Thread: New Music

New Music

Ok I have bought the following new albums. Interested to hear the thoughts of ye music people on them:

Real Gone - Tom Waits
    Waves - The Devlins
    I'm Wide Awake It's Morning - Bright Eyes
    All is Violent, All is Bright - God is an Astronaut
    Fire - Electric 6
    Feeder - Pushing the Senses

I'll be buying the Doves new one today!

622 Posts
    The only one I'd take an interest is the Electric 6 album. They are very good, but they take the **** so much its hard to know how good they really are!
    If I was to recommend an album it would have to be Kasabian. I'm going mental over this band. all the singles are class, and its hard to pick a favourite they're all so good.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Funny I think so far the Electric Six album is disappointing. As for Kasabian, I've had it ages, not too plussed about it. I will give it another listen but its too much like other bands but a poorer version of them. I will listen again tonight Kingdom and maybe change my mind.

Bloc Party is out today!!

3,311 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    Ok I have bought the following new albums. Interested to hear the thoughts of ye music people on them:

Real Gone - Tom Waits
    Waves - The Devlins
    Fire - Electric 6

I'll be buying the Doves new one today!

Picked up the devlins album by accident, and quite liked it. Never really listened to them before, but a friend of mine is really into them and recommended it. Was in Golden Discs one day and it was reduced

3 albums I keep meaning to pick up:
    • Kasabian - Kasabian
    • Velvet Revolver - Contraband
    • The Music - Welcome To The North

I got the Devlins album Waiting back when it came out and I was in College and somehow I just really liked it. Then they released Crossing the River for the Batman soundtrack. The album consent is an album I'd put on studying or sleeping. The new one is a nice gentle more of the same album.

Velvet Revolver - I haven't heard one song from them. Is the supergroup good? And the music I haven;t heard either. I remember when I was on top of listening to all the new fandangled music bands!!

Got it at the weekend, it's excellent
    Got Bloc Party in the post this morning, I've only had a sneaky listen on the way into work in the car but it sounds great.
    KT Tunstall's and Nick Kelly's new albums are very good too as are the following (relatively new, last few months):

Interpol
    The Libertines
    Kanye west
    Rilo Kily
    The Shins
    The Killers
    Mark Geary
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Interpol
    The Libertines
    Kanye west
    Rilo Kily
    The Shins
    The Killers
    Mark Geary
    I want that Interpol album. I really liked The Shins - Chutes Too Narrow and The Killers. Mark Gearys Ghosts is great. Really good second album. Lovely guy. Didn't bother getting the second Libs album. Is it worth it?

I have The Doves special edition box here now and Bloc Party. Sneak listen now and I'll get back to you

Didn't bother getting the second Libs album. Is it worth it?
    If you liked the first, yeah.

three/four cracking tracks, but in the end it's the same glorious mess as the first, not great singers, musicians or even lyricists IMO, but there's somthing there that's larger than the sum of the parts.

Doves report asap, heading to get it at four!
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

argh

i havent heard of any of these bands

EDIT: apart from electric six, who i wouldnt have taken seriously.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    Picked up the devlins album by accident, and quite liked it. Never really listened to them before, but a friend of mine is really into them and recommended it. Was in Golden Discs one day and it was reduced

3 albums I keep meaning to pick up:
    • Kasabian - Kasabian
    • Velvet Revolver - Contraband
    • The Music - Welcome To The North

The Music - Welcome to the North - is my fav album at the moment, absolutey brilliant stuff, bit heavier than the likes of Kasibean, bit of a Zepplin sound to them. Rock on !

622 Posts
    I got the Music' first album and thought it was an incredible sound for a group so young, liked their new/most recent single but haven't the dosh to buy the album , or the technology to download cheaply I might add too.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

3,311 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom
    I got the Music' first album and thought it was an incredible sound for a group so young, liked their new/most recent single but haven't the dosh to buy the album , or the technology to download cheaply I might add too.
    Picked it up at lunch, along with Kasabian, well impressed so far. I downloaded WinAmp to listen to it (I wouldn't p!ss on Media Player if it was on fire) and got a free track from Silvertide called California Tide. Not bad, not bad at all. Anyone ever hear of them before - worth picking up, etc?

. Mark Gearys Ghosts is great. Really good second album. Lovely guy.
    its his 3rd album actually
    1st one still me fav
    life is random

33 1/3 Grand Street and Ghosts?

He released 33 1/3 for the US too. And had an EP. No third album proper thou
    Last edited by Gareth; 18/02/2005 at 2:11 PM.

Other bands to check ou are The Kiaser Cheifs and The Go Team

33 1/3 Grand Street and Ghosts?

He released 33 1/3 for the US too. And had an EP. No third album proper thou
    wrong

1st album Mark Geary (self titled apparently because he cudnt afford a title )
    2nd 33 1/3 (2 versions released)
    3rd Ghosts

Ep's he's released Volunteer & America Revisited (both with 5 tracks and 4 tracks and a video respectively)

radio promo singles
    Suzanne
    Gingerman
    Only girl for me
    life is random

Nothing on his site re this album. Not in any store I ever been in. Its not a very mainstream release.

doesnt mean it never happened thou
    story goes he was signed to paradigm (sp) in the US and the day of the album release the record company went backrupt, so all his albums that were printed were left somewhere in a warehouse. record company owned rights not mark so he cudnt get it reprinted reissued and re-released himself. Was out in 99 afaik. Is available if you look around small record shops in NY.
    Most of the songs though with the exception of Sombrero, Watertight, by the time & you're not my friend made it onto 33 1/3 & Ghosts.
    ie volunteer, america, adam n eve

it does on the other hand mean that mark has more or less been playing the same set for the last 7 or 8 years at least

More of the same tonight btw in the Comedy Club on Coburg Street in Cork.
    Support Ian Whittey. Kick off around 9. mark on at 10.30pm
    life is random

Ok well in that case, he has three albums

Seen him live loads. Plays the set very well : )

Real Gone - Tom Waits
    Waves - The Devlins
    Fire - Electric 6

love electric 6 its just so funny.

bright eyes have been meaning to pick up his album for ages. any good?

anyone ever heard of a guy called willy mason? hes got this whole folk based thing going on, reminds me of bob dylan alittle, really good tho. got a song called oxygen coming out soon, check it out if u havent already.
    illiteracy and alphabet soup hmm?