Thread: El Classico de Midlands

105 Posts

El Classico de Midlands

A week away but can't wait for this one. Last round of the first series too, and will give us a good idea where we are at. Athlone will be buoyed by beating harps and im sure our friend Roddy will have his team fired up for this one.

With Gillespie suspended, it may be a blessing in disguise. I think O'Neill will slot in beside Sammo, cant see any other changes.

Tactically, I do believe if we sat back and let teams come on to us and counter attack, we might get some joy. Willo and McCarthy will block and clear all day long, but can be caught with pace in behind. On the flip side for us, for the first time in a while we have genuine pace in the team, with Nkolo, Purdy, Shaw and Sullivan. It may be something we could look at. Last night was only our second clean sheet of the season, injuries aside, I do think we can improve on this.

Finally, as always we will be meeting up in Foxs before the game, and I would encourage as many supporters as possible to call in. Its nice to have all the supporters together for a chat before the game! We need a big crowd at the game next week, and all the stops should be pulled out to try and improve the attendance.

2,346 Posts
    Athlone are muck. If ye turn up at all you'll hammer them.

819 Posts
    Agree with Cabs that we were brilliant on the counter against Wexford but I do think that's more of an away day tactic which could backfire horribly at home. What we need to do at home is make the pitch as big as possible, get it down a use the widemen then we can get some good service into Shaw and Sully, with Purdy and Nkolo outwide we should be one of the paciest teams in the league especially if we can get our 2 full backs following suit. With Athlone likely to sit tight and compact this could be the perfect way to break them down. Agree with Cabs also that we need a good atmosphere and can't let a nervous or edgey atmosphere get on top of the players so big efforts both sides of the ground required
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

72 Posts
    I am so unhappy that I am missing this, and I missed Wexford too.
    Going away for the summer too!
    I'm really going to have withdrawl symptoms!

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    I am so unhappy that I am missing this, and I missed Wexford too.
    Going away for the summer too!
    I'm really going to have withdrawl symptoms!
    Welcome to my world!
    Sporting F*ck All!

44 Posts
    cant wait for this one! be interesting to see how much better the mid field does without samo carrying gillespie, great that havo is back aswell,the back four is much stronger with him der rather than deans thus im feelin very confident going into this game, dont think they will be able to handle the pace of sully and etanda (possibly mick if his ankle is ok) and with shaw mcdonagh and mcarty for set pieces, predict a 3-1 town and a peno in der sumwhere
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

218 Posts
    I have to say it was great seeing Haverty back even though he was playing with one arm! I heard some other Town fans calling him the 'one armed bandit'!! He fell on it again near the end and had to get some treatment on it, was grimacing in pain as well. Hopefully it won't be too bad for Sat.

819 Posts
    Havo is anywhere near full tilt yet so just wait till himself and Mick are flying at full force it wont be the wingers teams will be worrying about but our full backs!

819 Posts
    For anyone who didnt see or hear it yet Roddy's back to his old tricks - http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/coll...idlands-derby/

Ha he's a gas man Roddy,I'm sure all the players and management know him too well at this stage for his "mind games" to work, he's so precictable!

Must say I cannot wait for the game now!
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

537 Posts
    hopefully the good people of Longford will get off their holes and go to the game. Its being a while since there was a crowd at CCS stadium.

819 Posts
    hopefully the good people of Longford will get off their holes and go to the game. Its being a while since there was a crowd at CCS stadium.
    Hearing a large Athlone contingent are travelling, 2 supporters buses plus all those who will drive, looking at 60+

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Hearing a large Athlone contingent are travelling, 2 supporters buses plus all those who will drive, looking at 60+
    You'd have to say that's a fairly poor travelling support given the local rivalry. You'd expect 150+ at minimum.

504 Posts
    They usually have less!

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    They usually have less!
    a few of their smart alexs are looking at taking over section o! let them talk on facebook its our baby!

http://ltfc.ie/index.php/fanzone/sec...-o-says-hello/

New Section O notes up on the site this morning for the match programme tomorrow!We hope to have notes up for every home game so if anyone has anything to contribute let us know!Cheers to Pauro for putting them up on the site so quickly!
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

21. Thanks From:

537 Posts
    very witty read paddy was it you that wrote that? loved references to korea!!

Ha the author's name will not be disclosed!

Although I have been watching a lot of documentaries on North Korea lately...

24. Thanks From:

819 Posts
    Love the notes lads fair play.

218 Posts
    Second home game in a row ET has no preview for us, starting to think they don't like us!! Anyways looking forward to the game, hopefully it'll stay dry and it'll be an entertaining game.