Page 59 of 66 FirstFirst ... 9495758596061 ... LastLast
Results 1,161 to 1,180 of 1301

Thread: The John Delaney Thread

1,821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Shane Ross has told the committee that the entire board are to step down.
    I suppose it was a pretty coded post tbf POSH. Impenetrable really.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

33 Posts
    If as was suggested today that in 2017 the FAI became insolvent but were saved by a dubious cheque that might or might not have been a criminal effort to hide money, does this mean they were operating without a tax clearance?

3,348 Posts
    No, not necessarily.

They could have been completely up to date on tax but struggling elsewhere.

I worked in a company which went bust without ever losing its tax clearance. We were up to date on tax (maybe a month behind), but it was the bank loan which killed us.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    google is great, isn't it?
    Leave him alone Stu, he actually goes to away games.

1,922 Posts
    Stu and his Elk

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Leave him alone Stu, he actually goes to away games.
    YOu need new material, i came back from my hiatus thinking you'd have something new. Sadly and naively I over estimated you and your wit.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 17/04/2019 at 10:03 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Stu and his Elk
    Bit late coming (the crowd has already left )but good

Interesting the article on the independent. Alluding to what I was saying yesterday of "more of the same".

"They also want changes in how the board operates. Mr Treacy said that the FAI structure was "similar" to the old Olympic Council of Ireland (OCI) under the direction of Pat Hickey, stating that the impression he got was that "the FAI board were followers, not leaders".

This being the most interesting bit:

"Both Mr Ross and Mr Treacy would like the board to be drawn from a wider range of society with independent representation."

"Meanwhile, Mr Treacy wants the FAI to prioritise finding individuals with experience of corporate governance."

1,922 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Bit late coming (the crowd has already left )but good
    I thought of it at the time but I didn't think anyone would get it.
    SkStu's probably googling it

1,922 Posts
    Dunphy on RTE claims that Delaney's relationship with Uefa has been hugely beneficial to Irish football.
    That sounds like yet another crock of ....
    Has anyone listed those alleged Delaney benefits over and above what a Joe Blogs could obtain?
    Uefa moneys are distributed equitably to associations/clubs and according to competition regulations.

On the hosting of a few euro finals games, the state is obliged to grant Eur5m to "upgrade" a modern stadium to facilitate those games.

é5mil says ....even if paid by Fifa.

1,922 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    é5mil says ....even if paid by Fifa.
    An Taoiseach Enda Kenny quite correctly claimed that 5m payment damaged the reputation of Ireland as well as the FAI. The Eur 5m "loan" wasn't properly disclosed in the FAI accounts, supposedly at the request of Blatter/FIFA, who apparently are bigger than company law in Ireland.
    One could argue that Delaney made the FAI complicit in accepting a bribe and disguising it as something else. That's a type of laundering, isn't it?
    Danny Inv. laid it out bare somewhere, but I'd have to engage a search engine to find that source.

542 Posts
    Dunphy on RTE claims that Delaney's relationship with Uefa has been hugely beneficial to Irish football.
    That sounds like yet another crock of ....
    on marian finnucane last sunday dunphy was singing delaneys praises and tried to deny he was a friend of delaneys until someone texted in to say they saw dunphy at delaneys 50th birthday bash!

19. Thanks From:

506 Posts
    Do ye remember this embarrassment of a song lads

" Oh John Delaney … he used to b a wa*ker, but he's alright now"

Jesus shame on anyone who sang that baby!!!

506 Posts
    Also what level of bribes were going down for us to play Oman 3 times

1,922 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    on marian finnucane last sunday dunphy was singing delaneys praises and tried to deny he was a friend of delaneys until someone texted in to say they saw dunphy at delaneys 50th birthday bash!
    Today is another day and Dunphy contributed to a piece on RTE mid morning (O'Rourke show) where he had seamlessly shifted over to the 'oust the whole board' bandwagon, but Dunphy said the FAI have to find somebody who was as good as Delaney with Uefa, that was really really important said Dunphy.

Outside football what was Delaney's nine to five job as a younger man.

1,922 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    Also what level of bribes were going down for us to play Oman 3 times
    Maybe that was the handiwork of Sammy the Sheikh?

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
    Outside football what was Delaney's nine to five job as a younger man.
    He was an accountant, wasn't he? But not since the mid-90s I think.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

26. Thanks From:

2,693 Posts
    I thought of it at the time but I didn't think anyone would get it.
    SkStu's probably googling it
    haha moose try harder Geysir.

Anyway, I tend to just dismiss your posts as just some old guy letting off steam.

28. Thanks From:

Page 59 of 66 FirstFirst ... 9495758596061 ... LastLast