49 Posts

Permutations for 1st division play off spots

Teams that can qualify are in this order
    Longford town
    Waterford united
    Mervue united

The team that finishes 2nd will half the 2nd leg at home

Longford are ahead of Waterford on goal difference (3)
    Mervue are behind both teams by 1 point behind Waterford by 5 goals and Longford by 8

If all 3 team win Waterford and Longford will qualify for the playoff
    If Waterford or Longford lose and Mervue win, Mervue will qualify
    Waterford and Longford can both draw if Mervue don't win,
    Waterford and Longford can both lose if Mervue don't win,
    Mervue have to win no matter what else happens to have any chance

Good luck to all and may the best teams qualify

98 Posts
    I fancy Mervue and Waterford to get the 2 spots. I think we will be to good for Longford and expect both Mervue and Waterford to win. It would obviously be a special night for us if we knocked Longford out of the top 3 and lifted the trophy against them in the one night. Be a great end to the season
    Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017

So if Mervue qualify for the play off and win the first play off that means the team that finishes second from bottom in the premier is automatically safe or does it mean Galway FC have a straight path into the premier?

875 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    So if Mervue qualify for the play off and win the first play off that means the team that finishes second from bottom in the premier is automatically safe or does it mean Galway FC have a straight path into the premier?
    That scenario doesnt have the sound of judicial reviews or appeals at all!!! Im sure that Waterford and Longford would be quite happy for a club to get promoted above them only for that club to withdraw from LoI and another parachuted in above them or a relegated side being re promoted. Mervue promotion would be the FAI's worst case leaving Waterford and Longford with some chance out of the first division off field. Michael Rafter anybody...

83 Posts
    Any idea how many Longford supporters are travelling to see "their" cup and watch Roddy having a drink from it.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

420 Posts
    It wont matter there is no hope Mervue will be allowed to finish in the play off spots. Referees will make sure of that on the last day.

What I think will happen RE: Mervue been promoted is that the trust or whatever they are that are behind the new Galway FC team, will coincidentally jump ship to a "Rebranded" Mervue team I.E Change name to MUG (Mervue Utd Galway) and for licencing purposes move to Terryland, and take their place in the premier.

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Any idea how many Longford supporters are travelling to see "their" cup and watch Roddy having a drink from it.
    Cousins will attack Roddy and make off with the trophy, WWF style. About the only way we'll ever get any silverware with him in charge.

137 Posts
    awwww it'll be so nice for Longford to see what a League trophy looks like.

Call it a parting gift!
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

1,081 Posts
    Yeah fair play it's only been 13 years since ye last finished ahead of us.

Weak I know but it's all we've got left..

46 Posts
    If Mervue somehow get promoted, I assume that the Premier league who they beat in playoff final would be in premier. Only way Galway FC will be in premier will be if there is a single division next season

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Beyond anything that comes after, if that Mervue squad gets to a play-off spot, or even further, they deserve a lot of respect, doing so with the constant reminders from so many parties that they're achievements will be meaningless.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Beyond anything that comes after, if that Mervue squad gets to a play-off spot, or even further, they deserve a lot of respect, doing so with the constant reminders from so many parties that they're achievements will be meaningless.
    Absolutely spot on. Mervue deserve huge credit for the way they've handled themselves this season in the face of criticism and uncertain futures.

I would be in favour of letting them keep their place in the league. Boot Salthill out and give GUST their shot for a year or two and assess things after that.

98 Posts
    I love this "we'll never win anything with cousins in charge". All they Longford lads seemed to be saying it but i still think the players have to take responsibility. They simple were not good enough. Nobody gave out about cousins when ye were 9 points clear of us and playing the same football as ye played for the rest of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by **FrOsTy** View Post
    What I think will happen RE: Mervue been promoted is that the trust or whatever they are that are behind the new Galway FC team, will coincidentally jump ship to a "Rebranded" Mervue team I.E Change name to MUG (Mervue Utd Galway) and for licencing purposes move to Terryland, and take their place in the premier.
    You actually haven't got a clue

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    I love this "we'll never win anything with cousins in charge". All they Longford lads seemed to be saying it but i still think the players have to take responsibility. They simple were not good enough. Nobody gave out about cousins when ye were 9 points clear of us and playing the same football as ye played for the rest of the season.
    Plenty were saying it actually, as we weren't playing that well, but were winning But sure add it to the myths, like us saying it was "our" trophy, and your 400 volunteers missing from attendances.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    You actually haven't got a clue
    That could be said to anyone involved in Galway football for the last five years.

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    That's not true in fairness, as you pointed out yourself we played the same type of football all season, plenty were giving out about Cousins last season and even when we were doing well at the start people could see we were playing badly but still getting results. I don't agree with this blame Cousins for everything attitude either but due to the fact that this season has been a replica of last season but worse has to lay the majority of the blame with him.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

98 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Plenty were saying it actually, as we weren't playing that well, but were winning But sure add it to the myths, like us saying it was "our" trophy, and your 400 volunteers missing from attendances.
    To be fair Midlands 103 sport had the interview on Twitter with your chairman or whatever he was saying about Ye will bring the trophy down so roddy can have a drink from it so not exactly a myth.

25. Thanks From:

126 Posts
    Athlone are 2/1 at home to Longford, bookies presuming they're already on holidays. Might be worth a few quid.

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast