Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: eL fixtures released

Seems every team can point to the draw and say "Aw, its not fair."

From a Shels' perspective, we have to play our biggest rivals both Cork and Bohs away twice. Yes the three times a season format is grossly unfair and I hate it, but I wouldn't howl "fixing scandal"

Presumably, Cork fans would prefer more games against Fermoy and Midleton?
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Quote Originally Posted by The Sheliban
    Seems every team can point to the draw and say "Aw, its not fair."

From a Shels' perspective, we have to play our biggest rivals both Cork and Bohs away twice. Yes the three times a season format is grossly unfair and I hate it, but I wouldn't howl "fixing scandal"

Presumably, Cork fans would prefer more games against Fermoy and Midleton?
    Bohs can hardly complain, can they?
    You only have to travel to Cork once. WE must play both $hels and Bohs away twice. And playing a game about 15 mins away from your own ground can hardly be called an away game.

Anyway, there is very little we can do about it now, we just have to get on with it.

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    WE (Cork) must play both $hels and Bohs away twice.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Sheliban
    From a Shels' perspective, we have to play our biggest rivals both Cork and Bohs away twice
    Something inconsistent???
    ----------------

Whether or not this is a symptom of Cork paranoia (...and I'm not from Cork, I only live here), what Cork fans are basically saying is that as the fixtures weren't randomly made, the process is completely open to criticism.

12 teams is daft - 36 games was good for those actually in the Premier, but it was killing those teams (formerly big teams like Athlone, Dundalk, Sligo...)trapped in the First Division (only one automatic promotion place!).

16 team Prem would be better; with a small (8-10 team) lower division, which acts mainly as a breeding ground for ambitious small clubs and a disincentive to complacency in the Premier, NOT a general holding area for all but the urban elite.

Quote Originally Posted by crc
    Something inconsistent???
    Nothing inconsistent, The Sheliban is mistaken, City have to play $hels in Tolka twice.

It's the fault of the system, not one particular bloke. The fixtures will, in all probability be simply reversed for next season (with the promoted club(s) taking the place of the relegated club(s)).

Has anyone looked how they compare to the last 12 team premier, as I wouldn't be surprised if it's the same as that.

Finally, well done Corkies. I've heard of getting your excuses in early, but this is ridiculous!

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    And playing a game about 15 mins away from your own ground can hardly be called an away game.
    Of course it can!

I'm all for more regional sides in the Premier but its hardly the League's fault that there are so many Dublin clubs. Unless of course you favour regional franchises?

Jaysus - drop the victim mentality guys, will ya...!

First, the fixtures are rigged against you. Then the entire league is a sham because some clubs are located close to each other.

What next - the grass outside Cork is different and gives everyone else an unfair advantage......?

Certain teams were always going to be 'unhappy' with the draw when there's 3 games against each competitor. Chances are the fixtures will be reversed next season and Cork will be laughing then. Though I look forward to a stream of complaints then - "the teams who're good this season has changed from last year, so we're now playing high-flyers UCD twice away. Boo-hoo...."

As for location complaints - suprise suprise when 7 of the 12 Premier clubs are based in The Pale. Not ideal by any stretch, but nothing that anyone - including the clubs, League and FAI can do at the moment. There's hardly a stampede of new contenders to join our league. Give yer pals in Cobh a hand if you want to reverse the balance

This is really, really getting silly.......

186 Posts
    Lads, I dont see what your complaining about because you could play Shels and Bohs 3 times at home and ye still wouldn't win the League.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    What next - the grass outside Cork is different and gives everyone else an unfair advantage......?

well they MIGHT get dundalk in the cup!

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve

As for location complaints - suprise suprise when 7 of the 12 Premier clubs are based in The Pale. Not ideal by any stretch, but nothing that anyone - including the clubs, League and FAI can do at the moment. There's hardly a stampede of new contenders to join our league. Give yer pals in Cobh a hand if you want to reverse the balance
    Do you honestly think its fair that out of Finn Harps, Derry City, Cork City and Waterford (the 4 furthest away teams from Dublin) that Bohs only have to go to Waterford twice and the other three at home twice? Its a bit lop sided if you ask me.

This thread is so stupid it is beyond belief.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Unsurprising this thread originated in cark. Lads not everyone is out to get you, it's not a worldwide conspiracy, grow up.

With a stupid 33 game league you are going to have inconsistencies. I could be mistaken here but I think a guy in waterford used to draw up the fixtures. We have 2 away games in april and 2 in july which is stupid IMO. As it was when we last had this stupid system the fixtures will probably be reversed next season.

Bring back the 10 team premier quick.

3,232 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    Do you honestly think it's fair that out of Finn Harps, Derry City, Cork City and Waterford (the 4 furthest away teams from Dublin) that Bohs only have to go to Waterford twice and the other three at home twice? It's a bit lop sided if you ask me.
    In the greater scheme of things, yes. Next year's fixtures will be the exact reverse, with the promoted side(s) replacing the relegated side(s). Perfectly fair, within the constraints of the 3-game format.

This has to be the funniest thread ever! Think a few fanzine writers will have to find a few p!ss-takes out of it?!

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    This has to be the funniest thread ever!
    There is nothing funny about it whatsoever.
    I don't think we've been screwed deliberately but you've got to question as to whether the incompetance of the EL and the chap organising the fixtures fear of a certain bully boy from a certain club played a part. I believe it played a very big part and as a result our title challenge has been dealt a serious blow before the season even started.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Bare in mind
    You certainly seem to be, going by this conspiracy theory.

67 Posts
    I think this is just an early excuse for another season of winning nothing

utter nonsense

home/away it doesnt matter a fiddlers - you have to beat the big teams at some stage be it in their patch or your own - shels domination was helped with their away win at Turners Cross (when they were otherwise occupied with bigger european matters)

the 33 game format isnt ideal but its a nonsense to react the way some ppl have - Pats won the league in a 33 game format with more aways AFAICR

3,232 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    You've got to question as to whether the incompetance of the EL and the chap organising the fixtures fear of a certain bully boy from a certain club played a part.
    No you don't. Next year, it'll be the exact opposite. I suppose the Shels fans will then start complaining about how the eL buckled under pressure from Cork fans?

3,232 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Bare in mind
    You certainly seem to be, going by this conspiracy theory.

30 Posts
    ****ies,

quit the bitching and moaning and just get on with it like the rest of us.

Look, nobody is out to get you not even me

But if you do screw up, its your funeral.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast