Thread: Willo Flood scores first Premiership goal

Willo Flood scores first Premiership goal

For Man Citeh against Norwich. Well done son. May this be the first of many.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

right footed shot from outside the box to the bottom left corner, i do believe, sounds like a good one!

Fantastic goal by Willo. Sweet strike. He reminds me of a young Damien Duff. He's quite small but has fantastic feet.

Interestingly, of the under-20s that came third in Malaysia only Duffer made a significant impact afterwards.
    Of last years under-20 team, the likes of Willo Flood, Stephen Elliot, Darren Potter, Stephen Kelly and Glen Whelan have been making huge progress at their respective clubs. This could be a talented crop of players.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Willo Flood was man of the match on Sky Sports and was very good. Unlucky not to get a second, when he hit the post with a great strike, but denied by Green. He looked dangerous everytime he came onto the ball and defended very well, like Damien Duff but with a bit of defensive instinct thrown in. Flood lacks composure now and then, but that will come.

He won't be a World beater, but he'll be a very solid Premiership footballer and a good Irish international in a few years. Fair play.

Ade

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Nice to see the lad is right sided, he was second for MOTM on the
    Man City site, I wonder if he will keep his place as I beleive his selection
    was probably due to injuries:-
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article...340738,00.html
    I saw a bit of him in his previous match when he came on as sub?
    and he looked pretty impressive, he sounded good on the radio today too.
    He is only 19 so it looks like he has a bright future, which bodes
    well for Ireland, we have loads of midfield options now! (I won't attempt
    to list them though).

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    Nice to see the lad is right sided, he was second for MOTM on the
    Man City site, I wonder if he will keep his place as I beleive his selection
    was probably due to injuries
    I think he was in the team on merit after his performance against Arsenal, Keegan singled him out as 10 times better than everyone else that night. Fowler was fully fit but started on the bench even though he's scored 2 goals in his last 2 matches. I think he'll be a permanent fixture in the City team this season.

SWP was willing to pass to him all the time but Anelka would only pass to him if stuck, I bloody hate Anelka.

Wonder will he push himself into the U-21 team now. If he was to come in I think it would be at the expense of Capper. A midfield of McGeady-Whelan-Potter-Flood is our best ever midfield at that level by a mile. Sean Thornton is about 6th choice now.

young Willo was excellent last night. Linked up very well with SWP. He also put a great deal of work in defensively which was needed playing in front of the truly woeful Danny Mills. Still hasn't the upper body strength to compete for 50/50s - Keegan even said he doesn't look like a footballer - but I have really high hopes for him. Elliott could have been doing a similar job for us now if Keegan had more foresight. Post match interview was very amusing. Wonder what part of the world he's from?

Where does this Flood fellow play? What's his strongest position? Room for him/need for him in the full international team? If he's old enough for the premier league, he's old enough for the senior team.

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    Where does this Flood fellow play? What's his strongest position? Room for him/need for him in the full international team? If he's old enough for the premier league, he's old enough for the senior team.
    He's a right winger. Lets see if he can make the Under 21 team before calling him up to the senior squad though.

3,311 Posts
    Let's not get carried away ust yet, he's had 3 senior starts this season (2 in the league cup and last night), and a goal in each. Played a few games as sub too. Was definately at fault for Newcastle's winner when he didn't keep possession in the last third of the field.

This is the kind of thing that comes with experience though, Keegan is looking to put SWP up front (why, I don't know) so that opens up the right wing spot, which is where Willo has stated he's happiest, he's gone left wing a few times as well, but appears naturally more comfortable coming off the right wing.

I'm delighted at least one of the Irish lads has made the breakthrough at Man City, after seeing Glen Whelan, Paul Murphy and of course Stephen Elliott all leave to get first team football.

Paddy McCarthy sat on the bench but it appears Nedum Onuoha is ahead of him in the queue for first choice reserve centre back (if you follow) when he came on for Richard Dunne
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 02/11/2004 at 9:58 AM. Reason: wrong number of senior starts

2,693 Posts
    Why did Dunne go off?

Only saw bits of the game. Willo looked great but Dunne was fast asleep for Norwich's goal.

3,311 Posts
    Dunne is still recovering from a slight stomach bug, he wasn't supposed to play at all but thought he'd be ok - see here - the fact that he played while sick says a lot for his character, if not his intelligence
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 02/11/2004 at 11:23 AM.

write-up and quotes here as is a disturbing photo of bosvelt with a tight grip of flood's arse:

http://www.mcfc.co.uk/article.asp?ar...ood+of+emotion

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ken foree
    write-up and quotes here as is a disturbing photo of bosvelt with a tight grip of flood's arse:

http://www.mcfc.co.uk/article.asp?ar...ood+of+emotion
    What is more disturbing is the smile on Willo's face.

the caption there should read

"Bosvelt was delighted with his prize in the Half time draw"
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

'Bosvelt Attempts to Open Flood-Gate'

uh.. sorree

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    Fantastic goal by Willo. Sweet strike.
    in fairness the keeper should hav stopped it. dunno how he let it in.congrats to the fella anyway, he had a good game by all accounts