Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: Loi fixtures w/e 25/2/2019

346 Posts
    Thought the ref got both wrong tbh,seen them given but the player reaction along with Bohs bench played a part for me, the penalty was very very soft he touches his shoulder and Ward goes down like hes shot again Wards very cute and Finn probably wasn't,it's a shame that a massive game is decided on refereeing decisions but I'm sure Bohs could give a flying f**k about that😛😛

Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Instead of reveling in your part-time poverty why don't you ask yourself why your board haven't brought investment in or developed an academy.
    Or why you as supporters haven't cleaned up your ground to make some parts inhabitable...you will always get a few bob back when your fans show up to watch Rovers.
    If avoiding relegation and winning some derbys is the summit of your clubs ambitions its a pretty sad state of affairs.
    This bad run for us will end (both teams have had good and bad runs in the past) and then what have you got ??
    The project will go on for us for sure ,,,,,and so will your small mindedness.

Pre match i said i'd take a loss against Bohs and beat DFC on Friday if i could as it will have more effect on the title.
    Beating Bohs would have been nice but its not the summit of our ambitions for the season.
    For a team that used to be cup specialists how many cup finals have you now lost to Bohs over the last few years?

Stephen Bradley is a great manager doing a wonderful job. I think he deserves a contract extension to keep on implementing "The Project" or whatever that means. All these home grown players coming through to play starring roles for the 1st team last night, such as ???

It's remarkable how players like Luke Byrne, Lopez & Watts can leave Bohemians for full time football at Shamrock Rovers and yet they seem to have disimproved as players. That's quite an achievement, so well done Shamrock

427 Posts
    Instead of reveling in your part-time poverty why don't you ask yourself why your board haven't brought investment in or developed an academy.
    Or why you as supporters haven't cleaned up your ground to make some parts inhabitable...you will always get a few bob back when your fans show up to watch Rovers.
    If avoiding relegation and winning some derbys is the summit of your clubs ambitions its a pretty sad state of affairs.
    This bad run for us will end (both teams have had good and bad runs in the past) and then what have you got ??

Pre match i said i'd take a loss against Bohs and beat DFC on Friday if i could as it will have more effect on the title.
    Beating Bohs would have been nice but its not the summit of our ambitions for the season.
    1 BOHS are 100% members owned and always have been we don’t sell out like 50% club.
    2. We chose not to go bankrupt and have a new company buy our history off the FAI

3 pretending you don’t care about derbies ? You are having a laugh, still your biggest League game and probably as near as you will get to a “cup final”
    4. When it comes to developing young players we are doing fine - without pawning our club. That’s why you offered three of them contracts (Leahy Kelly and Reghba).

5 winning the League ? With Bradser ? Be serious 😁
    Last edited by marinobohs; 26/02/2019 at 11:57 AM.

79 Posts

Hurting much?

The rage is strong in this one.

649 Posts
    Ah for sure just but still happy overall with the start 6 points from 9 is ok.
    Sometimes I can't resist calling out small minded eejits.

649 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Thought the ref got both wrong tbh,seen them given but the player reaction along with Bohs bench played a part for me, the penalty was very very soft he touches his shoulder and Ward goes down like hes shot again Wards very cute and Finn probably wasn't,it's a shame that a massive game is decided on refereeing decisions but I'm sure Bohs could give a flying f**k about that����
    Over the course of the season you have to hope the bad calls get evened out, thats what i keep telling myself
    Last edited by sbgawa; 26/02/2019 at 1:24 PM.

427 Posts
    Ah for sure just but still happy overall with the start 6 points from 9 is ok.
    Sometimes I can't resist calling out small minded eejits.
    Sure, as long as the loss doesn’t bother you 😆😆😆😆😆😆

875 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    1 BOHS are 100% members owned and always have been we don’t sell out like 50% club.
    2. We chose not to go bankrupt and have a new company buy our history off the FAI

3 pretending you don’t care about derbies ? You are having a laugh, still your biggest League game and probably as near as you will get to a “cup final”
    4. When it comes to developing young players we are doing fine - without pawning our club. That’s why you offered three of them contracts (Leahy Kelly and Reghba).

5 winning the League ? With Bradser ? Be serious 
    How exactly is history bought? We have a few quid now, can we buy 10 leagues please?

and not in the Drogheda United type way!
    Last edited by Nesta99; 26/02/2019 at 2:21 PM.

649 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    How exactly is history bought? We have a few quid now, can we buy 10 leagues please?

and not in the Drogheda United type way!
    Thats a bit harsh Nesta , talk about kicking a lad while he is down, you need to be nicer to your neighbors

76 Posts
    The Bohs Rovers match was a poor spectacle. Greene should have gotten a yellow, I really don't think it warranted a red. The penalty was very soft too, but just marginally within the bounds of being giveable. Shams spent good portions of the match Jack Charlton 1990 style hoofing overhit balls to nobody in particular, I'd be raging this morning as a Rovers fan over the way they play at times.
    Last edited by CorribsideSteve; 26/02/2019 at 4:15 PM.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    The Bohs Rovers match was a poor spectacle. Greene should have gotten a yellow, I really don't think it warranted a red. The penalty was very soft too, but just marginally within the bounds of being giveable. Shams spent the whole match Jack Charlton 1990 style hoofing overhit balls to nobody in particular for the whole match, I'd be raging this morning as a Rovers fan over the way they play.
    Funny enough I thought the red card was spot on (you can’t tackle like that anymore) and the pen was a bit soft !

Neither the worst decision I’ve seen this season (even after 3 games) and expect we will see many many more.
    I had expected a lot more football from shams (even before the red), maybe the text bad run in derby’s got to them. After the red it was mainly route one, usually aimed at Carr (who I thought held up play well).

Anyway, bring on Waterford 😁

76 Posts
    Funny enough I thought the red card was spot on (you can’t tackle like that anymore) and the pen was a bit soft !

Neither the worst decision I’ve seen this season (even after 3 games) and expect we will see many many more.
    I had expected a lot more football from shams (even before the red), maybe the text bad run in derby’s got to them. After the red it was mainly route one, usually aimed at Carr (who I thought held up play well).

Anyway, bring on Waterford 
    Greene looked like he tried to do a turn, by getting his foot to the ball and spinning himself the opposite direction, but he made a balls of it, he wasn't looking to hurt the Bohs defender IMO. The ref could have been 10-15 yards closer too. Instant yellow and a stern telling off would have done IMO. Each to his own though Great crowd, very good atmosphere it must be said. Waterford will be a tough match but as we saw with UCD last night, most teams can give each other a right go.

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I meant to ask, what’s the “technicality” Drennan and McCabe left on?
    Drennan apparently we had an option on which we went to exercise but never sent it by registered post. Amateur stuff if true. Don’t see why people are so worked up about him leaving all the same. Our own fault.

McCabe not really sure. Heard he was off to the States but had issues getting a visa.

120 Posts
    Harvey was the ref for Bohs v Rovers?

875 Posts

I had expected a lot more football from shams (even before the red), maybe the bad run in cup finals got to them. After the red it was mainly route one, usually aimed at Carr (who I thought held up play well).

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Harvey was the ref for Bohs v Rovers?
    Harvey Price according to most of the Rovers fans

Not sure what game people were watching thinking Rovers played hoofball. Played three at the back to enable an extra man in midfield and played a lot of one-touch stuff in the first 25 minutes. The red card obviously changed things but I'd like to see other teams play possession football for an hour with a man down, especially against a good passing team like they are. Bohs played some lovely stuff to ensure we had to chase the ball around for the last hour but thought we had some moments even a man down. If you can't enjoy a game between two good teams trying to play football, then I don't know what to say.

28 Posts
    I think they can finish higher, Greene through the middle up front looks effective to me up to that sending off. Dan Carr nice chap but nowhere near good enough, he looked like Bambi on ice and cannot hold a ball up. Agreed we need another striker to support Greene.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    How many yellow card did your players pick up? Completely undisciplined performance from Rovers. Bohs were there for the taking. Completely disagree about Carr, caused havoc in the Bohs defence, wn every header, Long subbed his marker .
    Our goal is to achieve third bottom or better, dont really care where Rovers end up as long as we can constantly humiliate their overpaid galacticos.
    Yes he caused havoc because they worked out that they needed to do feck all to combat his effectiveness as he was doin it himself. Long, good manager by the way kopped on and brought some one else on. I am confused by the analogy Big club = finishing 3rd bottom and humiliating Rovers. I will say one thing in the Big Clubs favor, the way they have become so intrinsically linked into the locality in the last 3 years or so has been an excellent piece of work and bodes well not only for the league but this Rivalry. When the new ground is up and running Crowds will continue to grow. Maybe then the ambition of finishing 3rd from bottom and beating us constantly will be re-accessed.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast