2,629 Posts
    Indeed. Toxic with a foul stench.

3,311 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
    Outside football what was Delaney's nine to five job as a younger man.
    Think I remember reading he, or possibly his family, have a furniture company in Waterford.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 18/04/2019 at 2:14 PM.

3,223 Posts
    He used to say he was an accountant until someone found out he'd never been a member of any professional body.

So I think the current line is he did his exams but never bothered with the qualification. Why is anyone's guess.

He's been known to tell the odd porky though, so it's hard to know

30 Posts
    Guys, don’t let what has happened the last few days change any plans about protesting. This crook has lied to us for years and it’s clear all the talk about leaving the last few days is a tactic to shut us up for the U17s and qualifiers, the fact the FAI can’t simply say “John Delaney has stepped down” is a clear give away. Protest at the opening ceremony and final should be the plan.

3,311 Posts
    Would be against any protests at the u17 games. Nothing to do with them.

Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    Do ye remember this embarrassment of a song lads

" Oh John Delaney … he used to b a wa*ker, but he's alright now"

Jesus shame on anyone who sang that baby!!!
    Thats why im completely against any supporter representation or the like, the ybig lads all thought he was great, then when "the best fans in the world" thought they were slighted by him after the Scotland ticket fiasco, he's a w**anker and should be out. they are a fickle self-serving bunch(fans in general) so I wouldnt want them anywhere near the board.

I also reckon they would feel they were the main instigators in getting Delaney out. A warped sense of reality.

Their hate of Delaney stems from that, it has little or nothing to do with LOI or anything else, as the grassroots club level they still love Delaney.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Maybe that was the handiwork of Sammy the Sheikh?
    He said that had nothing to do with him. He also said he was never working in a paid capacity for the FAI.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Today is another day and Dunphy contributed to a piece on RTE mid morning (O'Rourke show) where he had seamlessly shifted over to the 'oust the whole board' bandwagon, but Dunphy said the FAI have to find somebody who was as good as Delaney with Uefa, that was really really important said Dunphy.
    It will be interesting to see how this affects him in Europe, given the german lad who had to step down. It will smack of same old same old from UEFA if he doesn't lose that position.

I do kinda agree with Dunphy though, it takes a certain type of character obviously, and a fair period of time to work your way into a position of relative authority/sway in UEFA/FIFA.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Indeed. Toxic with a foul stench.
    Ill let you away with that one, because of its relatively low toxicity lets you scrape the barrel.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Would be against any protests at the u17 games. Nothing to do with them.
    It’s about embarrassing the FAI, we Irish are too freaking nice. It’s the FAI’s fault for bringing us to the point that we protested at a underage tournament so he blame lies with them.

3,311 Posts
    If you think disrupting 17 year olds playing football is an acceptable way to get your point across, you really need to take a long hard look at yourself

30 Posts
    You think spending 41 grand in 6 months on personal use when clubs in the league are struggling to survive is okay? Us Irish fans are such beta’s, no wonder the FAI have been taking advantage of us for years.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    If you think disrupting 17 year olds playing football is an acceptable way to get your point across, you really need to take a long hard look at yourself
    Well the FAI shouldn’t have done the acts they have, now incident 17 year olds will pay the price.

900 Posts
    It’s one thing to lob tennis balls onto the pitch when 22 multi-millionaire adults, used to being in high-pressure situations, are on it. But protesting at the u17 championships? They’re children. Legally, developmentally, emotionally. They’re out of bounds.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

1,000 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cathalsmart View Post
    It’s about embarrassing the FAI, we Irish are too freaking nice. It’s the FAI’s fault for bringing us to the point that we protested at a underage tournament so he blame lies with them.
    Nonsense. The FAI being a shower of clowns can't be used are blame for your decision to protest at an U-17 game. Nobody is making anybody protest, it's entirely your own decision to do that.

If you think it's a fair thing to do, stand over that. If you think it's unfair, then either don't do it, or accept responsibility and blame for it. Don't delude yourself that even though you did something wrong or stupid, it's really the FAI's fault you did it.

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    It’s one thing to lob tennis balls onto the pitch when 22 multi-millionaire adults, used to being in high-pressure situations, are on it. But protesting at the u17 championships? They’re children. Legally, developmentally, emotionally. They’re out of bounds.
    I wouldn't be up for protesting at U-17 games but its a few tennis balls and a 2-3 minute delay to the game.

I think their young fragile minds should be able to handle that! Lets not over-dramatize it.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    Well the FAI should have thought of that before they committed the acts they have.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Nonsense. The FAI being a shower of clowns can't be used are blame for your decision to protest at an U-17 game. Nobody is making anybody protest, it's entirely your own decision to do that.

If you think it's a fair thing to do, stand over that. If you think it's unfair, then either don't do it, or accept responsibility and blame for it. Don't delude yourself that even though you did something wrong or stupid, it's really the FAI's fault you did it.
    Yeah let’s just do nothing, let UEFA think everything is okay and then once they see that FAI can make a U-Turn and stay at the FAI along with his board and then keep incharge and then gets his UEFA gig...happy ending,

1,000 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cathalsmart View Post
    Yeah let’s just do nothing, let UEFA think everything is okay and then once they see that FAI can make a U-Turn and stay at the FAI along with his board and then keep incharge and then gets his UEFA gig...happy ending,
    Are they the only 2 options? Protest at an U-17 game, or do nothing?

If it's not one, it must be the other?

Page 60 of 66 FirstFirst ... 10505859606162 ... LastLast