Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: Fixtures Weekend April 3rd-5th

Bit of vinegar would sort that sand issue out.

1,081 Posts
    The salty tears of our vanquished opponents more like.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    The salty tears of our vanquished opponents more like.
    Might have to wait until you're back in FD so

218 Posts
    I thought it looked in good nick Saturday night and will only get better as the season goes on. Its a sight Jinxy when our 'cabbage patch' is in better nick than your carpet in Oriel!!

123 Posts
    Yeah but what flavours of crisps do ya have?

433 Posts
    And are the minerals cadet or coca cola?

218 Posts
    Why are you Dundalk boys fascinated with minerals and crisps??!!! I have to say ye have lost me on that one!

880 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Why are you Dundalk boys fascinated with minerals and crisps??!!! I have to say ye have lost me on that one!
    Assuming you are serious...One of the most pressing issues with the Longford fans and the away section in Oriel was the lack of sweet shop to buy crisps and coke, not the view or lack of toilets but having no Tayto on sale sacandalised us. Take a look in to the Dundalk pitch thread.

218 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Assuming you are serious...One of the most pressing issues with the Longford fans and the away section in Oriel was the lack of sweet shop to buy crisps and coke, not the view or lack of toilets but having no Tayto on sale sacandalised us. Take a look in to the Dundalk pitch thread.

I checked out out that thread and the first mention of crisps was from a Rovers fan. Now if there was a gripe over crisps and minerals from Town fans, I can assure you I was not one of them. Therefore anytime I comment on here about Oriels pitch all the Dundalk fans (Nesta, I don't think you're one of them!) retaliate with crisps and minerals comments which have nothing got to do with me. In fact I have to say I get a good laugh out of them posting up that tripe. Off the top of my head, what I said about Oriel was, the pitch was crap, 1/4 of the pitch is non existant because of the stand cutting it out and also that there was no shop. No mention of crisps or minerals!! And just to let those funny boys know, I'm not a big fan of crisps and I don't drink fizzy drinks.......so I definately wasn't upset over the lack of those at Oriel Park!

now enough of the crisps and minerals debate and let's get the thread back on track

1,081 Posts
    It was Martinho that was missing his crisps and minerals I believe! Can we have a Dundalk crisps and minerals thread as well?

218 Posts
    Oh I should of known it was Marty!

516 Posts
    You won't like him when he's hungry.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    You don't understand, that's his secret. He's always hungry.

1,081 Posts
    They've stopped putting a burger van over the home side in the CCS since Marty started working nights and weekends.

19. Thanks From:

123 Posts
    Crisps and minerals will now be the standard response to all moaning from Longford fans so you'll see it quite a bit! An awful noisy bunch since getting back to the big time!

21. Thanks From:

179 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    " He's a hungry little fighter, in fact he's fighting for a sandwich! "

Best Simpsons line ever.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

516 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Crisps and minerals will now be the standard response to all moaning from Longford fans so you'll see it quite a bit! An awful noisy bunch since getting back to the big time!
    Bull****, we've always been a noisy bunch.

24. Thanks From:

218 Posts
    We'll look forward to it Mcgonigle! You won't see us getting upset over it like ye do over your precious sheet of plastic

26. Thanks From:

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    " He's a hungry little fighter, in fact he's fighting for a sandwich! "

Best Simpsons line ever.
    /thread

880 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    An awful noisy bunch since getting back to the big time!
    Bit like people rustling crisp packets in a cinema?

Come on lads its all tongue in cheek (getting at the stuck chewed crisp gunk no doubt). We aint that precious about our pitch as some seem to think. I know we got our very own thread about it but only cause it a broken record from pundits rather than fans its has to be said. The pitch is muck, no pun intended. Its here to stay for at least the remainder of this season and damn all we can do about it. As I mentioned in the other thread, and my only defence of the Oriel pitch is that other pitches are hardly Wembley. Some people feel that a poor grass pitch is better than our surface I happen to feel that a bad pitch is a bad pitch no matter what - dodgey bounces, turning on ankles in divots, bare in patches, too sandy or rubbery, and so on so bar the divots feck all difference in complaints. Cant wait for the current pitch to go so as it cant be rolled out as reason for influencing results. This same damn pitch is the reason for the poor sight lines from both terraces on the stand side as when the new pitch went in it was moved closer to the stand, I presume to make room for future development Hiney Park side. This totally f*cked up the views Carrick Rd side and even caused the need for additional floodlighting to be installed under the canopy of the stand as the stand itself cast a shadow from the main floodlights which their focus was also now off with the pitch moved. For those that dont remember there was the width of a running track from the perimeter wall to the start of the grass area previous. Anyhow crisp jibes and being offered a snickers to moany posts will probably continue but no doubt will the magic carpet stuff too. We are an affible bunch that can laugh at ourselves, no better example than Queen tunes being played by our rather eccentric PA announcer 2013 for which we could do nothing but laugh ourselves. Its all a bit of fun on a football forum and anyone who gets a nose out of joint by anything said here well think of Waterford, Harps, Bray, Shels, Athlone, Sligo...it could be a whole lot worse

29. Thanks From:

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast