ever with the posters i stuck mine on the back window of my car, its staying there for a while, do likewise and turn up the heat another notch. A very dignified protest that never once got nasty or personal struck a chord with top brass, i was told chairman willie completely over reacted behind the dugouts? couldnt tell from the shed end

Check out the pics of the game v Kildare, the protest can be seen as well.... http://www.kildarecountyfc.com
    click on gallery. The pics are in " v Limerick "

lol

wow who are those handsome guys (without posters) too busy watching the game! that guy directly behind Wolfe is one stud who can he be? at the other side of the park (out of camera) are tons of girls all flocking and drooling over, at said handsome gaels! maybe it for this that the crowds are massive at hogan park?

great to see the limerick supporters backing derek,its a disgrace the way he has been treated and i wonder if we'll ever have the privelege of seeing him play for the blues again?

37 Posts

Cool

given what happened to carty since,it looks like the butcher got that one right.

Quote Originally Posted by Fairkop View Post
    given what happened to carty since,it looks like the butcher got that one right.
    Ya, releasing the top scorer in the middle of a season

Fcukin masterstroke

37 Posts

Cool

Ya, releasing the top scorer in the middle of a season

Fcukin masterstroke
    how many had he scored again...and he really showed his class at waterford.lets face it football was always an interference in cartys social life.

Quote Originally Posted by Young L37 fan View Post
    Lads there will be plenty more old stuff from me on the site in the next few days
    I wouldnt recommend bumping various old threads. If needs must, make a new thread and link to, or quote from the old ones.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

how many had he scored again...and he really showed his class at waterford.lets face it football was always an interference in cartys social life.
    Dunno, one for the Stato's I guess

Your logic is, as per usual, a pile of ******

37 Posts

Cool

HE SCORED 9 GOALS WHEN THE SEASON WAS JUST ABOUT A THIRD GONE.WAS THIRD HIGHEST SCORER IN THE DIVISION AT THE TIME
    carty had scored 5 league goals prior to his loan to waterfordand 1 league cup goal.o brien,barret,kelleher,donnellan had all scored 4 league goals at that time.

.o brien
    Now there was a guy who just could not be arsed. 4 goals all season from him if I remember, including a penalty, a free kick and a shot from Robbir Kelleher that deflected off him when he was actually lying on the ground facing away from the play.

Lads there will be plenty more old stuff from me on the site in the next few days
    Why? Whats the point of bringing up all this old stuff? Its hardly interesting. And have we not moved on.....
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    Why? Whats the point of bringing up all this old stuff? Its hardly interesting. And have we not moved on.....
    Wondering the same myself

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    Have to agree .There is a bright new dawn with the team doing well.We should be worried that there is no slump after the break not worried about all that internal squabbling from last few years..
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"