Thread: Mahon Point

Mahon Point

It's opening next week and I am looking forward to this for one reason and one reason only i.e. it finally hearlds the arrival of Pizza Hut to Cork!!
    I believe there's going to be McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut in the centre so that should keep me well fed for the next few weeks!
    Champions!

Damn culchies coming down from the sticks just for a bit of pizza...
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Quote Originally Posted by Ruairi
    Very nice Pizza though!
    Champions!

Is there a cinema going in there as well?

Cork=Culchies......
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

afaik know yeah, not for another few months though.

going down there next wednesday on me day off for a bit of shopping/pizza/staring at women..
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Bout freakin time there is a Pizza Hut in Cork.

Its reckoned that once Mahon Point opens it'll cause chaos on the Link Road. Its bad enough as it is, but the congestion, certainly for the first few weeks, will be murder.

Anyone know who the 'celebrity' opening it will be??

Quote Originally Posted by colm
    I believe there's going to be McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut in the centre
    Over ever fattening population will get even fatter. Great
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

503 Posts
    I'm looking forward to seeing if the Eddie Rocket's burgers are still as nice as the last (and first) time I had one about five years ago. Pizza Hut chicken dippers are nice too, although the Apache Pizza ones are just as nice and their Buffalo Apache pizzas are to die for.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    It's opening next week and I am looking forward to this for one reason and one reason only i.e. it finally hearlds the arrival of Pizza Hut to Cork!!
    I believe there's going to be McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut in the centre so that should keep me well fed for the next few weeks!
    Ahhhh yes - our nation's city of culture. Good to see its inhabitants clambering for American fast food emporiums like the famine itself was still in full-swing...

That's it guys - ignore your indigenous Irish food chains and give your cash to large faceless foreign corporations who's sole contribution to the Irish economy will be minimum wage labour, aesthetically unappealing premises, and yet another arena in which skangers will try to claim compo for 'slipping' in the toilets...

Ahhhhh - you can almost smell the culture. Or is that the family-size variety bucket with free Vienetta....?

And just for the record - Derry got its first (note use of the word 'first') Pizza Hut over a decade ago. Apparently the company favour real capital cities when they choose locations....

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    about bloody time an Eddie Rocketts came to Cork.
    So "Empty Pockets" is coming to Cork?
    They sell beer with their meals so Gary could have a very valid point about traffic chaos.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Eddie Rocketts. Staple diet of any Kerryman in Dublin.

never known a kerry man to splash out
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

Eddie Rockets = MacDonalds Quality * 2 times Price.

If Pizza Hut is highlight of Year of Culture ye sure giving loads of ammo to the rest of this foot.ie

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Eddie Rockets = MacDonalds Quality * 2 times Price.

If Pizza Hut is highlight of Year of Culture ye sure giving loads of ammo to the rest of this foot.ie

noone mentioned it was. colm's stomach got exicted, that's all

mahonpointsc.ie for the full list of whats on offer....
    Last edited by Ruairi; 25/01/2005 at 5:06 PM.

yay, welcome yankee imperialism and yer crappy food

whats wrong with lennox's lads for ****s sake

It smacks of the typical "cant tell one City from the next" english high street, no character at all. Plastic, artificial, contrived the lot of it.

All though might keep alot of people out of the City and make it easy to do stuff in there, every cloud has a silver lining ehh !!

With any luck, M&S will move down there, and take those English chain store womens shops with them from St. Patrick's Street, so we can cordon of the little bit of England down there in one place, and then we can have our own Irish main street and none of this "High Street" bullsh*t.

Cork is still an Irish city, but if too many more of those English chains come here, we will turn into just another provincial English city, just like Dublin.
    KEEP CORK IRISH!

List of shops looks like Liffey Valley to me once swop a few names...

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    List of shops looks like Liffey Valley to me once swop a few names...
    Is Owen O'Callaghan not the main developer of both locations?

Quote Originally Posted by what biy!
    er dont mind pizza hut. i heard so much bout their pizzas and must say they r sh!t. cant beat DOMINO'S
    don't mind those outlets KC's in douglas is the place to go.Definitely the best chipper in cork......

......bar lennoxs of course
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

going down there next wednesday on me day off for a bit of shopping/pizza/staring at women..
    In Mahon?
    Good luck.
    Staring at bulgy overhang on those pyjamas-ey tracksuit pants our sluts have?
    No thanks.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!