Thread: Cabinteely. Are they bucked.

Cabinteely. Are they bucked.

Some on here suggesting they are about to pull out of the league.
    Is this gossip or are there facts to back it up.
    Hope not because Eddie Gormleys a decent man.

98 Posts
    Can't see how they would be. I would imagine they pay very little, if anything, on wages and they were getting decent enough crowds at their games.
    Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    Can't see how they would be. I would imagine they pay very little, if anything, on wages and they were getting decent enough crowds at their games.
    Haven't crowds dropped dramatically for them?

Wages I'd imagine wouldn't be a huge cost for them but even outside of that you are probably talking €200,000 to run the team at a guess. A lot of money for a team stepping up. I reckon they said give it a year and we see if it's sustainable.

2,346 Posts
    Far as I'm aware, it's a load of rubbish and they're in it for the long haul. They've a solid base to build on, but they really need to either improve spectator facilities at Stradbrook or have their own ground built.

1,524 Posts
    I haven't seen anything even semi concrete to indicate they're in trouble or considering pulling out.

The only reason they're in the league is to have an under 17s and under 19s team at the top level. That's only started now so they're in the league for another few years anyway

538 Posts
    I was going to start a new thread but ye have saved me the bother! I have never seen their ground. If I was to take public transport from city centre how do you get to Stradbrook? I wont see a game but curious to see where pitch is that is all!

This won't help.
    FAI PRESS RELEASE
    Friday, 04 September 2015
    Cabinteely sanctioned for fielding ineligible player

The FAI Disciplinary Committee has sanctioned Cabinteely for fielding an ineligible player in an SSE Airtricity League First Division match. The club have forfeited the fixture concerned and received a fine.

Cabinteely were found to have played an ineligible player, Dean Ebbe, in their SSE Airtricity League First Division match against UCD on July 31, 2015, which they lost 1-3. In accordance with FAI Rules 88.1 and 127, Cabinteely forfeit the fixture 0-3 with immediate effect and have received a fine of €2,500. The player was found to have breached FAI Rules 33.2 and 44.3 and has received a warning in accordance with FAI Rules 88.5 and 109.

Neither the club nor the player has exercised their right to appeal in this instance.

81 Posts
    I was going to start a new thread but ye have saved me the bother! I have never seen their ground. If I was to take public transport from city centre how do you get to Stradbrook? I wont see a game but curious to see where pitch is that is all!
    Marty, Closest bus would be the 46a would drop you less than 10 minutes from the ground. Get off as close to Bakers corner as you can. 4 would drop you about 10 minutes away. Dart would be a good 30 minute walk

Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Marty, Closest bus would be the 46a would drop you less than 10 minutes from the ground. Get off as close to Bakers corner as you can. 4 would drop you about 10 minutes away. Dart would be a good 30 minute walk
    4 goes closer I'm fairly sure.

38 Posts
    15 minute brisk walk from Blackrock dart station...

1,524 Posts
    Seapoint or Salthill + Monkstown are closer.

63 Posts
    I got the Dart when there for LC game over Easter. Nice walk to station if weather is dry and there is something great about taking the train to go to a soccer match.

Quote Originally Posted by wonder88 View Post
    I got the Dart when there for LC game over Easter. Nice walk to station if weather is dry and there is something great about taking the train to go to a soccer match.
    Grand, I now know how to get to their buckin gaff, but will they be there for me to go and see next season.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KeepersBall View Post
    Grand, I now know how to get to their buckin gaff, but will they be there for me to go and see next season.
    You're the main man with all the info,you tell us?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    The only reason they're in the league is to have an under 17s and under 19s
    So you're saying they're only here to get to the kids?

Keep the kids. Important enough distinction.

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    4 goes closer I'm fairly sure.
    4 leaves you about 3 mins walk from ground

Formerly: Rafa B
    39 Posts
    45 also another option.
    Lets talk about six baby

3,230 Posts
    It would be, if it hadn't been scrapped a few years back.