Thread: For those of us left at home.

For those of us left at home.

So where is the Foot.ie Dublin Headquarters for the match on Saturday.
    In Trap we trust

"For those of us left at home" !!!!!!!!!!!!

Only 1000 are making the trip from here.

I know but I am sickened that I am not going.
    In Trap we trust

Hate watching football in pubs - watch some of the premiership matches in the pub (because i have to as I dont have sky sports) and its a pain.

Irish matches in the pub? Forget about it, good craic and all that but ye never see the match properly (i remember watchng the spain match in my gaf and went to the pub afterwards and my mates didnt even know spain were down to 10 men)

Crate of dutchey for me on saturday!!

Yeah I agree there, Watching it in a pub can be annoying, A load of cans and a few people around is often the best thing in my view.

In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Hate watching football in pubs - watch some of the premiership matches in the pub (because i have to as I dont have sky sports) and its a pain.

Irish matches in the pub? Forget about it, good craic and all that but ye never see the match properly (i remember watchng the spain match in my gaf and went to the pub afterwards and my mates didnt even know spain were down to 10 men)

Crate of dutchey for me on saturday!!
    On a similar note, at Lansdowne once, two oul' ones were cheering for Clinton everytime Stephen Reid touched the ball. Ten mins later Morrison comes on as sub. They were very confused.

Another time at Anfield these 3 or 4 culchies kept roaring "well done Jerzy" for the whole of the first half.
    Dudek got injured the week before and wasnt playing. It was embarrassing being Irish that day.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic
    On a similar note, at Lansdowne once, two oul' ones were cheering for Clinton everytime Stephen Reid touched the ball. Ten mins later Morrison comes on as sub. They were very confused.

Another time at Anfield these 3 or 4 culchies kept roaring "well done Jerzy" for the whole of the first half.
    Dudek got injured the week before and wasnt playing. It was embarrassing being Irish that day.
    nice one!
    i think it is better watching games at home sometimes with a group of people and flowing cans, i hate pubs which are crowded(cannot see the screen, poor wee me) and i hate all the smoke, at least now in ireland, the smoking issue is not a problem

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    5 of us were at that game and hadn't realised till we read the web the following day!
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    nice one!
    i think it is better watching games at home sometimes with a group of people and flowing cans, i hate pubs which are crowded(cannot see the screen, poor wee me) and i hate all the smoke, at least now in ireland, the smoking issue is not a problem
    I like watching games at home when there are a few of us, and cans and a bit of criac. But for the really big games, i want to be in a packed pub full of ireland fans - brilliant atmosphere, especially when we win

nice one!

Jaysis woman......what'll be next the state of the jacks rolleyes:
    Down the boozer is the only place to watch it. I'm not flyin over for this one, so waxy's will have to do.
    Anyway, the bloody neighbours will end up roaring at us about the commotion coming out of our livin room at the final whistle
    Never eat yellow snow!!

Quote Originally Posted by Littlest Hobo
    Jaysis woman......what'll be next the state of the jacks rolleyes:
    Down the boozer is the only place to watch it. I'm not flyin over for this one, so waxy's will have to do.
    Anyway, the bloody neighbours will end up roaring at us about the commotion coming out of our livin room at the final whistle
    look hobo, a lot of people would agree with me in that at home u can see the screen better and hear the crowd's atmosphere better etc. nothing more hateful than some gob$hite burning u with a fag or breathing in all that cack. But, i would agree however, big games like the world cup are better in a big hyped up crowd in a pub. Waxy o'connor's in glasgow is great for watching games, so spacious and not so much of a problem with the smoke. na-na-na-na-na

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    no theres a whole other problem now!!!

neil ill be watching it in the horse and jockey castlerea, if you want to meet up!!!
    what is the problem now???

Having to go outside i guess. Puts an end to all the "I only smoke when i drink" ones though i guess

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    no theres a whole other problem now!!!

neil ill be watching it in the horse and jockey castlerea, if you want to meet up!!!
    Don't suppose you a know a dub called curry that lives down there. A few of the lads are headin down sat. morning, might c u there.
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    5 of us were at that game and hadn't realised till we read the web the following day!
    The broadcast we had of the Ireland / Spain game was in Spanish. Different variable, same result.. none of the three of us knew Spain were down to 10 men til the next day either.

Here in the States you've no choice but to head for the nearest Setanta Sport Pub to watch the Irish internationals. I wouldn't have it any other way. Can't beat the atmosphere.

Smoke masks other odours
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Yeah I agree there, Watching it in a pub can be annoying, A load of cans and a few people around is often the best thing in my view.

I agree, watching it at home is the best way, even better WITHOUT the alcohol - a cup of tea would do me

The pub is the only place to be (If you can't be at the match) and record it so you can watch it again at home and see whatever youve missed...

You need to get the old atmosphere going in the pub

watchin the match at home is far better
    myself and the pm got a crate and headed to my place for the ireland v wales da week end cos u can never sit and enjoy a match in the pub
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

For me it depends on the game. For the qualifiers, its the pub. Hopfully this sat we will get a good crowd out, then it doenst matter which pub you go to. Most Friendlies, its not worth watching it in the pub, mid week and all.